Los Angeles USD Special Education Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Los Angeles USD Special Education Teacher Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
60%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Los Angeles USD Superintendent Austin Beutner (no image)
Austin Beutner
2 Ratings
  1. "New Sp Ed Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher 

    I worked at Los Angeles USD full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The district has a lot of resources

    Cons

    Some individual school site can lack support

    Los Angeles USD2020-03-26
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher Assistant 

    I worked at Los Angeles USD part-time

    Pros

    I felt appreciated immediately from when I started working there.

    Cons

    The application process was a tad long.

    Los Angeles USD2020-02-13
  3. "Well paid for the area but dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles USD full-time

    Pros

    Higher pay than a lot of districts

    Cons

    Very dysfunctional with extreme disparities in support and quality

    Los Angeles USD2019-08-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I love teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Preschool Special Education Teacher 

    I have been working at Los Angeles USD full-time

    Pros

    There's room for growth if you attend professional development classes or workshops. The division of Early Childhood Special Education is very helpful and supportive in making sure that the preschool special Ed teachers have the tools and knowledge they need to perform their jobs. I love the 2-month summer vacation and other school breaks.

    Cons

    Sometimes, it's difficult dealing with the parents in inner city schools. There's also a ton of paperwork involved in special education. The crazy months are from February to May, with year-end and transition IEPs.

    Los Angeles USD2019-06-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The kids are Great! It’s the adults you have to watch out for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles USD full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The kids are the best part of the job.

    Cons

    Administration telling you what to do when they have not been in a classroom for more than 5 years themselves or have been out of the classroom for more than 5 years

    Continue reading
    Los Angeles USD2019-07-07
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Extremely Stressful Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Los Angeles USD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you receive tenure, you can have a job for life.

    Cons

    Watch your step, as there is always someone anxious to take you down.

    Continue reading
    Los Angeles USD2019-02-23
  7. "Great people, but stressful work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Los Angeles USD full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    stable salary, great benefits, kind coworkers and administrators

    Cons

    Anisolated and high-stress work environment

    Los Angeles USD2018-12-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Greedy board little resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher, Elementary School 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles USD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Local district can ve supportive if you seek out the right people. The kids are amazing. Coworkers were great.

    Cons

    Severe lack of resources. Paperwork more than teaching the kids. Principals come from the offices and value policy and red tape rather than thinking about the kids and building relationships with them.

    Continue reading
    Los Angeles USD2018-06-29
  9. "Special Education Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles USD full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large district, good benefits, competitive salary, opputunities to advance, maybe paid-optional trainings, up to 15% salary increase with National Board certification.

    Cons

    Run down facilities. For general education teachers: no aides, large class size.

    Continue reading
    Los Angeles USD2018-04-30
  10. "Special Education Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles USD full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Unparalleled benefits package, and decent pay.

    Cons

    School culture hit and miss, depending on where you are assigned. Could be incredibly toxic, or a great experience; it's a crap shoot!

    Continue reading
    Los Angeles USD2018-02-21
Found 22 reviews