Maple Leaf Foods "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Maple Leaf Foods Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Maple Leaf Foods President, CEO, and Director; Chairman, Canada Bread Company; Director, McCain Foods Group Michael H. McCain
Michael H. McCain
232 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/ life balance can be a challenge as the culture is extremely high-performing; expectations for work load are high(in 27 reviews)

  • "Long Hours, Benefits not as competive(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods for less than a year

    Pros

    System , team , delicious chickens and work environment

    Cons

    I didnt find any during my internship

    Advice to Management

    keep rocking

    Maple Leaf Foods2019-06-18
  2. "Clean up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sanitation Technician in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment Supervisor treat the employees with respect Good PEP Careers oportunity Space to share your opinions

    Cons

    Low wage Dirty job They want to reduce the workforce pay intead reduce the lot of waste They have in the process They do not have define how to train the new employees, They train you just watching others one, but It means you will duplicate the other's employees mistakes. They do not have how to do the duties stept by steps.

    Advice to Management

    Implement procedure and step by step work for sanitation, the job is too heavy for the salary they have paid

    Maple Leaf Foods2019-05-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "General Labour Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Maple Leaf Foods

    Pros

    Friendly work environment and understanding supervisors

    Cons

    Cold, Noisy, not worth the pay

    Maple Leaf Foods2018-10-20
  4. "Regulatory Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, nice working environment.

    Cons

    no bonus, politics, low salary.

    Maple Leaf Foods2018-09-18
  5. "Production employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Maple Leaf Foods full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment Lots of training provided

    Cons

    Politics, shortage of work some weeks

    Maple Leaf Foods2018-05-23
  6. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Corporate culture, Work environment, Location

    Cons

    Cannot think of anything now

    Maple Leaf Foods2017-11-22
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are what makes this a great work environment. You can get assigned diverse work experiences where you are always learning. Excellent work life balance depending on department you work in. Many strong leaders.

    Cons

    Communication on objectives can be limited impacting the ability to set personal goals in a timely fashion. No other cons to mention.

    Advice to Management

    Coordination of common efforts including prioritizing initiatives.

    Maple Leaf Foods2017-07-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Maple Leaf Foods full-time

    Pros

    Relatively nice work environment. Enjoy working with my colleagues.

    Cons

    Outdated leadership ideas and values.

    Maple Leaf Foods2016-09-21
  9. "nice experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a large food company and organized well. Benefit is good including health insurance, dental, life insurance, pension plan, etc. Working environment is very nice.

    Cons

    In some department, there are many mangers than workers so it is not very efficient. There are too many meetings usually that may not always be necessary.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have much to advise. It performs well as a large company like that. The only thing I can advise is to increase the efficiency in some aspects.

    Maple Leaf Foods2016-08-08
  10. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Information Technology in Mississauga, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People - co-workers are friendly and helpful. Strong technology and continual improvement of the infrastructure. Fast-paced environment with learning opportunities. Flexible work environment.

    Cons

    Can be bureaucratic to get tasks/projects completed. Work life balance is dependent on your team/role. Chronic under resourcing on some teams has a ripple effect in the department Advancement opportunities are available to those who are young and those on projects. Support roles aren't valued and contributions not recognized. Performance reviews are very subjective although there are clear detailed guidelines.

    Maple Leaf Foods2016-08-08
Found 21 reviews