Marketwired Employee Reviews about "marketwired"

Updated Apr 13, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 87 reviews

2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Marketwired CEO Adnan Ahmed
Adnan Ahmed
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "When I worked at Marketwired, I had the benefit of a kind boss that hired me directly out of University (with no prior experience)(in 9 reviews)

  • "Most fellow employees are great people to work with(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is out of touch with what editorial does for the company(in 8 reviews)

  • "Senior management seems extremely out of touch and there is a huge amount of client issues that plague the editorial department(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "marketwired"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Taking a small to medium sized business to the next level

      May 12, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Projects are always interesting. There is a lot to do to take this company to the next level. In order to be a social company, the company goals and direction must shift quickly to keep pace with this fast-moving industry. Marketwired does this well. The working atmosphere is very positive and teamwork is strongly encouraged. Integrity, client commitment, and openness are values held by the company and individual employees. For front-line employees facing clients, their commitment to customer services is outstanding. Benefits are very good. HR is supportive and turns requests quickly. Engineering and IT staff work very hard to meet constant change requests. Our CEO is a visionary who pushes employees hard to tighten infrastructure, accountability, and work systems. Sometimes it's hard to keep up, but the leadership seems to know what they are doing and is open to constructive criticism.

      Cons

      This is not the place for employees that are not self-starters. Nor is it the place for employees who expect to put problems or concerns on their manager's shoulders rather than working together to find solutions. If you want to be challenged to do things differently, and you want to build something that will keep pace with change in both social media and traditional PR/IR, then this is a great place to work. Since many leaders and managers operate remotely, communication is sometimes challenging.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Account Management

      Aug 26, 2013 - Account Management in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Marketwired impressed me during the hiring process when they were open minded enough to allow me to suggest changes my job description. I was comfortable with what I was applying into, but felt I could offer more. In the end after negotiation I have built a job which inspires me. I get to work creatively and with many different teams and clients. I look forward to going to work every day. A huge change and meaningful improvement from past jobs.

      Cons

      They are growing so fast that they don't have all the internal processes ironed out yet. For instance, booking travel is not as easy as it should be. There are no web based programs, let alone apps, for submitting expenses etc. It is a mild irritation, but someone else gets to worry about the hassle of booking hotel accommodations.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great opportunity, but a beginner position

      Sep 2, 2015 - Editor in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I worked at Marketwired, I had the benefit of a kind boss that hired me directly out of University (with no prior experience).

      Cons

      Though I had the fantastic opportunity of being hired with no experience, the company could improve on the salary it pays its editors, the respect it offers them, and putting policies in place that can withstand the test of time, as it was difficult to keep up with the constantly changing policies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      An old company pushing boundaries

      Sep 26, 2013 - Sales in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Marketwired is not an easy company to work for. You can't just float here and expect a positive experience. Yes, some floaters have managed to keep employment here but they are quickly dying out. By nature, Marketwired is a company in flux. It has to be. Its traditional business model is, at the moment, trending downwards and as a result - having seen this coming years ago - the company has invested heavily in new product verticals. And, if this wasn't enough, it is trying to convert an old business model to a more modern version. Heaven forbid they try to modernize right? Has this caused issues? Absolutely. But does it take away from the quality of the company? Absolutely not. Marketwired is pushing innovation as quickly as it can given its existing technology, staff and management. It really is a fantastic place to work if you enjoy a challenge. But that is the key word here. Expect your managers to challenge and hold you accountable, expect the company to challenge and test you to keep up and expect your clients to challenge you. You can sit there, b!7(@ and complain that the company doesn't hold your hand and had actual expectations of you but if you like a challenge, if you like the idea of working somewhere that actively pushes you, if you want to work somewhere that believes 100% that it can make a difference - this might be the place for you. Just don't complain after that you've been asked to actually produce and be accountable.

      Cons

      - pay is good for some and not great for others - career path can be difficult to map out if you're not drinking the kool-aid and working right out of head office - a lot of whiny wallflowers: they complain a lot and then magically forget to put in the work hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      An honest review from someone who has not been fired.

      Apr 11, 2013 - Sysomos Support in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      After reading a number of reviews I feel someone needs to point out that many of these are created from people who have been let go from the company and offer little insight as to what job had to do with it. I have been happily working with Sysomos / Marketwire / Marketwired for over three years and have witnessed a lot of change and the people that changed with it. The company changed from WIRE services to Social media and some people were not able to keep up. PROS - Great People - After traveling to several offices I have met amazing friends for life. - Exciting Industry : Marketwired made a decision to buy Sysomos (a leading Toronto social media marketing software company) which has opened opportunities to work with companies like Google, Red Bull, agencies and attend industry meetings. This company is sort of a cross road of Software Sales, Product Management, Social media, PR and Marketing. - Room to Grow : The company is corporate but still gives every employee visibility to C level management and often provides internal job postings. Recently I have witnessed an account manager carve out an entire new product line with support from C-Level staff and is now a product manager. All teams are growing rapidly and if you are determined you can find a new role and apply for education and benefits. - It's Successful : We are hiring, we are closing deals and making money. People tend to forget this when they talk about the company spiraling. - Perks : Marketwire offers flexible hours, and travel option to most of it's team. They offer a matching plan for my RRSP and full medical.

