Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores General Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 of over 1,337 reviews

4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Founder and Executive Chairman  Tom Love
Tom Love
84 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Love's

    Jul 27, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love's takes care of it's hourly team members, always looking to do what's right for them. They paid out bonuses as well as gave raises to all team members that stayed working throughout the pandemic. They paid both hourly and salary employees to stay home for 2 weeks if they tested positive for Covid. The work can be demanding but when you have a great team it's easy to take care of business. Work life balance depends on your ability to get and stay staffed and whether you have a District Manager that cares. District level management allows store level management to make calls on rate of pay when hiring as well as disciplinary actions that are needed. Good benefits package, including benefits provided for part time team members.

    Cons

    Love's changed it's profit sharing structure effectively giving me a minimum of a $12 k per year pay cut and there was nothing I could do about it without walking away from $100K in pending profit sharing that vests at different percentages in periods of 3 years through 7 years. Over the next few years I will make approximately $50k less than when I started this career path. Difference of paying off a mortgage vs maybe being close to paying off a mortgage. Not sure I will stay once I get to the 7 year mark unless there is a re-alignment of salary. On this note for GM's the change in profit sharing ranges from $1200-$25,000 per year with no adjustment in salary. The GM's that are taking the hit in pay are running the most profitable locations. Love's is currently hiring assistant managers and Operations Managers(OM's) in at higher salaries than their General Managers, albeit due to no longer including them in the profit sharing program. Personally I have an OM that was grandfathered into the profit sharing program that makes approximately $5k more per year than I do, nothing against the OM as he is knowledgeable and does plenty of work. It's from the standpoint that the GM should be the highest paid person in the building. It's a de-motivating factor to take a $12k pay cut and have subordinates that make more than you do.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company

    May 19, 2021 - General Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started working at Loves as a Cashier and was able to quickly work my way through the ranks and ended my career as a General Manager. The promotion system is fair and if anyone wants a challenge this is the place to work. The days can be long and very demanding. There is never a dull moment in the travel stops. They have a really good training and development program.

    Cons

    Finding a good balance between life and work was very difficult especially in the last 2 years for me and it was especially difficult during the pandemic. The company continued to insist we maintain pre-COVID level standards and continued to add more to our responsibilities to everyone's already demanding days. The company also has a mystery shop program where 1 shopper decides the fate of your location.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Love's Travel Stop

    Jun 2, 2021 - RGM (Restaurant General Manager) in Dumas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loves that we can advance with in our company. Everyone here helps with all the training you need if you want to move up. The Love's family is the best, they really care for their people.

    Cons

    Not having ceiling fans here at 626 in the restaurant. It is getting hotter since the weather is getting warmer. With the chicken fryer's it is super hot.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Facts

    May 10, 2021 - RGM (Restaurant General Manager) in Milan, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You take care of the customers we take care of you. True statement.

    Cons

    Getting all Managers to work as a team, if you don't have this it makes the job overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place to Work

    Jun 2, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have a great crew at my store. The Love's family treats their people well.

    Cons

    We had a former EVP who treated people like garbage, but he has since retired.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Company treat everyone like family

    Jun 2, 2021 - General Manager in Donna, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great family atmosphere, great benefits, freedom, diversity

    Cons

    Hourly supervisors pay needs to be increase form at the ASM positions to differ from SL pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Awesome Company

    Jun 2, 2021 - General Manager in Mims, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity for advancement and Love's takes care of it's employees.

    Cons

    Work schedules can be difficult for Operations managers with families, but worth the sacrifice in the long run.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Best company

    May 12, 2021 - RGM (Restaurant General Manager) in Davenport, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has competitive wages higher than most fast food, great benefits, paid vacation 1st one paid after 6 months no company I have ever worked for in 33 years has ever offered that. Expectations are high due to the fact they strive to be the best

    Cons

    Every job has it's good and bad, but really can't say a lot of bad.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great career opportunities no degree required! Earn While you learn

    May 7, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Benefits 6-Month earn week of vacation Bonus Programs for all associates Life changing Love Shares Program for management Great apprentice program earn while you learn.

    Cons

    Start wages for hourly and management should be higher. Annual increases or COL increases for managers seem to be ignored or forgotten.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Reality of working for Loves

    May 13, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is family owned and it shows. This is one of the biggest reasons I have stayed with them for as long as I have (going on year 7). They treat us like family and they give me the tools as a manager to treat my team like they are my family. My team wouldn't sugar coat it, we are a mildly dysfunctional family sometimes but we stick together, I believe most of them would agree. The business is solid. We are absolutely an essential business. During the worst of COVID we stayed strong and actually grew because we were able to hire when many other business were laying off. The owner, Tom Love says "We were built for this" and he was right. They are not afraid to pay well for talent. Very well. Another reason I have stayed.

    Cons

    This gig is not for everyone. It is as demanding as it is rewarding. The hours are long, and the expectations are high. That never really lets up. You will see the best and worst of humanity, not kidding. The company is growing fast and sometimes they lose sight of their trajectory, good people don't always stick around to weather this. They at least do a good job of recognizing this however and are honest about addressing it. The money is good but if you jump into this for just that you won't last long. You have to be ready to be challenged like you never have been and that has to excite you, maybe even scare you a little to keep you motivated. If that thought makes you cringe, stop reading now and look at something else.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 104 Reviews

Popular Careers with Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores? Share Your Experiences

Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores logo
or