Los Angeles Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Los Angeles Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 243 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Los Angeles CEO Eric Garcetti
Eric Garcetti
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Difficult to transition to full-time employment as intern(in 8 reviews)

  • "downtown los angeles traffic is terrible(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good and stable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Clerk 

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time

    Pros

    Easy work. Fair pay and good benifets

    Cons

    Advancement can be tedious, must always be on the look out for qualifying positions.

    Los Angeles2019-07-17
  2. "Great place to work as an Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Intern II 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Los Angeles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with hours and really try to get you into the path you want to go

    Cons

    limited amount of hours you can do per year

    Los Angeles2019-07-16
  3. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recreation Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities, benefits, and flexibility.

    Cons

    There is much Bureaucracy.

    Los Angeles2019-07-12
  4. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Librarian in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you're at Central Library, as I am, there are full-time LAPL Security Officers, as well as LAPD Officers who come through as part of their beat. The work can be difficult, depending on the Subject Department. Central Library is located near several MTA Stations and you can get a parking permit if needed for a minimal price.

    Cons

    Patrons can be tiresome, at times hazardous, as many of their needs have nothing to do with Reference.

    Advice to Management

    ?

    Los Angeles2019-06-26
  5. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work for. great salary.great benefits and schedule

    Cons

    none at all , great place

    Los Angeles2019-06-17
  6. "The job you want if you want to start a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, great schedule options (5/40, 9/80, 4/10, etc.), and most supervisors are great people who understand that life comes first.

    Cons

    Your work environment is completely dependent on the department you work for. Some are relaxed, some are always busy, others can be horrifically disorganized. You never know unless you network.

    Los Angeles2019-07-02
  7. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst 

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time

    Pros

    Good relax enjoy work balance

    Cons

    Not I know, nothing bad

    Los Angeles2019-06-06
  8. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Clerk in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Endless options, many locations around LA to seek employment, cost of living and step increases, meaningful work. Great benefits and job security too.

    Cons

    Depending on your department, overtime may not be available, you're slow to accrue vacation at first,

    Los Angeles2019-05-16
  9. "GSD/LAPD Security services dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Safety Officer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Public safety with excellent benifts

    Cons

    Merged with LAPD in 2012

    Advice to Management

    Maintain an open line of communication with employees

    Los Angeles2019-05-24
  10. "Rec assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Recreation Assistant 

      I worked at Los Angeles part-time

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule Great for students

      Cons

      Max 20hr work week

      Los Angeles2019-05-10
    Found 243 reviews