Lush Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Lush Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Lush CEO Mark Constantine
Mark Constantine
289 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes they are a bit pushy with how they want you to treat customers(in 31 reviews)

  • "Managers and supervisors try to be supportive but do gossip about you to other members of staff(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "8 years n counting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Charity Star 

    I have been working at Lush full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Growth, good perks, teamwork, transparency

    Cons

    Now hard to get hired full time, need to be exceptional or Lucky

    Lush2019-10-15
  2. "disrespectful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lush full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nothing really there are "some" nice staff... the rest are rudeee

    Cons

    favourites, rude, neglecting, lack of sympathy

    Advice to Management

    its my second season here and they been treating me pretty much like piece of scrap .someone needs to investigate 50 jutland i have been mistreated and been told " i dont care that you have another job" after i requested to change my schedule for lush. really rude, whenever i make complaints they sweep it under the rug. i know someone who has been working there seasonal for almost 8 years and they still didnt get... hired... the staff only hires their family members. and i got proof

    Show More
    Lush2019-10-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Unique and fun but relentless sales ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Consistently hiring amazing, talented people from diverse backgrounds and experiences. - Very fun and outgoing with a nurturing atmosphere, any one is welcome! - Great place for young people to learn people skills and gain confidence (mainly because you don't have a choice but to be confident) - Massive discount (maybe this has changed?) - Opportunity to get involved with charities/volunteering

    Cons

    - The focus on sales is absolutely relentless. This is what exhausted me the most. Managers don't take into account people's needs or respect the customer's boundaries. The "sales script" is chilling. - This isn't just a job, you have to LIVE it and BE it every single day. I found it to be a little "cult" like in the end and if you don't believe in every single campaign and "drink the kool aid" it can feel a bit... isolating. - If you're an introvert or someone who is a bit shy you will find this company a challenge as they really play to the loud and proud personality style (at least in the North American market) which after three years working there had a negative effect on my mental wellbeing. - Expected to do in store foot treatments on strangers for minimum wage

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Chill out with the relentless drive for sales...no one likes pushy sales associates and its bad for morale. If you are going to enforce a complex sales script and expect sales associates to do facials and foot treatments, you need to increase hourly wage.

    Lush2019-09-09
  4. "Deceptive company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush

    Pros

    Good discount, free coffee, etc

    Cons

    - i didn’t get pay for my overtime because they cut your paycheck day short just before your overtime .. -Favouritism seem to be a big thing here -they hire a lot of seasonal people to save money so they don’t have to give people a lot of overtime to save money - is overrated .. not sure why they say it’s one of the best employers to work for - they are not as organized.. I remember they over hired and a lot of... people had to go home early .. or work I’m different departments.. - I went to another interview this year, and they didn’t seem to give me credit for coming back .. and seemed like they prefer someone new ..

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just be more honest and get more organized ....

    Lush2019-09-13
  5. "Christmas seasonal employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Accepting Staff - Good hours - Great discount

    Cons

    - Floor leaders would direct you to constantly return to a customer even if they repeatedly let us know they did not want help. I felt very uncomfortable with this as I would not like being badgered by an employee.

    Lush2019-08-06
  6. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open, caring, respectful, honest, understanding, generous.

    Cons

    Got very busy & a bit confusing during the holiday season

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing amazing!!!

    Lush2019-07-21
  7. "Very good environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Ambassador in St. John's, NL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything is a perfect here. Good work environment, good management

    Cons

    Nothing that I am aware of.

    Lush2019-07-18
  8. "Resourceful, Solutions-Focused Leader | Operations & Technology | Willing to relocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of IT in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Lush full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product and Lush does good for the world

    Cons

    Turnover throughout the business plays a toll on the employees

    Lush2019-07-17
  9. "Amazing work environment with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of support and encouragement to grow!

    Cons

    no cons whatsoever, this is an amazing company!

    Lush2019-07-13
  10. "great to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lush full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    relaxing environment , smell very good after working there

    Cons

    doing the same thing every day

    Lush2019-07-11
Found 572 reviews
</>Embed