MHR Employee Reviews about "dress code"

Updated Mar 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
MHR Chief Executive Officer Anton Roe  (no image)
Anton Roe
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "There seems to be some disgruntled people who have left MHR for one reason or another(in 19 reviews)

  • "Really lovely offices and free parking(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some people aren't thrilled with the smart dress code(in 18 reviews)

  • "None that would prevent me from recommending MHR as an employer of choice (although perhaps public transport links could be better for the area)(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dress code"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company to work for that is continuously improving"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automation Test Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with some good people, well paid, new offices, onsite cafe, free parking and building more spaces. Company is expanding and continues to do well and is always looking to improve to make it a better place to work. If you work hard and show commitment you do get rewarded.

    Cons

    Dress code is a little old fashion.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-03-03
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Don't even bother"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to working here.

    Cons

    Archaic dress code, Overbearing management, told training would be continued then terminated a week later. If the chairman takes a dislike to you at first sight he'll get his way as its all about him and his Conservative (Tory) methodology that is outdated in the modern world.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-02-01
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great People, Great Progression"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Ruddington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Knowledgeable People - Wealth of experience across the business - Good food & canteens - Internal Promotion & Progression opportunity is great - Lots of training opportunity

    Cons

    - Some people aren't thrilled with the smart dress code? That's just normal work attire in my opinion though.

    MHR2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (10)

    "MH ARRGHH - Thinking about implementing iTrent? Don't"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time

    Pros

    Nice Canteen Free Parking That is about it

    Cons

    Where to start..... Poor management, terrible dress code, outdated management, poor ways of delivering feedback. I've not gone to the other side on a system implementation, and we've had nothing but issue after issue. Web Recruitment doesn't work, it is not an ATS. The majority of clients are public sector who probably don't know any better. The Ui is terrible, outdated, updates are released which don't work. Which require further updates. Awful really awful. Also, terrible comments from senior management on social media especially if you're a "leftie"

    MHR2019-05-29

    MHR Response

    June 7, 2019Head of HR

    Thank you for reposting your original posts from earlier this year. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at MHR and that you found our professional image and approach difficult to work with. I am equally saddened to hear that you still appear to be having problems with your implementation. I wonder if this might be something that you need to raise with your project manager and/or MHR trained consultant(s) for further advice and guidance ? I would also recommend that if you are authorised by your new employer to do so that you log a call with our service desk who I am sure would be happy to help identify the root cause of the problem. Jeanette Wheeler HR Director

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You’ll get to work with some of the most talented people you’ll ever meet. Very supportive staff always pushing personal development Best HR software of the market. Leading from the front by using it with their own employees and the benefits are clear Both HR and management really do care for people willing to wave the MHR flag Amazing opportunities for those who want to stand up and take ownership of their roles

    Cons

    Very fast-paced (not necessarily a con but some may see it that way) Some old school thinking with dress code (again same as above)

    Continue reading
    MHR2018-09-19

    MHR Response

    October 1, 2018Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would agree that we have some amazing and talented people working at MHR and there are lots of opportunities for employees to develop their careers further as we continue to expand globally. We provide many training and development courses, through our People First platform, to aid personal development. In 2019 we are looking to expand this further still with a blend of face-to-face and online options to support individual learning styles. We’ll also be launching a fully revised mentoring program which will be open to all employees and a structured Management Excellence programme. We look forward to supporting you in what I am confident will be a blossoming career with MHR.

  6. Helpful (14)

    "Beware the fake positive reviews from management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent parking, decent office locations although isolated. Good catering.

    Cons

    Do not believe the good reviews. Britannia House managers have been told to submit good reviews and if you know where to find the meeting agenda and minutes (left on the printer) Glassdoor has been discussed at Board level. For “growth” read “replacing staff lost through high turnover”. For a company whose business is HR they have a lot to learn – or more to the point management just need to treat employees (not “colleagues” as that word is not allowed) in the same way as other employers do and in the way employees expect in 2017. Several comments say the company is rooted in the 1980s but the 1950s would be more appropriate. If you can accept being treated like a naughty child, being told what colour socks to wear and having every last ounce of work squeezed out of you then tug on your forelock, doff your cap and join up. As for the dress code, there is something quite sweet about all those young men naively dressed up to the nines for their first job. Always remember, “Though shalt have no other God but Midland” and “Midland is proud of its traditions”, just like a boys only public school. The company keep saying they are all about growth – but there is nothing in it for the everyday employee except for panicked short-term decisions, huge workloads, unnecessary pressure, low morale, more unreliable software needing hot fixes, penny-pinching pay rises and very little in the way of thanks. As per the header, beware the fake positive reviews. They are the ones with a reply from HR with the odd negative comment included in responses to put you off the scent.

    Continue reading
    MHR2017-12-20

    MHR Response

    February 1, 2018Content Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. Of course, the assertion that our positive reviews are fake is nonsense we have many happy people working at MHR all striving to make the company a great place to work and to provide our customers with the best product and services. Can we be better, of course and we will continue to work on that. I am sorry the £7m investment in infrastructure, offices and development didn’t reach you. Nottingham is a hot-bed of employment and the HR industry is booming so we employ people from our competitors and other tech companies and vice-versa. That is the reality of business. 27 new starters in January suggests we are doing something right! The fast-paced nature of MHR clearly wasn’t for you and we hope that you find a role in a business that suits your work requirements. We clearly only want people who want to be at MHR, that isn’t you. That said, we are disappointed you did not have a good experience of MHR and we wish you well for the future. Jeanette Wheeler Head of HR

  7. Helpful (12)

    "You are just a disposable overhead in a quest for profit"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent setting. OK salary. Decent catering facilities.

    Cons

    Your experience of MHR depends at which one of the two sites you work. Ruddington Hall is sort of OK – if you are unfortunate to work at Britannia House in HRO you are just a disposable overhead working at the company’s ‘cash cow’ as HRO is a huge profit generator. Don’t expect to be treated with respect, you must know everything about every customer, be able to do 6 things at once and you’ll have to cope with chronic understaffing (which pays for the new build out the back). Morale is rock bottom and most teams are led by what seem to be 12 year old inexperienced teamleaders who began as admin assistants relatively recently. Oh, as for the positive reviews on here they were written by teamleaders and managers on instruction from above! Dress code is archaic – it adds absolutely nothing to the quality of the work.

    Continue reading
    MHR2017-10-01
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Don't do it - Negative atmosphere every single day"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Heavily subsidised canteen Plenty of parking Some people are nice

    Cons

    Management - they don't listen to the people actually trying to do the work No training All about the money/ targets, not about the customer or employees Micro management Dress code - so formal, not needed in order to do a good job

    Continue reading
    MHR2017-09-19
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Not what they say !!!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MHR

    Pros

    Beautiful Building & Grounds Some Great Colleagues Fairly ok Salary Fantastic Internal Training Team

    Cons

    Certain Management Members tend to believe they are better than the rest and instead of helping & supporting their team, they "bully" them. No Support from Management. Strict Dress Code. No Flexibility. No Understanding of Docs/Hospital Appointments. No Understanding when it comes to Family Life/Childcare Issues.

    Continue reading
    MHR2017-05-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Current employee"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MHR full-time

    Pros

    Put the effort in and work hard and you will be rewarded.

    Cons

    Benefits not a patch on other companies in this industry. Dress code too formal

    MHR2017-04-29
Found 18 reviews
</>Embed