Mattamy Homes Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Mattamy Homes Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Mattamy Homes Founder and CEO Peter Gilgan
Peter Gilgan
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people that have all left or are currently looking to leave(in 12 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Extremely long hours, no appreciation and below market pay(in 5 reviews)

  • "Growing pains of an expanding divison(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great and feels like family

    Cons

    Pay isn't the highest and projects can get boring

    Mattamy Homes2020-02-05
  2. "Not enough pay for the work load."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Coordinator 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mattamy Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth within the company

    Cons

    Pay not equal and not enough

    Mattamy Homes2020-02-15
  3. "Great company but old management style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, people, social events

    Cons

    old fashioned and micro management style; not ideal work environment;

    Mattamy Homes2020-01-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "NO CULTURE HERE - Everyone is miserable! Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people that have all left or are currently looking to leave The head office is located close to Union Station in the heart of downtown - lots of great places to go after work (food and drinks)

    Cons

    The culture in the Toronto office is pretty non-existent, I don't think I've met someone at Mattamy who would tell you that they have a good culture. They eliminated their entire training and development team because they don't care about employees' learning & development and didn't want people to take time off work to invest in their development. Their philosophy is that if you want to learn and develop, then you should probably go work elsewhere. Benefits and perks (ie vacation, subsidies) are extremely outdated and almost every other employer offers something better than what is offered here. No work/life integration or balance. You are treated like a number and people are so worried about losing their jobs that they often are pitted against one another. There are members of the HR department (both junior and senior) that are extremely corrupt and some of their behaviours and attitudes are embarrassing. Employees are resigning from all over the org without other opportunities lined up because it is that bad. The recruitment team often asks employees to write positive reviews so while you are considering an employer, pay attention to positive reviews written by former employees, not current. I expect a positive review will shortly follow this one. Mattamy wasn't always like this, it was much better when I joined but they brought in some awful senior leaders that destroyed the culture and I don't expect that there will be improvements any time soon. I'd avoid this place like the plague.

    Continue reading
    Mattamy Homes2020-01-30
  5. "Overall great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, vacation, bonus, team, locations

    Cons

    Lack of growth, lack of proper management

    Mattamy Homes2020-01-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Revolving Door at Head Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great location, nice views at head office Some good people to work with (many of which who do not generally stay long with the company) Christmas shutdown

    Cons

    Culture at head office is non-existent Complaints are swept under the rug (an employee who had multiple complaints by different people against him was brought to hr and they never reprimanded the employee for their behavior) Questionable leadership. Many employees feel like their best interests aren't being considered. Employees are not valued and has a ripple effect downward.

    Continue reading
    Mattamy Homes2019-12-24
  7. "Strong work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provides a challenging environment to learn and grow among the biggest players in production homebuilding. There is a strong workplace culture and most departments have good teamwork and collaboration.

    Cons

    The nature of the business and fluctuating market trends in new home sales can cause significant pressure and extremely demanding timelines to be met. It is a very fast environment and that sometimes makes meeting specific deadlines difficult.

    Mattamy Homes2019-12-07
  8. "Overworked, underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Builder in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with some great people

    Cons

    too much pressure, not enough resources, poorly managed site, underpaid, unreasonable deadlines

    Mattamy Homes2019-11-19
  9. "One of the best companies I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    rewarding work, people who care, intelligent and hard-working teams, social committee that plans office events, employee discount program, volunteer program that gives you 1 day a year to volunteer and matches your donations to a charity of your choosing

    Cons

    growing pains since the announcement of Mattamy Asset Management, not as clear of a direction, in limbo as we navigate the changes between Mattamy Asset Management, Mattamy Homes Canada and Mattamy Homes US

    Continue reading
    Mattamy Homes2019-10-07
  10. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Site Supervisor 

    I worked at Mattamy Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Biggest residential company in NA

    Cons

    Very stressful with little to no support from management

    Mattamy Homes2019-08-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 100 reviews