MAC Cosmetics Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MAC Cosmetics Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
MAC Cosmetics CEO John Demsey
John Demsey
536 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "MAC is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, gratis products, training

    Cons

    Work life balance is not great

    MAC Cosmetics2020-01-20
  2. "Great start but run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Key in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - pay - customer interaction - co workers - experience

    Cons

    The job started off great. I got the hours I wanted and gained the experience I needed. However, after a while you start to realize how much advantage they are taking. There is no work life balance. I was promoted to a third key however I was still employed like an on call. On my days off, I was called in. My schedule was always changing. I got my schedule a week before sometimes. The managers micro manage like crazy. They expect you to do a million things at the same time. The push for selling is so much more heightened. This is a great starter job. I feel bad for the girls who have been there forever because I know they want more but choose to stay because of the pay and comfort.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You trained us, so believe we know how to do our job. Limit micromanaging. We are doing our best already, how much more can we do? Don't make us do the work you are meant to be doing.

    MAC Cosmetics2019-12-18
  3. "good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - good wage - they provide sales training for their associates - overall there is good people working at the company - positive environment

    Cons

    - there can be favouritism - hard to request days off

    MAC Cosmetics2019-11-22
  4. "Honestly one of my favourite jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get 60% off products

    Cons

    Sales goals can be stressful

    Advice to Management

    Maybe a little bit more of communication

    MAC Cosmetics2019-10-05
  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool fun nice place work

    Cons

    Cool fun no bad words

    MAC Cosmetics2019-09-29
  6. "Glorified sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Toronto, ON

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    60% off Gratis Pay isn’t bad for retail

    Cons

    Aggressive sales goals Poor work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic with sales goals

    MAC Cosmetics2019-10-12
  7. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - MAC Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are fantastic to employees! want you to learn and grow!! they have great training and advancement opportunities within the company!! and great discount

    Cons

    so hard to get a fulltime job with them (basically only management) and the hours they hire into often suck. Weekly - on-call /10hr/15hr/20hr etc. no one can make a living on this job alone and saturdays are often mandatory!

    MAC Cosmetics2019-09-26
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High wage Lots of training Fun atmosphere Lovely employees

    Cons

    No room for growth Aggressive sales targets for in store when conusmerism is highly focused on online

    MAC Cosmetics2019-08-21
  9. "Good company, good paid, one week end per month"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, dentist, Masso

    Cons

    The hours, working during holidays, one week end per month

    MAC Cosmetics2019-08-28
  10. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist, Assistant Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    I worked at MAC for many years as an artist and in management. I always felt a great deal of support from my managers in my growth and development. The seasonal trainings we received were amazing. I made many friends and awesome memories!

    Cons

    Poor work life balance. This is the main reason I ended up leaving. Ended up feeling like a glorified retail job. Often had to give up personal life events for work.

    MAC Cosmetics2019-07-28
Found 1385 reviews