MNP LLP "busy season" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MNP LLP Employee Reviews about "busy season"

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
MNP LLP CEO Jason Tuffs
Jason Tuffs
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company strives to provide goo work-life balance(in 60 reviews)

  • "Therefore, MNP offers a great interview experience that helps lead you to future success within the firm(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "May work long hours during tax season(in 39 reviews)

  • "Busy season can be demanding on the team(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "busy season"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Overall good environment with tough hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience with good people

    Cons

    Hours during busy season time

    MNP LLP2019-12-14
  2. "Pros: Like a Family Cons: Like a Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Kenora, ON

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The office I specifically work at is amazing. The people are all super helpful and want to see you succeed! A lot of places say they are like family but in my specific office, we honestly are. If you disappear for a day without letting someone know, they worry about you.

    Cons

    While my office is amazing, sometimes dealing with other offices can be a headache which is why I'm limiting myself to my office rather than my organization as a whole. I'm also not going to mention the normal accounting things like long work hours during busy season because every firm has that. One con is that like any family, there can be personality conflicts and butting of heads.

    MNP LLP2020-01-08
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for.

    Cons

    Can get a bit stressful during busy season.

    MNP LLP2019-11-22
  4. "Long hours in busy season"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Accounting Co-op in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MNP LLP for less than a year

    Pros

    - Traveling (may also be a con depending on how much you like to drive) - Monthly company events (free food, massages, etc...)

    Cons

    - Long hours during busy season - Low-mediocre pay

    MNP LLP2019-10-03
  5. "Great job if you are serious about C PA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CPA Articling Student in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good management and supportive staff Provide ample training Pay for CPA expenses, give paid time off to study Have a good overtime program where all overtime hours can be cashed for paid vacation during slower months

    Cons

    As with any other accounting firm, very long hours during busy season. 60 hour work week is expected, possibly more depending on clients' needs

    MNP LLP2019-09-11
  6. "Review of MNP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance Everyone is super friendly and willing to help

    Cons

    Can be very long hours during busy season

    MNP LLP2019-09-07
  7. "Great Company To Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MNP has been growing by leaps and bounds which means that there is lots of opportunities for fast career progression. They promote employees based on merit, not by the number of busy seasons they have worked. They also offer lots of fun activities during busy season such as free massages, ice cream sundae day, soup and panini days, trivia contests where we can win $50 gift cards, etc. They also have bankable overtime. The people are also really nice which is important to me.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind other than longer hours during busy season, but I that's pretty typical for all accounting firms.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the growth and focus on employees

    MNP LLP2019-08-09
  8. "Exceptional Team, Innovative thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Marketing Manager in Grande Prairie, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    MNP is a National firm that operates as one large unit. You are able to rely on team members across the country to expand your expertise. MNP is a forward thinking company that values its employees and works hard to be forward thinking and innovative. Management is supportive and dedicated to team members growth, and they treat their employees fairly with genuine care and compassion.

    Cons

    Some people may find the hours challenging, especially during busy season, but the team offers endless support during busy times to keep morale high and make people feel appreciated

    Advice to Management

    Overall, I think the organization is well run with attention to employees well being and continued growth.

    MNP LLP2019-07-30
  9. "Love working for this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Summer CPA Articling Student in Regina, SK
    Recommends

    I have been working at MNP LLP part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best thing MNP has to offer in terms of its employees is the work-life balance aspect. MNP offers tons of fun activities during busy season to help employees stay sane and happy. In addition, accountants are able to bank their overtime in busy season which results in reduced work hours in the summer, which is great for anyone wanting to take some time off to recover from working heavy loads in busy season. As a coop student, I have learned many valuable skills that will directly translate to my studies in university.

    Show More

    Cons

    The biggest con about MNP is the long work hours during busy season (Mar - April). This is typical in the accounting industry, so not just a con of MNP. Regina office requires a minimum 50 hour work week during this busy time - however this is made up for in the summer by having soft closure Fridays and reduced work hours.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employee's happiness and performance.

    MNP LLP2019-08-12
  10. "Great firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Accountant in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work / life balance, hours not too bad in the busy season.

    Cons

    Smaller team, difficult to move up.

    MNP LLP2019-07-11
Found 34 reviews