MNP LLP "mnp" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MNP LLP Employee Reviews about "mnp"

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
MNP LLP CEO Jason Tuffs
Jason Tuffs
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company strives to provide goo work-life balance(in 60 reviews)

  • "Therefore, MNP offers a great interview experience that helps lead you to future success within the firm(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "May work long hours during tax season(in 39 reviews)

  • "Busy season can be demanding on the team(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mnp"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Interview experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Co-op CPA Articling Student, Assurance 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP for less than a year

    Pros

    - They make you feel comfortable during the process. - Prior to my first day, they sent detailed documents regarding the dress policy and parking arrangements which helped ease my stress going into my first day at work. - They instantly make you feel like you are part of their team in which they have a friendly work culture. Therefore, MNP offers a great interview experience that helps lead you to future success within the firm.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have experienced no cons during my internship so far.

    MNP LLP2020-01-07
  2. "Unrealistic expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support for CPA students - generous study time and support for CFE writers. Once designated, there are opportunities to progress your accounting career and the possibility to transfer to different fields (i.e. tax versus general practice). There are social events offered which can be fun if you enjoy the people you work with. Regular performance reviews. Remuneration is revisited annually (although that doesn't mean raises are guaranteed).

    Show More

    Cons

    Expectations (charge-ability, overtime, billings, etc) are unattainable. Staff and managers are overloaded and the message always seems to be that it's not enough. MNP does not foster a healthy work environment. "Work/life balance" is one of the company's values but it's in words only. Having an open bar at the Christmas party does not compensate for being overworked 6+ months each year. High rate of turnover/burnout and it's never addressed. It seems the company is happy to 'use up' good accountants and then just wait for the next batch of new hires. Very poor change management. New procedures, software, etc are often rolled-out poorly (either bad timing, not sufficient training, not sufficiently developed, or a combination). There a lack of transparency in how decisions get made.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond statistics and value your staff & managers. Support people so that they will want to - and will be able to - stay with the company long-term. There's a focus on getting new people in the door but very little to support them once they're in their roles.

    MNP LLP2020-01-13
  3. "Be cautious when dealing with this firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CPA Articling Student in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Co-workers excluding management and partners were great and collaborative - Lots of events that are paid by the employer that employee can attend - Shorter work days depending on contract mine was 7.6 - Overtime banked at 1:1 - I have worked at other MNP locations and the experience was outstanding this particular location (Victoria, BC) was not one of those locations - The culture at other MNP offices I would rate highly

    Show More

    Cons

    - Low salary $38,000 very low compared to industry average $42,000 - Overtime can only be used for time off, can't be paid out under any circumstance don't get fooled by HR they will never pay out overtime - Contracts are set up as such that you won't receive benefits or MNP benefits (RRSP, paid day off) - Always negotiate this don't sign a contract unless its full time - Module fees won't be reimbursed unless your a full time employee - Management is deceptive and will manipulate your performance and lie to partner as to your progress if they see you as competition - This is a recent merger firm as such the prior manager has a bias towards employees coming from other MNP offices - DO NOT trust the HR department of this firm they are highly deceptive and will lie and take advantage of you if you trust what they have to say - The only assurance engagement this particular firm location (Victoria) offers is compilations, no review or audit engagements. I know its odd. - The compilations are of such that they mirror review engagements and your performance will be assessed on perfection. Anything greater than 2 queries you are assumed to be incompetent - I would not recommend this particular location for CPA students they don't offer support or allow ANY time off while your in the mods. - The culture at this office is highly toxic, this is a result of the tone from the top - They will tell you that they are one firm one company, but this is NOT true each firm is a separate entity

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Partners need to have less reliance on the managers input and assess an employees abilities based on how they have seen the employee perform - Partners don't be fooled or persuaded by managers that don't have the firms best interests in mind rather their own interest is top priority - Managers that were apart of the firm pre-merger need to accept that their old firm and its practices are done it couldn't survive any longer that is why it was swallowed by MNP - HR offer competitive salaries $38,000 for Victoria B.C.??

    Show More
    MNP LLP2019-12-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "MNP wins 2019 Workforce Choice Awards for D&I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    So proud about our inclusive culture and commitment to Diversity and Inclusion. MNP was nominated and awarded for the 2019 Workforce Choice Awards for D&I which reinforces our inclusive approach to business and how this is embedded in our culture.

    Cons

    MNP is a progressive, caring firm, that focuses on building relationships with peers, leaders, clients and the community.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for my career progression support and the opportunity to share in MNP's success.

    MNP LLP2019-10-04
  5. "MNP LLP Orientation Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Timmins, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The staff members are very welcoming - Great positive atmosphere and incorporate values into the workplace - The staff is very approachable for help and answer any questions

    Cons

    Not receiving MNP benefits until after my probationary period (90 days)

    MNP LLP2019-10-08
  6. "I love this firm!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Capital in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time

    Pros

    MNP is great place to work. Everyone is so friendly, we work as true team, and we celebrate our successes! The firm's values really do translate into the day to day operations of the business. Our Partners are caring and helpful. The training and growth opportunities are endless.

    Cons

    Hard to think of any really.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on what you have been doing. Investing in your team members drives growth and client service excellence.

    MNP LLP2019-10-05
  7. "Accounting and Assurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Accounting and Assurance in Timmins, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP for less than a year

    Pros

    In MNP LLP I can get more professional experiences.

    Cons

    In MNP LLP there has nearly no cons here.

    Advice to Management

    Actually there is no negative advice about management.

    MNP LLP2019-09-16
  8. "First Week Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CPA Articling Student in Abbotsford, BC

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and welcoming staff. Everyone is happy to answer questions. Partners, managers and team members are treated equally and share the same floor. Partners and managers are always glad to help everyone with an open door policy. Great orientation program to ensure we ease in to our positions and are prepared to begin our jobs. Lots of coffee and snacks. New hires are assigned buddies to help us get comfortable in our role.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons to working at MNP.

    MNP LLP2019-09-11
  9. "Great Company To Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MNP has been growing by leaps and bounds which means that there is lots of opportunities for fast career progression. They promote employees based on merit, not by the number of busy seasons they have worked. They also offer lots of fun activities during busy season such as free massages, ice cream sundae day, soup and panini days, trivia contests where we can win $50 gift cards, etc. They also have bankable overtime. The people are also really nice which is important to me.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind other than longer hours during busy season, but I that's pretty typical for all accounting firms.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the growth and focus on employees

    MNP LLP2019-08-09
  10. "Amazing Company, Culture, and Growth Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MNP is forward thinking and progressive with fantastic senior leaders and people that genuinely care and are willing to jump in and assist with anything you need to succeed. The growth speaks for itself and that they've held on to their core values and entrepreneurial spirit throughout it means that they truly care about their people and company culture. It's been such a great experience working here and I'm excited to build my career at MNP

    Show More

    Cons

    Not much comes to mind - it's a fast-paced environment that throws you in to the learning curve, so maybe some more intensive on-boarding would be helpful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    MNP LLP2019-07-30
Found 60 reviews