Marks & Spencer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2451 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer CEO Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
762 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee benefits including staff discount(in 318 reviews)

  • "Good pay and organisation, good management(in 207 reviews)

Cons
  • "I couldn't fault my experience with M&S(in 103 reviews)

  • "long hours as any jobs working in retail(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Truro, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of social gatherings ! Made lots of friends

    Cons

    They treat there staff like dirt ! I worked on ladies fashions for 13 years and then I found out I was pregnant with my first child and because I couldn't do a 7am start because of morning sickness they pup me on foods to work ! They left me standing on an express till for 37 hours a week most of my days were 8 hours long and I did have a 10 hour shift !!! I didn't even get a chair to sit down on ! Had to... fight to get my extra breaks that I was entitled to ! The mangers have not got a clue in how the store is run ! One manager in the store I worked was a bully and if she didn't like you then she would make your life he'll! ! She picked on one girl so much she left !!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are reading this then don't expect the staff to do the job of 3 people !! Treat them with respect as there the ones who are running your store and no what can be done ! There the ones who no what customers want !

    Marks & Spencer2016-01-10
  2. "Great place to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Section Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    Weekly 2 offs n 9hr shift people oriented company great learning tools from the organisation listening groups are conducted to improve the store environment if anything goes wrong

    Cons

    Sale service standards cost people customers relationships customers follow ups resolve customers issue by keeping the customers at the heart of everything

    Advice to Management

    Need to take decisions cunningly. Being a situational manager helps to improve bonding with employees

    Marks & Spencer2017-12-01
  3. "SDE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    Good place to work for.

    Cons

    Politics and politics, transportation and compensation is not so good.

    Marks & Spencer2015-04-01
  4. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Assistant in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment, colleges and a good place to learn how to delwver top class customer service

    Cons

    Poor career advancement and a lot of in store politics

    Advice to Management

    Treat you ataff better and provide more training and opportunities to grow to those who want to.

    Marks & Spencer2014-09-12
  5. "Fun experience, but poor company policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Fun team based atmosphere Staff waste at end of the day was a great time

    Cons

    Unless you are lucky enough to apply for a permanent contract, you could be laid off at very little notice, depending on how their finances are looking that month.

    Marks & Spencer2013-05-24
  6. "Marks and Spencer Customer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, management offer additional hours if required. Pleasant staff members and very good training provided upon accepting the position.

    Cons

    No staff parking for the Cheltenham store.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an update on how staff are progressing in their roles and offer more opportunities for promotion.

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-12
  7. "Good pay, relatively dull experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and flexibility in work hours, was able to take on extra shifts and also likewise get other staff to cover my absences easily. You also get 20% staff discount which I thought was pretty good

    Cons

    Relatively dull to work at however this is probably dependent on the branch. I worked in a small town so the customer traffic was mostly elderly women

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-12
  8. "Good workplace but high expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is always opportunities to work your way up in the company. The pay is decent, even more so if you live in one of the top spots so you get a little extra an hour. Benefits are worth it - great staff discount and perks outside of M&S

    Cons

    The managers expect so much from you, even as a sales assistant. Long hours with little breaks.

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-12
  9. "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - friendly bubbly environment -friendly work staff -lovely customers -great benefits

    Cons

    - little room for self development -little room for career growth -request for over time

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-12
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time

    Pros

    Overtime given if available Flexible with students

    Cons

    No sick pay for temp staff

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-10
Found 2451 reviews