Mattamy Homes Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Mattamy Homes Founder and CEO Peter Gilgan
Peter Gilgan
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people that have all left or are currently looking to leave(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great work environment and life style balance(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Extremely long hours, no appreciation and below market pay(in 5 reviews)

  • "Growing pains of an expanding divison(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Handy Person 

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good wage Great people Great work environment

    Cons

    Wage could be higher, but still worth it

    Mattamy Homes2019-06-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "NO CULTURE HERE - Everyone is miserable! Avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people that have all left or are currently looking to leave The head office is located close to Union Station in the heart of downtown - lots of great places to go after work (food and drinks)

    Cons

    The culture in the Toronto office is pretty non-existent, I don't think I've met someone at Mattamy who would tell you that they have a good culture. They eliminated their entire training and development team because they don't care about employees' learning & development and didn't want people to take time off work to invest in their development. Their philosophy is that if you want to learn and develop, then you should probably go work elsewhere. Benefits and perks (ie vacation, subsidies) are extremely outdated and almost every other employer offers something better than what is offered here. No work/life integration or balance. You are treated like a number and people are so worried about losing their jobs that they often are pitted against one another. There are members of the HR department (both junior and senior) that are extremely corrupt and some of their behaviours and attitudes are embarrassing. Employees are resigning from all over the org without other opportunities lined up because it is that bad. The recruitment team often asks employees to write positive reviews so while you are considering an employer, pay attention to positive reviews written by former employees, not current. I expect a positive review will shortly follow this one. Mattamy wasn't always like this, it was much better when I joined but they brought in some awful senior leaders that destroyed the culture and I don't expect that there will be improvements any time soon. I'd avoid this place like the plague.

    Continue reading
    Mattamy Homes2020-01-30
  3. "Overworked, underpaid"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Builder in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with some great people

    Cons

    too much pressure, not enough resources, poorly managed site, underpaid, unreasonable deadlines

    Mattamy Homes2019-11-19
  4. "Admin"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mattamy Homes for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Great culture. Enjoyed working there!

    Cons

    Work is not as structured . Not much training provided .

    Mattamy Homes2019-06-10
  5. "Would Return"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time

    Pros

    - Great people - Lots of free perks

    Cons

    - Drama - Constantly firing people

    Mattamy Homes2019-05-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "overall review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, and great people to work with.

    Cons

    workload is more than normal company, long hours,

    Continue reading
    Mattamy Homes2018-03-19
  7. "work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Mattamy Homes

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    limited benefits and compensations for interns

    Mattamy Homes2017-11-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Environment"

    5.0
     

    I worked at Mattamy Homes for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot, great people

    Cons

    none I can think of

    Mattamy Homes2017-05-16
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Mattamy Homes - Corporate Office"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time

    Pros

    While I was there the location was great it allowed me to easily get to and from work and be available to my family if needed. there were a lot of great people, very dedicated employees who cared about their jobs and the product or service they were producing/providing, whether in the office or on site.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the office moved into three different locations. Moving employees to Milton, Vaughan and downtown Toronto. These moves impact employees and their families in many ways, but those dedicated employees in the offices are attempting to make it work and holding on mostly. One thing I heard over and over again from a variety of employees both in office and out on sites was that it appeared management has lost sight of their vision of providing the Best Homeowner Experience and their claim of being a "family".

    Continue reading
    Mattamy Homes2016-03-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "customer care / warranty administrator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Care in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mattamy Homes

    Pros

    great people to work with and learn opportunities abound to change roles/positions within the company excellent benefits a company that cares about its employees

    Cons

    I have nothing to be negative about

    Mattamy Homes2016-01-14
Found 12 reviews