LoyaltyOne Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 374 reviews

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
LoyaltyOne Interim CEO Charles Horn (no image)
Charles Horn
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance and most teams are flexible with remote work(in 43 reviews)

  • "Some great people below leadership(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Awaiting on a buyer for AIR MILES(in 16 reviews)

  • "Uncertainty in future of the business as it is widely suspected that the US parent company is looking to sell LoyaltyOne(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome place to work!

      Dec 18, 2019 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, environment, work life balance, benefits, subsidized lunch, snacks, vacation allowance and location!! It really is a great place to work.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jan 13, 2021 - Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture and great people

      Cons

      Sometimes slow to execute projects

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people, inauthentic culture

      Oct 10, 2020 - Senior Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, good office space, interesting work, autonomy

      Cons

      Surface level perks with an inauthentic culture where it matters - creates a stressful day to day experience.

      10 people found this review helpful

      LoyaltyOne Response

      VP, Talent and Workplace Experience

      Thank you for providing your feedback. AIR MILES has passionate, hardworking and innovative people who drive our vision forward. We are proud of our downtown office and invested a lot of time and thought in order to make it a space where our Associates can feel comfortable and inspired. To help our Associates feel a similar comfort in their work from home routines due to the current pandemic, we have offered a Home Office Subsidy to purchase items to help them settle into their new workspaces. I’m disappointed to hear you feel our culture is inauthentic and it surprises me because one of our core values is authenticity. I regularly see Associates and Leaders demonstrating this value and it is one of the things that I love most about working at AIR MILES. Furthermore, we aim to provide a culture of recognition, celebrations and growth/development, all of which are deeply integrated into our programs and processes. Our weekly video updates from our AIR MILES President, frequent prize giveaways and at home concerts have also helped us bring our culture to life while we work remotely. Again, I appreciate you leaving a review and wish you all the best in your career. Dimitri Benak VP, People and Culture

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lack of leadership

      Jun 30, 2020 - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some great people below leadership

      Cons

      Dated executives, no vision, president is a goof ball and his leadership team are bullies. Especially the marketing team. Client service no longer has any leadership since they made changes last year.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      LoyaltyOne Response

      VP, Talent and Workplace Experience

      Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. I agree, we have great people at AIR MILES! Leadership development is important to us and we consistently invest in ongoing training and development for all of our associates and leaders. We have also implemented a Leadership Performance Objective this year to give us insight and measure the areas in which we aim to focus attention on for continued growth and development of our leaders. The comments you made around bullying are concerning as we have a zero tolerance policy as it relates to bullying or harassment of any kind. We have several ways for associates to report any conduct that they feel is unwelcome so that it can be appropriately addressed. Over the past few years we have been more intentional about not only communicating our vision, but giving our associates the opportunity to shape it. That’s one of the reasons we have a robust annual planning process that all associates are invited to participate in – giving everyone an opportunity to share valuable insights and recommendations to help bring our vision of becoming Canada’s Favourite Loyalty Program to life. Thanks again for leaving a review. I wish you all the best in your career. Dimitri Benak VP, Talent and Workplace

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      False. Beware.

      Feb 13, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Great building. Great benefits.

      Cons

      Up for sale. LoyaltyOne has been dissolved and they are selling up. Precima has been sold. Awaiting on a buyer for AIR MILES. Recent posts on social media about an avid “collector” who submitted a cartoon about a recent promotion. That “collector” is actually a marketing exec who’s followers have tripled since the post and is now monetizing from the repost. Embarrassing lack of leadership. Embarrassing lack of truth towards the public. Just let it go

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Intern

      Great culture

      Nov 22, 2019 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people at the company

      Cons

      Downsizing at the company unfortunately

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people

      Jun 28, 2019 - Financial Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with. Motivated professionals

      Cons

      Work life balance is not great. 12+ hour days are common.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Unethical HR Dept/Smoke and Mirrors

      Jun 20, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Beautiful new offices with amenities galore, patios, staff cafeteria, barista bar -Overall good culture, some great people across the business

      Cons

      The department that should be the most ethical, setting an example for the rest of the company, is by far the least. The leadership of Human Resources is seemingly immune to any recourse for the turmoil and constant turnover in their group. Everyone unfortunate enough to roll up under this regime (even indirectly or several levels removed) can look forward to being treated with suspicion, scrutiny, and mistrust, unless you happen to be one of the chosen ones. Favouritism and special treatment are rampant. Ethics complaints swiftly swept under the rug. Constant turnover (except at the top, of course) results in scope creep for those who manage to stay on because the leadership likes to experiment with not backfilling roles in order to appear leaner and "do more with less". No advancement for subject matter experts with years of experience and significant accomplishments if you don't fit in with their warped, cult-like ideals. They'd sooner have the tenured people out anyways, so that they can bring in cheaper talent or one of their cronies from another shop. Criticism (constructive or otherwise) is instantly crushed. Need proof? Just watch for the one or two extremely positive reviews that will immediately follow this one. The HR team are regularly astroturfing these reviews by soliciting individuals from around the business, or just writing them themselves. They are obsessed with image, perception and survey results. The beautiful new office that all of the reviews rave about is the ultimate monument to this. It is merely an illusion, a tool that they can use to seduce new talent and submit pictures of to win "best employer" awards. On a whole, the HR philosophy is to value the talent that they don't have yet, over the talent that they do have. Everyone is replaceable, and the next best hire is always just around the corner. Once they've got you, that's it. Development and advancement are a carrot on a stick. Things may be just peachy elsewhere in the business, but if you are an HR or Workplace professional, stay far, far away.

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Was Great

      Oct 4, 2018 - Technical Consultant in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of great people - Work/Life Balance - Subsidized Lunch

      Cons

      - Management, was fine until the CTO "quit" - No career growth here - Prefers contractors over full timers - Lots of politics - Very high turn-over rate

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Highly political environment. This company doesn't walk the walk.

      Mar 23, 2015 - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are more learning opportunities at this company than many other companies. There is also an in-house gym, subsidized cafeteria, bi-annual town halls with the whole company and lots of paid lunches. There are great people who work at this company. If you have the good fortune of working with them this can mean a real difference.

      Cons

      This company supports a "Mean Girls" culture. If you don't create the important strategic relationships required you'll find yourself hitting a glass ceiling within 3-5 years of working here. This company is highly political with only a handful of leaders that control most of the career movement within the company. This results in promotion based on favoritism as opposed to skill and ability. Most frustrating is that this company talks a good game about professional development but when it comes down to it, the leaders do not stand by their word. As a result, this company is quickly losing market share and suffering from lack of innovation. Tired ideas win out here and no outside opinions are welcomed.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

    Popular Careers with LoyaltyOne Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at LoyaltyOne? Share Your Experiences

    LoyaltyOne logo
    or