Match Marketing Group "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Match Marketing Group Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Match Marketing Group CEO   Brian Cohen (no image)
Brian Cohen
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Match Marketing Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Achievable sales target Employee discounts Flexible schedule Good pay

    Cons

    Long hours of standing New commission structure do not motivate part timers

    Advice to Management

    Create a different commission structure to motivate part timers.

    Match Marketing Group2018-08-09
  2. "average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Match Marketing Group full-time

    Pros

    have some social events to attend

    Cons

    need to work long hours

    Match Marketing Group2020-01-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Agency life is demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Manager 

    I worked at Match Marketing Group full-time

    Pros

    Nice, great culture, summer hours, friendly coworkers, free parking

    Cons

    Long hours, bad management, pay is low, bonus based on company performance

    Match Marketing Group2019-05-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great place for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Match Marketing Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company events are fun Casual Attire

    Cons

    Pay below standard No room for growth HR tell senior management everything, don't go to them for help expected to work long hours with no pay

    Advice to Management

    Finance culture is unbearable, work on improving work life balance and build a month end structure which works

    Match Marketing Group2019-06-21
  5. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Independent Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Match Marketing Group for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You have your independance there.

    Cons

    Management are a joke. Long hours crazy distance driving and 0 respect from management. No appreciation when your busting your rear to complete

    Advice to Management

    You really need to treat people better especially your loyal employees before they all leave. You have some great people pay them fairly and treat them right.

    Match Marketing Group2019-06-14
  6. "Great Team to Work With!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Contractor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Match Marketing Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Some days I work as part of a team and other days I am on my own. I love my team. Everyone is pleasant to work with and gets along very well. They are all hard workers and happy to help when you need it. The management I have dealt with have been excellent. Very easy to get a hold of and communication has been stellar so far. They are highly organized and really helpful with any questions. I love being able to schedule my own days and the combination of working on my own and as part of a team really works for me.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is quite a lot to take in at the beginning. A steep learning curve and long hours. If you enjoy doing a good days work, this company will reward you. The only downside is that I often work weekends to keep my schedule on track during the busy blitz seasons.

    Advice to Management

    For the most part, all I have to say is keep up the good work. I haven't really had any complaints so far. I'll let you know if I do.

    Match Marketing Group2018-01-27
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Match Marketing Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A large network of agencies

    Cons

    Poor workplace culture; horrible work-life balance; Since they are owned by a VC firm, profitability is the only thing that matters - so they will cut down your team because per head profitability can't be compromised; be ready to spend extra long hours; lots of stick, very little carrot; they specialize in buying agencies but can't seem to keep the clients; senior management is busy acquiring new agencies and the people who run the show are a bunch of incompetents who don't know how to run an agency; very high turnover; the amount of time I spent interviewing and training is just plain ridiculous; they are also excellent at constructive dismissal; if they feel you are too expensive for the role or if you joined the agency because they bought your agency, they will make your life hell in a slow systematic way so that you just get up and leave; I can go on and on; the 2 years I spent at this agency are the worst 2 years of my career.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to hire some good people to run the show - hire people who have a track-record of successfully running mid-level agencies; as an agency you have nothing if you don't have good employees - your current culture is driving away good employees. Wake up! And keep the bean counters from Beringer away from the running of the agency.

    Match Marketing Group2017-11-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Cosmetic Reliner/Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Merchandiser in Surrey, BC

    I worked at Match Marketing Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, chose hours you require,

    Cons

    Long hours, no benefits as you are an independent comntractor

    Advice to Management

    None

    Match Marketing Group2016-08-16
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Don't even look here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Match Marketing Group part-time

    Pros

    No reasons at all to work here - keep on looking!

    Cons

    Terribly disorganized company, no management skills and management has no clue what they are doing. Long hours with no rewards, no training at all just thrown into a job and expected to know what it entails . Pretty pathetic company!!

    Match Marketing Group2016-03-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience with a lot of skill earned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Match Marketing Group

    Pros

    The job offered a lot of customer service experience which was very helpful. I enjoyed meeting new people and opening my horizons.

    Cons

    Long hours which lead to very long day's. It was hard being on your feet all day. The pay should have been more.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees good and you will receive hard work in return

    Match Marketing Group2015-12-04
Found 23 reviews