MAC Cosmetics "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MAC Cosmetics Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
MAC Cosmetics CEO John Demsey
John Demsey
598 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance but that’s to be expected in a full time management job(in 168 reviews)

  • "Sales goals are high and they really push them(in 114 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "MAC is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, gratis products, training

    Cons

    Work life balance is not great

    MAC Cosmetics2020-01-20
  2. "Was such a horrible experience, it made me leave my career as a make up artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - On-call Artist in Richmond, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics for less than a year

    Pros

    you get to dress up for work, look cute and tell people you work at MAC (even though MAC as a brand isn't very relevant anymore)

    Cons

    Terrible management (micromanagement to the max), zero work-life balance (they will squeeze everything out of you), cutthroat, sales-focused environment. They don't care about you. They care about the money.

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2020-01-16
  3. "Great start but run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Key in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - pay - customer interaction - co workers - experience

    Cons

    The job started off great. I got the hours I wanted and gained the experience I needed. However, after a while you start to realize how much advantage they are taking. There is no work life balance. I was promoted to a third key however I was still employed like an on call. On my days off, I was called in. My schedule was always changing. I got my schedule a week before sometimes. The managers micro manage like crazy. They expect you to do a million things at the same time. The push for selling is so much more heightened. This is a great starter job. I feel bad for the girls who have been there forever because I know they want more but choose to stay because of the pay and comfort.

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2019-12-18
  4. "Glorified sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Toronto, ON

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    60% off Gratis Pay isn’t bad for retail

    Cons

    Aggressive sales goals Poor work life balance

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2019-10-12
  5. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist, Assistant Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    I worked at MAC for many years as an artist and in management. I always felt a great deal of support from my managers in my growth and development. The seasonal trainings we received were amazing. I made many friends and awesome memories!

    Cons

    Poor work life balance. This is the main reason I ended up leaving. Ended up feeling like a glorified retail job. Often had to give up personal life events for work.

    MAC Cosmetics2019-07-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Retail Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Makeup Artist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people you work with, the Gratis, Developing your skills as an artist

    Cons

    No work/ life balance, working varied shifts, no room to move up unless you want to just be a store manager.

    MAC Cosmetics2018-12-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MAC can be a fun company to work for if you're a makeup lover. Pay is a little bit higher than its competitors in the Makeup Retail Industry and there's always an opportunity to network and meet different people. As permanent artist both part time and full time, you get gifts and perks --lots of free makeup (gratis) from the company, as well as a %60 discount on product purchase. Keep in mind that perks are different from benefits. On calls get %30 discount and are not eligible to perks which is quite unfair.

    Cons

    - Over the last few years Makeup Artists are only hired for part time positions and only managers get full time which means both on calls and part time (contract/permanent) employees don't get benefits of any sort. -Even though you're only hired as part time (less than 30 hours) they will make you work full time with no benefits. - Full time employees get more bonuses/rewards than part time. - Rewards are not performance based. It sucks for on call and part time artists because you can be the hardest worker and top seller in the store and yet you get little to no bonus. Managers who slack around and stay on their phones all day benefit from your hard work. - You don't have control over your schedule. Also management will always get preference on sales, shifts, vacations and even gratis. -No work life balance, having to work every weekend your job becomes your life. Don't work here if you have a family. Your children will suffer because of your absence. Also going home past their bedtime means you won't be able to help them with homework.

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2018-11-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Retail Makeup Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    They pay decently The only thing enjoyable about my job was the girls I worked with but then we started getting picked off

    Cons

    No work life balance No appreciation, no recognition NO inclusion its all fake

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2018-11-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Makeup Artist 

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay and the lax environment were pretty cool. The training was nice and in-depth also.

    Cons

    There is no work life balance in terms of holidays and weekends because the company thrives off of them. If you are religious and need a designated weekend day to have off consistently its hard. There is A LOT of favouritism and politics. I also found it to be a very catty and superficial environment. You were always expected to be cake faced to be considered up to par.

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2017-06-17
  10. Helpful (3)

    "RUN DON'T WALK AWAY..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time

    Pros

    Culture - They live and breath the dream of all ages. all races. all sexes credo and its inspiring. The women wear full faces to work and expirement creatively with their looks. Magnitude of Projects Travel Global Office in New York Products Wearing Black everyday

    Cons

    People. Everyone has worked there for 800 years and there is no issue with loyalty but they are not looking to do anything new and there is an air of absolute an utter dis function. They all pretend to like each other and get on but its clear that everyone tolerates each other and who wants to work in an environment like that? Archaic fear based management model. No area to move up. Work Life Balance is out of wack. Micromanagement of every movement is a buzz kill. This was my experience at the Toronto head office.

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2017-05-19
Found 168 reviews