Macy's "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Macy's Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Mar 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
2,063 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The only think was opening credit cards(in 948 reviews)

  • "many long hours especially during the holiday(in 555 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    there were great benefits working there

    Cons

    long hours and less pay. they should change that

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-11-09
  2. "Great People Make Great Workplaces"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Holiday Ringer in Manchester, NH
    Recommends

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team of sales associates and vendors who worked during the holidays were very welcoming and helped me learn the ropes as a holiday ringer. The team atmosphere created a sense of camaraderie instead of competition which was conducive to a fun work work day. The hours were relatively flexible, and I was able to cover shifts for others, allowing me to pick up extra time. The associate discount was especially nice during the holiday shopping season.

    Cons

    The long hours were initially hard on my feet until I got better shoes. Occasionally you would have to deal with a difficult customer, but with a supportive team it wasn't so bad. The transition from holiday position to regular associate is not straight-forward.

    Macy's2020-02-20
  3. "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Good discount, union pay, consistent hours

    Cons

    Terrible management, terrible commission, worst team work, managers would pit teams against each other, terribly long hours.

    Macy's2020-03-01
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and good people

    Cons

    Long hours, I can’t complain

    Macy's2020-02-28
  5. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is great! I love interacting with customers.

    Cons

    I didn't like the long hours.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-02-04
  6. "Decent for the pay... boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Pay Breaks Easy work New building-plenty of jobs and advancement

    Cons

    Boring Long hours Unorganized Start up building so everything is still new Not enough equipment for the amount of employees

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-02-18
  7. "Can do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of Management staffers

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet. Floor was hard so it was difficult on your joints. Pay left much to be desired.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-02-17
  8. "Take a chance working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Fort Lauderdale, FL

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, good discounts for employees

    Cons

    Competitive. Low pay, long hours standing

    Macy's2020-02-13
  9. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Troy, MI

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, good pay, flexible hours, always something to do

    Cons

    Long hours, rude customers, store is often messy

    Macy's2020-01-25
  10. "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount during the holiday season were pretty good

    Cons

    Long hours and low pay

    Macy's2020-02-02
Found 555 reviews