Match Marketing Group Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated Mar 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 344 reviews

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Match Marketing Group CEO   Brian Cohen (no image)
Brian Cohen
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours,good pay and free coffee(in 19 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule Good benefit plans(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Seasonal nature of work, and long hours might not be for everyone(in 27 reviews)

  • "Frequent Lay-offs, poor upper management,(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "flexible hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Amazing team

      Jul 23, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, flexible hours and a very skilled management team that knows how to train and motivate employees.

      Cons

      Far drive to office in Mississauga. Haven't experienced any real negatives though

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Hemorrhaging clients

      Oct 18, 2018 - Creative in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent work environment Location in Mississauga is preferable to venturing into downtown Toronto Flexible work hours Free green tea

      Cons

      Leadership has created a toxic culture from the top down: sleeping with staff, poor communication (it's either no communication by avoiding employees or outright lying about staffing/financials at town hall meetings) and general mismanagement of resources. This has led to the loss of several high-profile clients/accounts and endless ongoing job losses, er, restructuring. The company doesn't know what it wants to be. They built their brand on shopper and experiential marketing and now current leadership wants to throw that away in hopes of becoming a brand agency. The creative studio is terribly mismanaged: there is zero communication from creative leadership and an endless stream of freelancers lead the department at the expense of full-time employees (other than a select few "favourites"). Oh, and copywriters are the new Creative Directors at Match. The pay is embarrassingly low. Anywhere from 10-20k below industry averages in creative roles. Unless you are a freelancer at Match, there are no real opportunities for growth. Combined with a horrible track record over the past 2 years at winning any new projects or accounts and the mass exodus of current clients, this is not a place you want to be.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Love Representing Nespresso!

      Mar 7, 2019 - Brand Ambassador in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible hours,good pay and free coffee

      Cons

      not enough shift,team leads arent always the best

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Gone downhill

      Nov 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extra vacation day on long weekends Great benefits RRSP contributions Flexible work hours if requested

      Cons

      This place has gone downhill in a wheel barrel. What started as a company that prides themselves on integrity and trust has become a company of lies, deceit and games. They are loosing clients like crazy, and keep hiring high priced, useless “Sr leadership” staff and cutting the “little guys” jobs. I have yet to see a single one of these upper management jokes bring in any new business, or do anything of any importance other than take our money and our bonuses. Oh did I mention when you sign your contract they tell you that you are eligible for a bonus but haven’t actually given one out in years. I don’t know what they’re doing, but clearly something isn’t working and life/the business was so much better when CD was in charge.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Contractor

      Sales Representative

      Nov 9, 2015 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Hands off management style (lots of personal freedom as long as your getting results) -Flexible hours (perfect for students, those looking for supplementary income) -Bosses are supportive and accommodate you -Get to interact with figures from the various brands match represents. Networking opportunities. -for this level of job the pay is pretty good especially if your not in career mode yet

      Cons

      -Gotta do your own taxes (keep your expenses for tax season) -At the sales rep level, no recognition for your achievements or real chances for you to advance your career within the company -Can be very boring at times when the stores you visit are slow

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Brand ambassador

      Apr 13, 2017 - Brand Ambassador in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Greate job for students. The management teams are understanding and offer flexible hours for students during exams. If you are some one enjoy customers services then it is perfect!!!!!!

      Cons

      Since it involves with sales. Thus, it could be stressful to make sales. In addition, during Christmas times... You have to give more availability and it could be hard for students due to final exams.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company, but still room for improvement

      Oct 30, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible work hours. I am able to come in early and leave early so I can pick up my child from day care. - Lots of laughter in the office - Managing Partners decorate their offices. They have a lot of fun too! - Welcoming office. I have seen people bring their child in for the day, and have seen lots of cute dogs.

      Cons

      - Favoritism. I have seen people receive a promotion and those people are not a good fit for the role. - Managers do not provide sufficient feedback for improvement

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Match Marketing Group Response

      Employment Brand Specialist

      Thank you for your review. Match Marketing Group is known for having a fun work culture and we offer flexible work hours to accommodate everyone’s personal priorities. Our agency welcomes special visitors such as children and pets – we love them! Also, we promote the importance of work/life balance as every employee is important to us. We want everyone to grow within the company so we do our best to provide positive and constructive feedback. Please be assure that guidelines and processes are being developed to ensure employees are equally considered for promotions or a new position within Match Marketing Group.

    8. 2.0
      Former Contractor

      The Titanic of marketing companies!

      Jan 7, 2018 - Senior Brand Ambassador in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours. Reasonable hourly wage.

      Cons

      Disorganized and chaotic. Ridiculous sales targets. Disastrous local management. Little/No support for the ambassadors who are the face of the companies being represented. Poor training. Lack of accountability from senior management. Rapid staff turnover at all levels. Pathetic communication with the team. Incentives offered but not delivered. On-going nightmares with scheduling and payroll....

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Contractor, more than 3 years

      independent merchandiser

      Apr 18, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, higher pay than minimum wage, paid travel

      Cons

      Limited amount of hours or so many jobs it is difficult to complete all by deadline

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing!!

      Oct 27, 2014 - Sourcing Specialist in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Growth potential - Strong corporate culture - Flexible work hours - Experienced Management

      Cons

      - Management feedback - Developing Org structure

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Match Marketing Group Response

      Employment Brand Specialist

      Thanks for your review. Match Marketing Group has a reputation for having a great work culture. Keeping our employees on top of mind, we promote work/life balance and offer flexible work hours and an opportunity to grow within the company – even if it is in a different department! Due to our quick growth, our organizational chart continues to change with more employees. Please be assured that we are working on better processes and creating guidelines to ensure each employee receives positive and constructive feedback.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Match Marketing Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Match Marketing Group? Share Your Experiences

    Match Marketing Group logo
    or