MNP Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 of over 856 reviews

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
MNP CEO Jason Tuffs
Jason Tuffs
334 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance (the most you can get in public practice(in 81 reviews)

  • "MNP did a great job at making me feel welcome throughout the interview process(in 61 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours as usual for large public firms(in 65 reviews)

  • "Busy during the busy season is totally acceptable(in 36 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jan 9, 2021 - Senior Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      OT banking; Great performance review system

      Cons

      Long hours during the tax season

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good work environment

      Jan 20, 2021 - Staff Accountant - International Tax Services in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Accumulated OT for junior staff

      Cons

      Long hours during busy period. Not enough staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      MNP

      Dec 30, 2020 - Bookkeeper, Assurance and Accounting in Strathroy, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - One of the MNP's core values is a balanced lifestyle, to which they really understand coming in late or leaving early for various reasons such as appointments, - Really flexible part-time work schedule while I was finishing my Business Administration-Accounting at Lambton College; understood when I needed to take additional time off to study for exams. - Encouraged me to continue my education by continuing to work part-time while I was getting my degree online through Nipissing University - My starting wage was higher than the minimum wage in Ontario - Lots of additional education though internal courses - Very helpful co-workers and managers

      Cons

      - Long hours from January - April though this is usually with the accounting offices. - My wage has not changed since I started because I have remained part-time even though I have been at the company since May 2018

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MNP Response

      National Human Resources

      Thank you for your thorough review. We are so pleased to hear you have experienced the right support managing a busy work-life and have utilized our flexible work environments to excel in your career. We appreciate your resiliency managing the busy season servicing our clients and our team members through our friendly and kind culture. Thank you for your review.

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Just another accounting firm with politics

      Jan 22, 2021 - Senior Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Toronto office location is very convinient

      Cons

      Very long work hours and very less increment compared to market standards

      1 person found this review helpful

      MNP Response

      National Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We understand life is busy and appreciate team members like yourself, who remain resilient in today’s fast-paced environment and support MNP in being one of Canada’s fastest-growing Firms. We review our rewards strategy regularly and do focus on spreading the workload. Your feedback is very valuable, thank you.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Audit

      Nov 4, 2020 - Senior Accountant in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay compared to big 4, casual work environment

      Cons

      long hours, demanding but similiar to other accounting firms

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MNP Response

      Talent Brand Advisor

      Your feedback is valuable, thank you for sharing. At MNP, we support and encourage a balanced lifestyle through paid personal days, team building events, banked overtime, balance subsidy, observance celebrations and much more. Thank you for being part of the MNP team.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Culture

      Oct 10, 2020 - Manager in Regina, SK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, great office culture

      Cons

      pay seems below average, long hours expectation

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MNP Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear you are happy with the benefits and enjoy the office culture in Regina. We agree our team is comprised of great people, including yourself! At MNP, we also understand that life is busy and the traditional 9-5 isn’t always manageable, however, we do our best to support a balanced lifestyle and review salaries annually to ensure we remain competitive for our team members. We appreciate your review!

    7. 4.0
      Former Intern

      Review

      Oct 9, 2020 - Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good mentorship from managers and senior staff

      Cons

      Long hours during Jan - Apr busy season

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      MNP Response

      We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear you chose MNP for your internship and felt supported by our team. Providing you with the tools you need to be successful is very important to us! We appreciate the time you took to share your experience; we value your voice. Good luck in all your future endeavours.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Co-Op Student

      Sep 22, 2020 - Accountant in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get paid for the overtime you work. Not common at public firms.

      Cons

      Long hours during tax season. Tight deadlines and high expectations

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to start you career

      Sep 16, 2020 - Staff Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and lots of opportunities to learn

      Cons

      Long hours and unreasonable expectations

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      Sep 8, 2020 - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are pursuing a career in public accounting, MNP is the best option.

      Cons

      Standard long hours do apply

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with MNP Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MNP? Share Your Experiences

    MNP logo
    or