Mad Science Mad Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Mad Science Mad Scientist Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
70%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Mad Science Co- Founder and CEO Ariel Shlien (no image)
Ariel Shlien
5 Ratings
  1. "A pleasant experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist 

    I worked at Mad Science part-time

    Pros

    Working hours are very flexible

    Cons

    Working locations vary and you might not be able to work close from home all the time

    Mad Science2019-06-27
  2. "Amazing and friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mad Science part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and fun colleagues, you learn a lot, and the generally quite rewarding.

    Cons

    Heavy equipment to carry sometimes. Sometimes you cannot find parking in the school car park.

    Advice to Management

    Provide sturdy trolleys with wheels to all staff !

    Mad Science2019-11-18
  3. ""Got your Back""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Mad Scientist in Stoke-on-Trent, England

    I have been working at Mad Science for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Management. Always there for you to support you with class behaviour and the experiments. When they say "We have your back" they really do. I had a an eroneous complaint and they sorted it out for me and I completed the booking block; so no loss of income.

    Cons

    Freelance means you dont always have work and bookings were becoming ever further away.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the excellent support work. Research demand level in local area might help.

    Mad Science2019-08-01
  4. "Disorganized but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist 

    I worked at Mad Science part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the hourly wage is great, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    the company is disorganized and the prep-work is unpaid

    Mad Science2019-08-12
  5. "Mad scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Mad Scientist in Oviedo, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mad Science for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with children, teaching them Physics,Biology and other

    Cons

    By the time you calculate the wear and tear in your vehicle,gas and time allocated to reach location you end up making less than $8 hour

    Advice to Management

    Good luck retaining quality employees, once they figure out the low pay ,they will not come back

    Mad Science2018-11-24
  6. "The job where you feel like a big kid playing with science."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist in South Florida, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mad Science part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun, you feel like a celebrity in schools, can be a second job if needed. Fantastic starter job.

    Cons

    Limited to area interest, kids are unpredictable, might be driving a lot. Hours aren't great long-term.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see updated material/equipment sent to locations more often.

    Mad Science2018-10-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Mad Science rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mad Scientist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mad Science full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, great people to work with

    Cons

    few hours, equipment needs to be updated, better training

    Advice to Management

    make sure the box has the right equipment and that it all works.

    Mad Science2018-04-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mad Science part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pre-planned lessons; paid for training sessions; helpful staff

    Cons

    If you are not naturally great at teaching and need to prepare, the pay ($30/class, including set-up, drive-time, and clean-up) may be insufficient.

    Mad Science2018-04-25
  9. "Mad Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mad Scientist in Swansea, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mad Science part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great fun, bubbly people, who all have a genuine commitment to their work with children.

    Cons

    There really aren't any, good pay, opportunity to travel or stay closer to home, and working in a fun atmosphere

    Mad Science2018-01-03
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mad Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mad Science part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its very rewarding working with kids to create a future generation of scientists and engineers!

    Cons

    Kids can sometimes be a handful, but nothing wrong with the company itself

    Mad Science2017-08-15
Found 26 reviews