MAC Cosmetics Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MAC Cosmetics Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
MAC Cosmetics CEO John Demsey
John Demsey
530 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Needs to have a better work-life balance(in 159 reviews)

  • "Sales goals can be a bit high even though less people are shopping at the brand so be prepared to hustle(in 108 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "On Call Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Call Makeup Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, friendly environment, always something new to learn

    Cons

    Last minute on call shifts, some late evenings

    Advice to Management

    Nothing yet, so far you’re doing great!

    MAC Cosmetics2018-07-26
  2. "Honestly one of my favourite jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get 60% off products

    Cons

    Sales goals can be stressful

    Advice to Management

    Maybe a little bit more of communication

    MAC Cosmetics2019-10-05
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool fun nice place work

    Cons

    Cool fun no bad words

    MAC Cosmetics2019-09-29
  4. "Glorified sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Toronto, ON

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    60% off Gratis Pay isn’t bad for retail

    Cons

    Aggressive sales goals Poor work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic with sales goals

    MAC Cosmetics2019-10-12
  5. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - MAC Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are fantastic to employees! want you to learn and grow!! they have great training and advancement opportunities within the company!! and great discount

    Cons

    so hard to get a fulltime job with them (basically only management) and the hours they hire into often suck. Weekly - on-call /10hr/15hr/20hr etc. no one can make a living on this job alone and saturdays are often mandatory!

    MAC Cosmetics2019-09-26
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High wage Lots of training Fun atmosphere Lovely employees

    Cons

    No room for growth Aggressive sales targets for in store when conusmerism is highly focused on online

    MAC Cosmetics2019-08-21
  7. "Good company, good paid, one week end per month"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, dentist, Masso

    Cons

    The hours, working during holidays, one week end per month

    MAC Cosmetics2019-08-28
  8. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist, Assistant Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    I worked at MAC for many years as an artist and in management. I always felt a great deal of support from my managers in my growth and development. The seasonal trainings we received were amazing. I made many friends and awesome memories!

    Cons

    Poor work life balance. This is the main reason I ended up leaving. Ended up feeling like a glorified retail job. Often had to give up personal life events for work.

    MAC Cosmetics2019-07-28
  9. "Good for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities to meet people and get discounts

    Cons

    Low pay, retail, on your feet for hours

    Advice to Management

    None

    MAC Cosmetics2019-07-27
  10. "Mac manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Vaughan, ON

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pretty Flexible, good discount, good experience

    Cons

    Busy with little staff at times

    MAC Cosmetics2019-07-05
Found 1353 reviews