MNP LLP "mnp" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MNP LLP Employee Reviews about "mnp"

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
MNP LLP CEO Jason Tuffs
Jason Tuffs
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "The firm promotes work-life balance(in 67 reviews)

  • "MNP provides in depth training by helpful staff that are willing to answer any questions you may have(in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "May work long hours during tax season(in 42 reviews)

  • "Different teams are operating very differently and you might not experience all the benefits of employment with MNP in some teams(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mnp"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The main pro's that I have found since I joined MNP have been: 1. Culture - very friendly, no sense of hierarchy and open door policy 2. Recognition that MNP provides to its employees 3. Work-life balance MNP has grown so much since I joined and I have seen fantastic career progression for team members across the firm. MNP is also very supportive of its staff and will accommodate as much as possible. I would definitely recommend MNP to anyone who is considering joining the firm

    Cons

    There is nothing that I can think of at the moment.

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2020-03-10

    MNP LLP Response

    March 20, 2020

    We are grateful for your review and appreciate your feedback. We are proud to hear you would recommend MNP, and lucky to have you as part of our Talent team! MNP will continue to be a great place to work thanks to positive team members like you. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very collaborative and creative environment. Lots of social events. The management is very supportive.

    Cons

    Different teams are operating very differently and you might not experience all the benefits of employment with MNP in some teams.

    MNP LLP2020-02-24

    MNP LLP Response

    March 2, 2020

    Your feedback is valuable, thank you for sharing. We are pleased to hear you are supported in your role and part of a collaborative and creative team. We agree, our social events are fun! Though MNP’s growth is very exciting, we also understand that it comes with challenges. As our team continues to grow, we will remain innovative and focused on enhancing our processes across our numerous offices, while also understanding every office will be unique to their location. Real-time feedback from reviews like Glassdoor provide us with a pulse check on offices across the country. We appreciate your contribution.

    Continue reading
  3. "Experience as an CO-OP Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Assurance Accountant in Markham, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at MNP LLP for less than a year

    Pros

    - New Hire Orientation and On-boarding is excellent. - Lots of In class room training before starting official work (great for new hires that do not have a great background in Assurance Auditing) - MNP understands that new hires need to adapt to a new environment and may go under a lot of stress. - Free Coffee and Espressos, and Hot Chocolate. - Can ask as many questions as you want if you don't understand concepts or how to complete tasks. - Great work life balance compared to the Big 4 firms.

    Cons

    - Some in-class training is a bit too advanced for first time CO-OP students

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2020-01-29

    MNP LLP Response

    January 30, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We are thrilled to hear you chose MNP for your co-op placement. Welcome to the team! We agree MNP has a ton of pros, but we espresso-ly love the coffee and hot chocolate. 😊 Providing you with the tools you need to be successful is very important to us. Our team is always here to answer any questions you may have to ensure you get the most out of your co-op experience. Thank you for the feedback regarding some of the trainings. We encourage you to share your feedback with your Human Capital contact, so they may take that into consideration when providing the training in the future.

    Continue reading
  4. "MNP Ottawa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Accounting Co-op in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP for less than a year

    Pros

    MNP provides in depth training by helpful staff that are willing to answer any questions you may have.

    Cons

    Like any accounting firm the hours are long.

    MNP LLP2020-01-28

    MNP LLP Response

    January 30, 2020

    Welcome to the team! We are pleased that you chose MNP for your co-op placement. We hope you gain the hands-on experience you are looking for. Thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
  5. "Interview experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Co-op CPA Articling Student, Assurance 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP for less than a year

    Pros

    - They make you feel comfortable during the process. - Prior to my first day, they sent detailed documents regarding the dress policy and parking arrangements which helped ease my stress going into my first day at work. - They instantly make you feel like you are part of their team in which they have a friendly work culture. Therefore, MNP offers a great interview experience that helps lead you to future success within the firm.

    Cons

    I have experienced no cons during my internship so far.

    MNP LLP2020-01-07

    MNP LLP Response

    January 30, 2020

    We are grateful you have taken the time to write a review. We are proud that our inclusive team has provided you with support. We know it can be a bit overwhelming when starting with a new company. At MNP, we strive to remove some of that stress by providing a summary of everything you may need to know to be successful from day 1. We hope you enjoy your co-op at MNP. Welcome to the team!

    Continue reading
  6. "Unrealistic expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support for CPA students - generous study time and support for CFE writers. Once designated, there are opportunities to progress your accounting career and the possibility to transfer to different fields (i.e. tax versus general practice). There are social events offered which can be fun if you enjoy the people you work with. Regular performance reviews. Remuneration is revisited annually (although that doesn't mean raises are guaranteed).

