Marks & Spencer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2287 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer CEO Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
691 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good staff discount card immediately(in 307 reviews)

  • "Good pay with a good staff discount(in 200 reviews)

Cons
  • "I couldn't fault my experience with M&S(in 78 reviews)

  • "long hours as any jobs working in retail(in 77 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Truro, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of social gatherings ! Made lots of friends

    Cons

    They treat there staff like dirt ! I worked on ladies fashions for 13 years and then I found out I was pregnant with my first child and because I couldn't do a 7am start because of morning sickness they pup me on foods to work ! They left me standing on an express till for 37 hours a week most of my days were 8 hours long and I did have a 10 hour shift !!! I didn't even get a chair to sit down on ! Had to fight...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are reading this then don't expect the staff to do the job of 3 people !! Treat them with respect as there the ones who are running your store and no what can be done ! There the ones who no what customers want !

    Marks & Spencer2016-01-10
  2. "Great place to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    Weekly 2 offs n 9hr shift people oriented company great learning tools from the organisation listening groups are conducted to improve the store environment if anything goes wrong

    Cons

    Sale service standards cost people customers relationships customers follow ups resolve customers issue by keeping the customers at the heart of everything

    Advice to Management

    Need to take decisions cunningly. Being a situational manager helps to improve bonding with employees

    Marks & Spencer2017-12-01
  3. "SDE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Marks & Spencer

      Pros

      Good place to work for.

      Cons

      Politics and politics, transportation and compensation is not so good.

      Marks & Spencer2015-04-01
    • "Sales Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sale Assistant in London, ON
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good working environment, colleges and a good place to learn how to delwver top class customer service

      Cons

      Poor career advancement and a lot of in store politics

      Advice to Management

      Treat you ataff better and provide more training and opportunities to grow to those who want to.

      Marks & Spencer2014-09-12
    • "Fun experience, but poor company policy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time

      Pros

      Fun team based atmosphere Staff waste at end of the day was a great time

      Cons

      Unless you are lucky enough to apply for a permanent contract, you could be laid off at very little notice, depending on how their finances are looking that month.

      Marks & Spencer2013-05-24
    • "Fantastic part time job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Assistant 

      I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time

      Pros

      Great company, good colleagues and pay

      Cons

      Nothing really, not much flexibility with shifts

      Marks & Spencer2019-06-24
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Assistant 

        I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time

        Pros

        Easy! Good Pay Friendly employees - formed good friendships

        Cons

        Hours - can change your hours like crazy

        Marks & Spencer2019-06-23
      • "Great place to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Cashier in Glasgow, Scotland
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good benefits and good people that work there

        Cons

        Good management who care about their staff

        Advice to Management

        Maybe focus on career development more

        Marks & Spencer2019-06-22
      • "Great opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Sales Manager in Leeds, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Career development, working enviroment, brand, employee discount

        Cons

        Fast paced, communication, store opening hours - open too late

        Marks & Spencer2019-06-21
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Customer Assistant 

          I have been working at Marks & Spencer part-time

          Pros

          Flexible hours Good temp contract

          Cons

          Not paid breaks Can be boring

          Marks & Spencer2019-06-20
        Found 2287 reviews