Manulife "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Manulife Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
374 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance, treat employees well, good management(in 211 reviews)

  • "Good work environment, able to work from home, good pay(in 179 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes and transactions must be completed within the day(in 43 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance bad in certain departments (e(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "For Entrepreneurial Spirits only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere Progression is key Patience wins the game Rewarding

    Cons

    Long Hours Lots of rejection Hard to stay motivated

    Continue reading
    Manulife2019-07-17

    Manulife Response

    July 19, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you are having a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Company full of Oppertunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full support available and the company takes notice of your hard work.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is long hours.

    Manulife2019-05-05

    Manulife Response

    May 10, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  3. "Senior Associate, Asset Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good management and team

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes and transactions must be completed within the day

    Manulife2019-04-30

    Manulife Response

    May 3, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Small company, a lot of learning amazing staff benefits and bonous

    Cons

    no growth uncertainty, long hours, tense environment

    Continue reading
    Manulife2019-02-07

    Manulife Response

    February 15, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice people Friendly environment Decent pay, and ok benefits (you'd think they'd be better given they are a benefits company) Very large company so a large variety of jobs and areas you can move between

    Cons

    Long hours Lots of politics Very hierarchical and level driven Trying to change values but needs to change more of the senior leadership team to make cultural shifts stick Very difficult to get promoted

    Continue reading
    Manulife2018-10-09

    Manulife Response

    October 12, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

    Continue reading
  6. "Self-employed with no limits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good income No limitations Lots of flexibility No product selling No quotas

    Cons

    Long hours need to be hardworking

    Continue reading
    Manulife2018-08-24

    Manulife Response

    August 27, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience with us.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Investment Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good mentorship,doesn't need a lot of experience to start

    Cons

    Long working hours and 100% commission based salary

    Manulife2018-02-08

    Manulife Response

    February 9, 2018Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Case Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefit package, work from home, 3 weeks vacation, salary above average, very supportive managers, training and mentoring available for new hires

    Cons

    Sometimes amount of work difficult to manage, long hours, staff shortage, difficult to move from contract employee to permanent employer

    Manulife2017-11-29
  9. "Long hours non-stop on-call"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex hours, working from home, good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours non-stop on-call, no recognition at all

    Continue reading
    Manulife2017-12-11

    Manulife Response

    December 13, 2017Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback and for writing a review. We would love to learn more about your experience. Should you wish to follow up with us, please email us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

    Continue reading
  10. "Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Investment Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife

    Pros

    Flexible hours, possibility of passive income

    Cons

    No salary, very long hours, lots of financial pressure

    Continue reading
    Manulife2017-06-24

    Manulife Response

    June 26, 2017Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing a review on your experience!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews