Marriott International Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Marriott International Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Marriott International President & CEO Arne Sorenson
Arne Sorenson
3,020 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You are expected to work long hours -- that is to be expected in the hospitality industry however(in 357 reviews)

  • "Tough work/life balance with the hours(in 266 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Culture and Teamwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee satisfaction, beautiful products, excellent design, management

    Cons

    There are no cons to submit

    Advice to Management

    Keep the positive outlook and teamwork!

    Marriott International2020-01-10
  2. "I was working in Delta Guelph"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banquet Porter in Guelph, ON

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, benefits and good work enviroment

    Cons

    you do not control the events that exist and the time that they last so it is difficult to know the time at which your turn will end

    Marriott International2020-01-10
  3. "Banquet Captain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Captain in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Marriott International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great wage and grats - Great hours during peak seasons - Good place to gain experience in the industry

    Cons

    - Shifts are irregular - Full time/part time status changes if hours quota is met, also affecting the benefit packages - Dealing with over 50 employees in the team with an average of 30 years experience!

    Advice to Management

    - With core values of respecting employees, the management should be rather polite and encouraging

    Marriott International2020-01-02
  4. "Working at a Marriott property for over 4 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great benefits, opportunity for growth

    Cons

    little to no training or support, not valued as an employee, no work life balance as a salaried employee. Management and Supervisors were slim so work-life balance was even less

    Advice to Management

    listen to and love your employees. They are the reason the guest will come back, and you are the reason they get to come to work, not have to come to work

    Marriott International2020-01-11
  5. "Poor management, seniority, politic games"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operator in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Marriott International part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free meals Good salary Discounts on rooms

    Cons

    Poor management Hard to get days off or move up in the organization Many political games No windows in the office

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the well being of your staff Try to fill in the gap between unionized staff and those who aren't FIX political games

    Marriott International2020-01-02
  6. "Great benefits with competitive wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benifits, high wage, good career progression and oppertunities, good training.

    Cons

    Ocasional Stuck up guests, sometimes understaffed

    Marriott International2019-11-26
  7. "ok place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dishwasher in Niagara, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Marriott International part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick to hire, possible paths to move up in the company, if you work hard they'll keep you through the winter. In my area where the winter months don't have alot of work that is important. For lunch you get free food. In my year and a half of working, I've seen 5 of my friends get promoted.

    Cons

    Its a min wage job. It kinda sucks. Lots of noise in the kitchen. People yell alot. Its a fast pace environment. Alot of the servers and cooks mess up my dish area and I feel like they make it disorganized on purpose. There have been times where I got a small cut and I requested a work place injury report and management made me feel like a wimp/ baby. In the end I did get it, but I know others who have gotten small burns and didnt bother because they knew management was going to make them feel bad.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If someone asks to have a work place injury report for a small cut, please just give it to us.

    Marriott International2019-12-03
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cluster Revenue Manager 

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ownership on strategies and projects

    Cons

    Can become a lot the same stuff every week

    Marriott International2019-11-13
  9. "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food & Beverage Server 

    I have been working at Marriott International full-time

    Pros

    full benefits, company match RRSP program,

    Cons

    you will feel micromanaged and underappreciated.

    Advice to Management

    Associates in other departments (mainly office associates) seem to be very condescending towards associates in F&B, stewarding, housekeeping, etc. The company portrays themselves in a way that they really want you to succeed and move up in the company, however, this is not actually true. They would never hire internally from departments like F&B for managerial positions.

    Marriott International2019-11-19
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Marriott International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Employee Benefits that everyone can take advantage.

    Cons

    Work culture is difficult to adjust.

    Advice to Management

    More development needed.

    Marriott International2019-11-12
Found 7142 reviews