MSLGROUP Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MSLGROUP Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
MSLGROUP CEO Guillaume Herbette
Guillaume Herbette
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Usually depends on the team you work with, I personally worked with not so great people but overall they were respectful(in 16 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance pretty good although we work hard(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "there's no work/life balance, I don't think someone could survive more than 5 or 6 years without serious breakdown(in 25 reviews)

  • "Senior Management should communicate more to the wider business(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Conseiller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MSLGROUP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its structure is impressive and gives you the opportunity to work directly with very experienced people and learn a lot.

    Cons

    For us in Qc, most of the work goes through Toronto and is in English.

    MSLGROUP2019-05-29
  2. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MSLGROUP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well known brand clients, everyday is different

    Cons

    Company culture still need works - old management styles

    MSLGROUP2019-04-08
  3. "Fun, fast-paced and challenging environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MSLGROUP full-time

    Pros

    Everyone has an entrepreneurial mindset. Very driven and working together

    Cons

    Similar challenges you would face at other agencies

    MSLGROUP2019-02-25
  4. "Amazing team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MSLGROUP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong emphasis on company culture, helps create a work-life balance Small but mighty team means that you're able to lead and grow on accounts A drive to make change and become a better overall organization is seen from senior management which is always great. Work closely with senior management with 10+ years of experience in the industry allowed me to grow quickly in my job and role

    Cons

    Like every agency sometimes work gets a little hectic and it's hard to get a true work-life balance

    Continue reading
    MSLGROUP2018-09-20
  5. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MSLGROUP

    Pros

    Amazing Talent Varying skill levels across a variety of skill sets

    Cons

    Extremely bloated Unable to move fast on literally anything Expect to wait for weeks to even discuss internal issues and even longer for a resolution to be placed

    Continue reading
    MSLGROUP2018-09-18
  6. "MSL - strong agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSLGROUP full-time

    Pros

    Great culture of empowerment and support. Strong potential for growth working with big clients, many who are willing to try new approaches to influencer marketing

    Cons

    Right now is a great time to be at MSL with such a strong team and client roster. Being part of a holding company can have its downs as you are trying to navigate being small fish in a big pond overall.

    MSLGROUP2018-08-31
  7. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSLGROUP full-time

    Pros

    Good collaborative working space, large scale clients, opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Work-life balance is something you need to make a priority

    Continue reading
    MSLGROUP2018-02-07
  8. "Amazing Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSLGROUP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great clients that work with you as true partners; challenging, but fair! Amazingly hard working staff. Much improved culture thanks to the acquisition of North Strategic and essentially the CEO. Everyone below a supervisor was a flight risk roughly two months ago. New CEO quickly addressed culture issues and there has been a serious shift in senior management. They are more respectful, non-judgmental, and accommodating. It has been a pleasure to work here since the acquisition, almost immediately. Everyone has embraced the changes and it has been a rewarding place to work since. Would highly recommend for high-performers who want to work on the best brands, with a smart bunch of people.

    Cons

    Still some work/life balance issues, but it's a PR agency. Hiring moves slowly.

    Continue reading
    MSLGROUP2017-04-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MSLGROUP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This agency is really just a shame because they have the most creative, hard working people with a phenomenal client base. The root of the problem is upper management.

    Cons

    It's not surprising that senior management have been here for 5+ years while the turnover rate for any position lower is the highest I've ever experienced. Understandably, hierarchy exists in an agency to a certain degree. MSLGROUP takes hierarchy to a whole new level. Employees are continuously belittled, undervalued and spoken to as if they were intellectually inferior. I have seen people walking out of offices in tears and I have heard employees being yelled at my upper management. The moment you voice any concern or stand your ground, you are immediately villainized. There is no understanding of respect, equality and appreciation. Favoritism is a serious issue where employees are able to get away with mistreating others due to their relationship with upper management.

    Continue reading
    MSLGROUP2017-01-25
  10. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at MSLGROUP

    Pros

    Good place and nice people

    Cons

    Overtime work, easy to lose your work and life balance

    MSLGROUP2016-11-10
Found 272 reviews