Maple Leaf Foods Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Maple Leaf Foods Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Maple Leaf Foods President, CEO, and Director; Chairman, Canada Bread Company; Director, McCain Foods Group Michael H. McCain
Michael H. McCain
219 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/ life balance can be a challenge as the culture is extremely high-performing; expectations for work load are high(in 27 reviews)

  • "Long Hours, Benefits not as competive(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Business Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IT department was friendly and warm. They had great team spirit and the company promoted a great culture.

    Cons

    Can’t think of any at this time

    Maple Leaf Foods2019-10-29
  2. "Recommended to friend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Laborer in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team leaders are approachable.

    Cons

    Some other ordinary employees act like a boss.

    Continue reading
    Maple Leaf Foods2020-02-06
  3. "Need more females in the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, hard working people

    Cons

    HR is out of touch

    Maple Leaf Foods2020-01-30
  4. "Top management drives a very poor culture / but my coworkers were great at least"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Mississauga Valley, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Had great people to work with, but we all dealt with an awful culture.

    Cons

    Culture here is driven from the very top, and it is brutal. Could not wait to leave here but will miss many of my coworkers.

    Continue reading
    Maple Leaf Foods2020-01-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Keep looking. Toxic environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Team Lead in Hamilton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paycheque is reliable. Occasionally you are allowed to purchase product at better rates if you have a freezer to hold a full case at a time.

    Cons

    Unrealistic work expectations, management out of touch with both working reality and equipment reality. Praise is very seldom, "private coaching sessions" are routine to tell you how you are failing. It is a micromanagement environment where the micro managers have zero experience in the roles they oversee, only expectations that cannot be met. One in particular has directly been the cause of an estimated 60% plus turn-over in maintenance management and has been reported but the company keeps him, so quality people leave.

    Continue reading
    Maple Leaf Foods2020-01-26
  6. "Excellent company, very orientated to work and life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management style and inclusive.

    Cons

    career aspirations should be assisted more closely.

    Maple Leaf Foods2019-11-03
  7. "General labor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - General Laborer 

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods part-time

    Pros

    Good environment to work in

    Cons

    Too much seniority hard to get good hours

    Maple Leaf Foods2019-10-30
  8. "Electrical maintenance Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Electrical maintenance Technician works is iam parfet ok other than any work is ok

    Cons

    Industrial and construction and rasieancyal in electrical work is ok

    Continue reading
    Maple Leaf Foods2019-10-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "An experience I hope never to repeat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director Planning in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were some great people in the company that I enjoyed getting to know.

    Cons

    Corporate culture is abrasive and non-collaborative. This is driven from the CEO down.

    Maple Leaf Foods2019-11-15
  10. "Maple Leaf is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Operator in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maple Leaf Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow quickly if you're willing to put in the hours

    Cons

    A lot of overtime is expected during the busy part of the year

    Maple Leaf Foods2019-08-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 408 reviews