MNP LLP "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MNP LLP Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
MNP LLP CEO Jason Tuffs
Jason Tuffs
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company strives to provide goo work-life balance(in 60 reviews)

  • "Therefore, MNP offers a great interview experience that helps lead you to future success within the firm(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "May work long hours during tax season(in 39 reviews)

  • "Busy season can be demanding on the team(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I am working at MNP since almost 4 months as Senior IT Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great People, Friendly and great environment, work life balance

    Cons

    IT consultancy not promoted well so far.

    MNP LLP2020-01-10
  2. "Best place for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Quality Assurance Co-op in St. Catharines, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MNP LLP for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Friendly staff

    Cons

    None at all. Best place for job security

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2019-12-14
  3. "Unrealistic expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support for CPA students - generous study time and support for CFE writers. Once designated, there are opportunities to progress your accounting career and the possibility to transfer to different fields (i.e. tax versus general practice). There are social events offered which can be fun if you enjoy the people you work with. Regular performance reviews. Remuneration is revisited annually (although that doesn't mean raises are guaranteed).

    Cons

    Expectations (charge-ability, overtime, billings, etc) are unattainable. Staff and managers are overloaded and the message always seems to be that it's not enough. MNP does not foster a healthy work environment. "Work/life balance" is one of the company's values but it's in words only. Having an open bar at the Christmas party does not compensate for being overworked 6+ months each year. High rate of turnover/burnout and it's never addressed. It seems the company is happy to 'use up' good accountants and then just wait for the next batch of new hires. Very poor change management. New procedures, software, etc are often rolled-out poorly (either bad timing, not sufficient training, not sufficiently developed, or a combination). There a lack of transparency in how decisions get made.

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2020-01-13
  4. "Work on MNP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone, manager, partners are great to work with (no one is a jerk), flexibility to work from home

    Cons

    Long hours and no work/life balance

    MNP LLP2019-11-25

    MNP LLP Response

    December 20, 2019

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear our team in Toronto is great to work with. We agree, our flexible work environment is definitely a perk! Supporting a balanced lifestyle is very important to us at MNP. We continue to promote balance through paid personal days, team building events, banked overtime, balance subsidy, observance celebrations, and much more. We hope you find a balance that works for you. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  5. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, great corporate culture

    Cons

    Weaker career opportunities compare to other big 4

    MNP LLP2019-11-06

    MNP LLP Response

    November 14, 2019

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Supporting a balanced lifestyle and great culture is incredibly important to us at MNP. We continue to promote balance through paid personal days, team building events, banked overtime, balance subsidy, observance celebrations, and much more – so we are pleased you are appreciate the work-life balance. We are proud of the opportunities our team has available to learn and grow within our diverse service areas and office locations across Canada. MNP is continuously growing and innovating, which constantly brings new opportunities for team members. We encourage you discuss your careers goals with your performance coach to ensure you have the support you need. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  6. "I really appreciate working at MNP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment Culture of respect and collaboration Human approach Work/life balance Great Professionals

    Cons

    Too new to tell so nothing for now.

    MNP LLP2019-10-11

    MNP LLP Response

    November 14, 2019

    We are grateful you have taken the time to write a review, feedback is a gift. Welcome to the team! We are glad you have chosen MNP as your next career move. It is team members like yourself that make MNP such a great place to work. As a senior manager, we appreciate you leading by example and ensuring MNP remains a collaborative, engaged, respectful, and balanced environment. Thank you for your contribution.

    Continue reading
  7. "I love MNP LLP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designated Professional in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    So much learning ... very complex issues and you get to work on everything

    Cons

    Long hours so not the greatest work life balance

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2019-09-26

    MNP LLP Response

    October 17, 2019

    Thank you for providing valuable feedback to our team. MNP’s diverse client group and positions provide a great opportunity for continued learning and career development. We are thrilled to hear you love MNP and welcome the challenge! At MNP, we value and encourage a balanced lifestyle through vacation, paid personal days, team building events, banked overtime, balance subsidy, observance celebrations, and much more. We appreciate all the long hours you dedicate and hope you have been able to take time for yourself. Thank you for being part of our MNP team.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good Work-life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designated Professional in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The company strives to provide goo work-life balance - Fair compensation, and promotions are based on merit, not seniority - Many social events put on by the firm to help foster the work-life balance and build relationships among staff

    Cons

    No cons, can get busy during tax season, but that is the same in all accounting firms.

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2019-09-17

    MNP LLP Response

    October 17, 2019

    We are grateful you have taken the time to write a review. At MNP, our team members are our most valuable asset. We pride ourselves in recognizing performance, supporting a balanced lifestyle, and embracing our entrepreneurial fun culture. By providing banked overtime, team building events, observance celebrations, vacation, paid personal days, balanced subsidy, and much more, we foster a healthy lifestyle focused on work-life balance. We understand the schedule during tax season can be crazy, but we greatly appreciate your dedication to the Firm and your contribution to our team’s success. Thank you for being part of our success.

    Continue reading
  9. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great people, good vacation, work life balance

    Cons

    Smaller company with less perks

    MNP LLP2019-09-26
  10. "Review of MNP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance Everyone is super friendly and willing to help

    Cons

    Can be very long hours during busy season

    MNP LLP2019-09-07

    MNP LLP Response

    September 11, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear you are living a balanced life at MNP. In our business, longer working hours are needed during busy season, but hopefully you have been able to leverage your banked overtime to take time for yourself. Thanks very much for your feedback.

    Continue reading
Found 78 reviews