Match Marketing Group Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 344 reviews

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Match Marketing Group CEO   Brian Cohen (no image)
Brian Cohen
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours,good pay and free coffee(in 19 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule Good benefit plans(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Seasonal nature of work, and long hours might not be for everyone(in 27 reviews)

  • "Frequent Lay-offs, poor upper management,(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Gone downhill

      Nov 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extra vacation day on long weekends Great benefits RRSP contributions Flexible work hours if requested

      Cons

      This place has gone downhill in a wheel barrel. What started as a company that prides themselves on integrity and trust has become a company of lies, deceit and games. They are loosing clients like crazy, and keep hiring high priced, useless “Sr leadership” staff and cutting the “little guys” jobs. I have yet to see a single one of these upper management jokes bring in any new business, or do anything of any importance other than take our money and our bonuses. Oh did I mention when you sign your contract they tell you that you are eligible for a bonus but haven’t actually given one out in years. I don’t know what they’re doing, but clearly something isn’t working and life/the business was so much better when CD was in charge.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Do yourself a favour and stay away.

      Apr 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are generally smart, friendly, and helpful.

      Cons

      Never-ending "restructures," horrible communication from upper management, and work-life balance is a myth. A lot of people are just waiting for their turn to get shown the door. Most managers don't know the first thing about developing and supporting their staff. The company seems to operate on very short-term thinking, and is not really focused on doing what needs to be done to make this a great agency. There is no real culture to speak of, except for one of lack of job security. A lot of things they do don't seem legal. Beware: some of the positive reviews are from recruiters. So if you're thinking "it can't be that bad...", just know that it's worse. Maybe things are different for them, who knows.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst company ever!

      Jul 7, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      if you don't have a job then temporarily working there is an option.

      Cons

      The list is never ending: very unprofessional, favoritism at its peak, back-biting...really felt like a bad high school experience. Extremely poorly managed. They make you think you are excelling at your job and the very next day show you the door. Literally! Upper management creates inflated job titles to give to its highly incompetent managers who spend their time socializing around the office.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Easy job

      Oct 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Easy job, repetitive work loads - Some colleagues are very nice

      Cons

      Upper management is lacking on most of everything. Extremely unorganized and never promises on their decisions. Changes direction very frequently, has reason for everything.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A lot of problems

      Feb 1, 2017 - Digital Strategist in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I worked with were nice, flexible hours and work-from-home arrangements depending on your supervisor.

      Cons

      Disorganized. Bad leadership. No transparency whatsoever, employees often feel that they are being "screwed" by upper management.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Account Director

      May 28, 2018 - Account Director in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, flexible hours, great office events

      Cons

      Inexperienced HR Upper management changes their mind every 6 months Never got to take full allotted vacation - lieu days don't exist. Vacation I did take was interrupted with 911 calls.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Criminally underpaid and overworked.

      Aug 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There were a few nice people

      Cons

      “Max pay” for lower lever staff is under the poverty line for the city it operates in. Horrible pay, no cost of living adjustments, no bonuses or raises. FACT: if you want a raise you need to either A get married or B have a baby. The only promotions I saw at the company save for 2 were immediately after baby or marriage announcements. Get ready to be overworked and still need a second job. Upper management is clueless and ton deaf. Ideas how stale quickly yet are reused a dozen times over. The creative department might as well be set on fire since they are 5 people working in 30 projects at a time with no recognition or gratitude. This company had a lot going for it, but the decline over the past few years has been staggering.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Highly unorganized and over promising

      Apr 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My counterparts, some great clients good people in creative

      Cons

      Upper management horribly over promised to the client. So much so that the client took the business to a different agency. There has been way too much turnover in upper management to make me feel secure. My interview process was a joke which should have been a huge red flag for me Overall, I get the feeling the entire agency is hanging on by a thread.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Alright, not great.

      Aug 27, 2019 - Merchandiser in Boulder, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People I worked with were all great and my direct supervisor was a great woman.

      Cons

      Didn't feel very taken care of by upper management. They didn't seem to really sympathize and understand our needs. There were a few times that we were not given all the materials needed to fill the walls, which continued to set us back.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Used to be great, not anymore

      Feb 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company is full of extremely talented people. Office culture is fun and there's a lot of company pride.

      Cons

      Almost 2 years ago, the Norwalk office went through a lot of changes as the result of a merger. Upper management made a lot of bad decisions during that time that has lead to a lot of dissatisfaction among employees. It seems like they do not at all listen to their employees and refuse to make decisions in the best interest of the company, and as a result, they've lost major clients and have had a significant amount of employees leave in the past year. Small changes, like renovating the office to very inconvenient bench seating instead of cubicles, and larger issues, like promising everyone was going to get a bonus when that wasn't true, have created a lot of hostility in the office. I've never felt more overworked, underpaid, and undervalued than at this company for the last year I was there.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Match Marketing Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Match Marketing Group? Share Your Experiences

    Match Marketing Group logo
    or