      Cons

      Brand Identity and Uniformed Products : With taking on a new software the company is still mid re-brand which can be confusing. Marketing has gone through growing pains but seems to be on track. Sales Focus : This is a role for those that understand that this is a business that has targets. The sales team is large and is a focus of all aspects of the company. This can be frustrating for developers, product fans and agency people. These people makes lots of money too. Deal with that. Change : This can be a pro of con but what is clear from all the reviews including my own is this company is changing. Changing branding, Management, structure and culture. I for one enjoy this and learn from both success and mistakes. However, I know this is not for everyone that

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Business is constant change.

      Apr 13, 2017 - Senior Client Relations Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Will be introduced to a wide variety of companies in many sectors; public, private, government, non-profit, PR. A good way to learn the business world in Canada and globally.

      Cons

      Marketwired was acquired by NASDQ last year. The culture is going under significant change and there is a period of adjustment going on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      A company with a "DO NOT ENTER" sign.

      Feb 26, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - location is fantastic if you are commuting via subway or GO since it is right at Union - pay is competitive for SOME positions, in comparison to other companies

      Cons

      Where do I begin? There is a joke that goes around today still (which holds truth) where there should probably be a Marketwired Support Group for current/past employees who have been "Marketwired", have had enough and left, or are still unfortunately battling on in the war zone. The viewpoints I share are my own and you can take it with a grain of salt, but this is a true depiction of my experience and observation at this organization. The number one problem I would say, is that senior management does not have a clue as to how to properly manage their people. Marketwired has been bleeding talent PROFUSELY for about 4 years in the time I was there. There is an alarming number of employees that have left, either on their own or involuntarily, which has made for terrible contingency planning and massive loss of knowledge transfer. This can be attributed to the number of times executive management has changed (also over the course of 4 years) which has led to poor strategic initiatives and waste of capital budget on throw-away projects. Do you see the relativity here with management change and high turnover? While Marketwired has recently hired some executives from big-name companies like Yahoo or with some 'valley' or military background, this does not necessarily equate to a better management team. In fact, it's more of an old boys' club with elitist attitude who make decisions behind closed doors. So, forget the open-door policy! It's quite the opposite I assure you. The fact is, is that employees have had enough with the lack of strategic vision and more importantly, guidance and support. The second issue, which follows appropriately, is that there is no voice or support for the worker bees! WHERE IS HR WHEN THEY ARE NEEDED? It's amazing how MW employees get these glamour speeches from HR or from townhalls about having an awesome culture and how it's so great to work here but you know what? It's all rubbish because HR is not doing ENOUGH to address the high turnover and lack of morale. I can tell you that there have been a number of complaints that have gone through HR but nothing was done. Not a darn thing. At this rate they're going, there will be no one to row the boat so good luck. I can go on here but I'll end it with this: if you care about your health and sanity, I would highly recommend you reconsider if you are looking to apply here. If you're looking for growth - forget about it because there's nowhere to go and performance doesn't mean anything!

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Fast paced company defining social communications, working with big brands and aggressively growing.

      May 14, 2014 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, collaborative environment that focus's both on individual and team achievement. There is a good mix of veterans with 5+ years experience and new team members with a fresh perspective. Solutions are good and you get to really help your clients, rather than just serve them. Marketwired has managed to stay a step ahead of the market, and their competitors, which make it easy and fun to add value. Client list is great and the smart people you get the work with aren't just internal, great exposure to early adopters and influencers. Company vision is compelling and achievable. Lot's of room to grow in an evolving market.

      Cons

      Social Media is driving change across the world of communications, it's no different at Marketwired, as the company sets the stage for it's next wave of growth, many processes and practices need to change. This can be unsettling for some people. While there is plenty of space for influence, if you crave stability, this probably isn't best situation you. At times can be chaotic, however, those that embrace the pace of social evolution, will find the challenge rewarding.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Onwards and Upwards

      May 5, 2014 - Sales in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Marketwired is a company that is at a critical point in it's growth trajectory and for anyone who wants to impact a business and solidify a career in sales, this is the time and place to join; especially in the Chicago office. Pros: Committed Executive Leadership Team that is aligned towards a common goal, Open Access to Senior Leadership, Outstanding Product Mix, Ability to make an impact on an individual level. Ability to be a part of an organization that is changing the traditional wire business and integrating social analytics. This is a truly collaborative culture that rewards performance and everyone is out to help you succeed.

      Cons

      When changing an industry, there will always be those who want to stick with the status quo. If you want a job where you can hide out and not be seen, this is not the job for you. However, if you want to truly develop in your career and to be a part of a performance based culture, then this is a great place to be!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people, very mundane work experience, biased supervisors.

      Mar 20, 2015 - Editor in El Segundo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people will probably always be the only good thing about Marketwired. There is a group of wonderful, smart, capable editors that are doing the day-to-day work. Everyone is very nice. Office culture is pretty laid back and casual. Lunch is provided on occasion.

      Cons

      Senior management seems extremely out of touch and there is a huge amount of client issues that plague the editorial department. People get to walk all over the editors and supervisors simply dissent to them. Leadership operates on a favorites-only basis. The corporate memos and messages seem super unorganized. There is a huge disparity between certain editorial staffs' work output.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Work at Marketwired? Share Your Experiences

    Marketwired logo
    or