Marks & Spencer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer CEO Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
804 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee benefits including staff discount(in 354 reviews)

  • "Good pay compared to competitors(in 249 reviews)

Cons
  • "I couldn't fault my experience with M&S(in 107 reviews)

  • "There are no cons except long hours(in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Truro, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of social gatherings ! Made lots of friends

    Cons

    They treat there staff like dirt ! I worked on ladies fashions for 13 years and then I found out I was pregnant with my first child and because I couldn't do a 7am start because of morning sickness they pup me on foods to work ! They left me standing on an express till for 37 hours a week most of my days were 8 hours long and I did have a 10 hour shift !!! I didn't even get a chair to sit down on ! Had to... fight to get my extra breaks that I was entitled to ! The mangers have not got a clue in how the store is run ! One manager in the store I worked was a bully and if she didn't like you then she would make your life he'll! ! She picked on one girl so much she left !!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are reading this then don't expect the staff to do the job of 3 people !! Treat them with respect as there the ones who are running your store and no what can be done ! There the ones who no what customers want !

    Marks & Spencer2016-01-10
  2. "Great place to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Section Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    Weekly 2 offs n 9hr shift people oriented company great learning tools from the organisation listening groups are conducted to improve the store environment if anything goes wrong

    Cons

    Sale service standards cost people customers relationships customers follow ups resolve customers issue by keeping the customers at the heart of everything

    Advice to Management

    Need to take decisions cunningly. Being a situational manager helps to improve bonding with employees

    Marks & Spencer2017-12-01
  3. "SDE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    Good place to work for.

    Cons

    Politics and politics, transportation and compensation is not so good.

    Marks & Spencer2015-04-01
  4. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Assistant in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment, colleges and a good place to learn how to delwver top class customer service

    Cons

    Poor career advancement and a lot of in store politics

    Advice to Management

    Treat you ataff better and provide more training and opportunities to grow to those who want to.

    Marks & Spencer2014-09-12
  5. "Fun experience, but poor company policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Fun team based atmosphere Staff waste at end of the day was a great time

    Cons

    Unless you are lucky enough to apply for a permanent contract, you could be laid off at very little notice, depending on how their finances are looking that month.

    Marks & Spencer2013-05-24
  6. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marks and Spencer Assistant 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount and good food options to buy on breaks

    Cons

    Not really any cons just depends who you work with

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-11
  7. "Satisfied employe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people and good working atmosphere

    Cons

    Management is changing very often.Also there is no training and they don't give you enough informations when you start to work for them

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-10
  8. "great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great managers and great work force

    Cons

    none, everything was good, no problems

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-07
  9. "good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant 

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and good pay

    Cons

    - - - - - -

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-07
  10. "Good job for full time students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, easy to get to grips with

    Cons

    Hours are long and it can be quiet

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-07
Found 2587 reviews