Marks & Spencer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer Chief Executive Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
869 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee benefits including staff discount(in 370 reviews)

  • "Good pay especially in Central London(in 282 reviews)

Cons
  • "I couldn't fault my experience with M&S(in 111 reviews)

  • "Long hours and the role is temporary(in 106 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Truro, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of social gatherings ! Made lots of friends

    Cons

    They treat there staff like dirt ! I worked on ladies fashions for 13 years and then I found out I was pregnant with my first child and because I couldn't do a 7am start because of morning sickness they pup me on foods to work ! They left me standing on an express till for 37 hours a week most of my days were 8 hours long and I did have a 10 hour shift !!! I didn't even get a chair to sit down on ! Had to fight to get my extra breaks that I was entitled to ! The mangers have not got a clue in how the store is run ! One manager in the store I worked was a bully and if she didn't like you then she would make your life he'll! ! She picked on one girl so much she left !!

    Continue reading
    Marks & Spencer2016-01-10
  2. "Great place to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Section Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    Weekly 2 offs n 9hr shift people oriented company great learning tools from the organisation listening groups are conducted to improve the store environment if anything goes wrong

    Cons

    Sale service standards cost people customers relationships customers follow ups resolve customers issue by keeping the customers at the heart of everything

    Continue reading
    Marks & Spencer2017-12-01
  3. "SDE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    Good place to work for.

    Cons

    Politics and politics, transportation and compensation is not so good.

    Marks & Spencer2015-04-01
  4. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Assistant in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment, colleges and a good place to learn how to delwver top class customer service

    Cons

    Poor career advancement and a lot of in store politics

    Continue reading
    Marks & Spencer2014-09-12
  5. "Fun experience, but poor company policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Fun team based atmosphere Staff waste at end of the day was a great time

    Cons

    Unless you are lucky enough to apply for a permanent contract, you could be laid off at very little notice, depending on how their finances are looking that month.

    Marks & Spencer2013-05-24
  6. "Extremely friendly, occasionally disfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service/Sales in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management was always friendly and constructive A quality suit as my sales uniform was provided free of charge The training was professional and patient The interview process was quick and easy

    Cons

    Management was occasionally dysfunctional and lax. However, the never overly negative

    Marks & Spencer2020-02-22
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I received lots of discounts

    Cons

    there were some long shifts

    Marks & Spencer2020-02-21
  8. "Excellent Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office atmosphere is fantastic.

    Cons

    Long days, lots of coffee is required!

    Marks & Spencer2020-02-20
  9. "Good place to work for part timers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Cramlington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked here while at university and they were very flexible with my shifts which helped me a lot

    Cons

    When looking for extra hours I found it difficult due to amount of staff they had

    Marks & Spencer2020-02-19
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly working environment and good place for weekend job

    Cons

    Understaffed and last minute shifts

    Marks & Spencer2020-02-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 2814 reviews