Los Angeles "downtown" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Los Angeles Employee Reviews about "downtown"

Updated Oct 14, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti
Eric Garcetti
90 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not everything is gona be full time(in 9 reviews)

  • "downtown los angeles traffic is terrible(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "downtown"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Los Angeles for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, co-workers, pay and growth opportunity

    Cons

    commute to downtown Los Angeles and parking

    Los Angeles2017-10-15
  2. "Student opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Los Angeles part-time

    Pros

    Easy to work with and flexible with college students

    Cons

    downtown los angeles traffic is terrible

    Los Angeles2017-02-24
  3. "Great place to work at as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Los Angeles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very laid back atmosphere. Every co-worker I met was older, kinder, knowledgeable, and patient. My superiors were very professional about their job and what needed to be done. - Meetings were done bi-weekly in my department, which was nice. - This doesn't apply to me as a student, but there were lots of benefits. I was qualified for a pension plan, which was nice. - Scheduling was convenient and I was... able to balance work/school quite well.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Salary is on the lower end at the cost of more-rounded benefits. - Location may not be great, as it is on the outskirts of downtown L.A. - The laid back atmosphere also means that work tends to be slow, and not so productive and challenging. This may be a pro to some, and a con to others.

    Los Angeles2016-07-17
  4. "City of Los Angeles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles

    Pros

    City Hall is an amazing place to work and everyone is hard working, friendly, and committed to what they do. The building architecture is a thing of beauty.

    Cons

    The job required some early morning, evening and weekend work, and hours could be irregular at times. The commute downtown was also long.

    Los Angeles2016-07-14
  5. "Working for the man... is good when it's a good man. ;)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Los Angeles

    Pros

    Great government / civil organization. Structure of organization is great. If you have a great supervisor, you'll be part of great team. My department (which was the purchasing department was well run with lots of great mentors).

    Cons

    Parking in downtown is very costly. If you have a negative or disgruntled supervisor, your looking at a difficult and challenging work space.

    Los Angeles2016-04-21
  6. "Senior Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles

    Pros

    City of Los Angeles is a great place to work. It offers security and opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Only locations are in Downtown LA, LAX, or San Pedro

    Los Angeles2015-07-06
  7. "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Los Angeles

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and people; excellent learning experience

    Cons

    Parking is not easily accessed in Downtown LA.

    Advice to Management

    better computers for interns

    Los Angeles2010-09-30
Found 7 reviews