MD Financial Management "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MD Financial Management Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
MD Financial Management President and CEO Daniel Labonte
Daniel Labonte
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "The team cares about work-life balance(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great flex work environment- trust from leadership that you will get your work done without being micromanaged(in 18 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clear focus on improving financial outcomes for physicians and their families. Very family friendly. Great flex work environment- trust from leadership that you will get your work done without being micromanaged

    Cons

    Some employees are set in their ways and resistant to change and act like a union. Luckily that's changing due to leadership direction

    MD Financial Management2018-03-08
  2. "Modern company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Quality Management Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MD Financial Management for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment Modern office space Relatively young staff opportunities for promotion/lateral moves

    Cons

    Somewhat low pay Mostly contracted positions without benefits

    MD Financial Management2019-09-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Perfect starter job, but don't expect too much growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Administration Officer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perfect first job for new grads. Very relaxed work environment. The cafeteria food is tasty.

    Cons

    Don't expect too much growth, unless you have your CFA and stand out significantly compared to your peers. It usually takes them a while to recognize your worth

    MD Financial Management2019-06-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Trade Reconciliation Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MD Financial Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, nice work environment

    Cons

    Low ambition, very limited room to move up, constant turnover, poor management

    MD Financial Management2018-05-30
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging work, high quality work environment and great leadership

    Cons

    It's been a great place to work so no cons

    MD Financial Management2017-09-27
  6. "BUSINESS ANALYST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Business Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at MD Financial Management for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Flexibility to work from home. Friendly people. Lots of projects on the go. Great learning experience. A company that treats contractors with respect and includes them in company events, etc. One of the best places I have worked. Great culture! Good benefits for full time employees. Cafeteria on main floor provides awesome lunches and great salad bar.

    Cons

    Instability and layoffs. Pay is not comparable to industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep the culture because it is what makes MD unique from other organizations.

    MD Financial Management2017-06-26
  7. "QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MD Financial Management

    Pros

    Flex work environment , amazing people

    Cons

    None to mention to be frank

    MD Financial Management2017-05-02
  8. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salaries, flexible work environment.

    Cons

    Lots of continuing organizational change.

    MD Financial Management2017-04-03
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at MD Financial Management

    Pros

    Great work environment at the office Flex office i.e. lots of opportunities to work remotely (from home)

    Cons

    The only drawback was that since I lived on the other side of the city, the commute was terrible

    Advice to Management

    My only advice to management is to make sure that for large projects i.e. ones that greatly impact the company, to have strict policies on vendor management.

    MD Financial Management2017-01-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent client focus but inconsistent growth and development opportunities provided to employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great modern building and facilities with continued effort to provide employees with the necessary technology and flexible work environment. The company's number one purpose is and will always be providing first in class wealth management services to its clients!

    Cons

    Although many significant strides have been made over the past couple of years in terms of professional development and growth opportunities, there is still a gap. There is a perception that if you have a manager who is supportive and offers guidance, you'll go far. Otherwise, you're on your own and you will remain stagnant. It's quite unfortunate but likely the case in most places.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have the answers...keep engaging employees for ideas, thoughts and their perspective. There are many great talented individuals at MD who truly believe in the company and want to remain being part of the great work it does.

    MD Financial Management2016-04-06
Found 18 reviews