    Cons

    Expectations (charge-ability, overtime, billings, etc) are unattainable. Staff and managers are overloaded and the message always seems to be that it's not enough. MNP does not foster a healthy work environment. "Work/life balance" is one of the company's values but it's in words only. Having an open bar at the Christmas party does not compensate for being overworked 6+ months each year. High rate of turnover/burnout and it's never addressed. It seems the company is happy to 'use up' good accountants and then just wait for the next batch of new hires. Very poor change management. New procedures, software, etc are often rolled-out poorly (either bad timing, not sufficient training, not sufficiently developed, or a combination). There a lack of transparency in how decisions get made.

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2020-01-13

    MNP LLP Response

    February 10, 2020

    We are grateful for your review and appreciate your feedback. At MNP, we pride ourselves on guiding and setting our CFE writers up for success and following supporting our team members on their path of interest. We genuinely value the important role a balanced lifestyle plays in the success of our team members. When our team is engaged and re-charged after their time off, they can do their best work. We provide paid personal days, team building events, balance subsidy, observance celebrations, and much more. We encourage you to share your feedback with your Regional Human Capital contact. Thank you for your feedback. You are valued.

    Continue reading
  7. "Be cautious when dealing with this firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CPA Articling Student in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Co-workers excluding management and partners were great and collaborative - Lots of events that are paid by the employer that employee can attend - Shorter work days depending on contract mine was 7.6 - Overtime banked at 1:1 - I have worked at other MNP locations and the experience was outstanding this particular location (Victoria, BC) was not one of those locations - The culture at other MNP offices I would rate highly

    Cons

    - Low salary $38,000 very low compared to industry average $42,000 - Overtime can only be used for time off, can't be paid out under any circumstance don't get fooled by HR they will never pay out overtime - Contracts are set up as such that you won't receive benefits or MNP benefits (RRSP, paid day off) - Always negotiate this don't sign a contract unless its full time - Module fees won't be reimbursed unless your a full time employee - Management is deceptive and will manipulate your performance and lie to partner as to your progress if they see you as competition - This is a recent merger firm as such the prior manager has a bias towards employees coming from other MNP offices - DO NOT trust the HR department of this firm they are highly deceptive and will lie and take advantage of you if you trust what they have to say - The only assurance engagement this particular firm location (Victoria) offers is compilations, no review or audit engagements. I know its odd. - The compilations are of such that they mirror review engagements and your performance will be assessed on perfection. Anything greater than 2 queries you are assumed to be incompetent - I would not recommend this particular location for CPA students they don't offer support or allow ANY time off while your in the mods. - The culture at this office is highly toxic, this is a result of the tone from the top - They will tell you that they are one firm one company, but this is NOT true each firm is a separate entity

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2019-12-18

    MNP LLP Response

    January 10, 2020

    Your feedback is valuable, thank you for taking the time to share. We are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your recent experience. We take pride in fostering an inclusive, engaging culture and work environment, and strive to promote balance through paid personal days, team building events, banked overtime, balance subsidy, observance celebrations, and much more. To stay on top of industry standards we review salaries annually to ensure we remain competitive. We hope you had the opportunity to speak with a Partner or your local Human Capital Advisor before departing.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "MNP wins 2019 Workforce Choice Awards for D&I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    So proud about our inclusive culture and commitment to Diversity and Inclusion. MNP was nominated and awarded for the 2019 Workforce Choice Awards for D&I which reinforces our inclusive approach to business and how this is embedded in our culture.

    Cons

    MNP is a progressive, caring firm, that focuses on building relationships with peers, leaders, clients and the community.

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2019-10-04

    MNP LLP Response

    October 17, 2019

    We are grateful you have taken the time to write a review. At MNP, we greatly value diversity and inclusion, and understand the positive impacts it has on our culture. We are proud of our achievements and the recognition received through this award, and thankful you value it as well. It is leaders like yourself that will continue to make MNP an employer of choice. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for being part of our success.

    Continue reading
  9. "MNP LLP Orientation Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Timmins, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The staff members are very welcoming - Great positive atmosphere and incorporate values into the workplace - The staff is very approachable for help and answer any questions

    Cons

    Not receiving MNP benefits until after my probationary period (90 days)

    MNP LLP2019-10-08

    MNP LLP Response

    November 14, 2019

    We are grateful you have taken the time to write a review. We are proud you felt welcomed from the very beginning. At MNP, we strive to live our values everyday to ensure we remain true to our Canadian roots. We appreciate the 90-day waiting period may be a challenge, but time will fly by and you can celebrate your probationary period with a massage. 😊 Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. "I love this firm!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Capital in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time

    Pros

    MNP is great place to work. Everyone is so friendly, we work as true team, and we celebrate our successes! The firm's values really do translate into the day to day operations of the business. Our Partners are caring and helpful. The training and growth opportunities are endless.

    Cons

    Hard to think of any really.

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2019-10-05

    MNP LLP Response

    October 17, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We are thrilled you are truly experiencing and living MNP’s values. Our team members are our greatest gift and we are grateful for everyone’s contribution to MNP’s success. Continuing to invest in our team is a priority as we understand its importance in ensuring growth and fulfillment in one’s career. We are lucky to have such dedicated and passionate team members likes you!

    Continue reading
Found 64 reviews