Los Angeles Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Los Angeles Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti
Eric Garcetti
79 Ratings
  1. "Job in LA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Corporate Travel Consultant 

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time

    Pros

    The expenses are too high

    Cons

    Traffic is so bad and travel time is too much

    Los Angeles2020-01-21
  2. "Limited opportunities for some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy City Attorney 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized, streamlined, well coordinated, and efficient

    Cons

    Little to no great opportunities for Black attorneys. Black people are rarely hired as attorneys and if so given weak assignments. Subtle prejudice exists.

    Los Angeles2020-01-07
  3. "Fascinating but Fractured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Planner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge work. High impact. Exposure to many communities. Excellent and driven coworkers.

    Cons

    Can be siloed from other Departments and other work units within the Department. Can feel distant from communities served.

    Los Angeles2019-12-27
  4. "Field Deputy Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Council Aide III in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great way to network and learn about city government.

    Cons

    Long hours, no negotiable pension/retirement contributions. No mileage or reimbursement for use of personal car for work.

    Advice to Management

    Explain salaries more and benefits.

    Los Angeles2019-12-19
  5. "Steady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Management Assistant 

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time

    Pros

    Government work, lots of room for growth

    Cons

    Can be slow paced, experiences vary depending on department

    Los Angeles2019-12-10
  6. "Low pay, no appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Los Angeles full-time

    Pros

    Got to meet people from different backgrounds

    Cons

    The fact that some supervisors don’t event have a college degree and hold management level positions is concerning.

    Los Angeles2019-12-03
  7. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Communications Director in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The City is a great place to work.

    Cons

    I wish the pay were higher

    Los Angeles2019-11-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Room for advancement, great benefits

    Cons

    Can be frustrating, some long hours

    Los Angeles2019-11-20
  9. "Good starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Ocean Lifeguard 

    I have been working at Los Angeles part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, experience, advancement opportunity

    Cons

    Poorly Run Academy, Union defends morons, Equally moronic rules are put in place because of Union defended morons

    Los Angeles2019-11-07
  10. "Good experience to be in City of Los Angeles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supervisors are supportive; You could learn a lot from it

    Cons

    8:30am is kind of early to commute there

    Los Angeles2019-10-09
Found 259 reviews