Los Angeles Department of Transportation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Los Angeles Department of Transportation Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Los Angeles Department of Transportation General Manager Jaime de la Vega (no image)
Jaime de la Vega
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Support Worker III in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Los Angeles Department of Transportation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You gain a lot experience transportation engineering and you've have the ability to expand your network. If you are interested in transportation engineering industry, consider applying for this agency.

    Cons

    Slow hiring process to get a promotion.

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2020-01-08
  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Student Worker 

    I worked at Los Angeles Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Friendly and helpful colleagues, opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Compensation less as compared to other companies

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2019-10-24
  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - spw 

    I worked at Los Angeles Department of Transportation for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice boss, nice group of people

    Cons

    A lot of reading, dull office enviroment

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2019-02-14
  4. "City Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles Department of Transportation part-time

    Pros

    Excellent experience to learn with an opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    Internal politics can be frustrating.

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2019-01-08
  5. "SPW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles Department of Transportation part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, friendly working environment

    Cons

    It can be slow at times

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2018-08-13
  6. "Procurement Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Procurement Clerk in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Los Angeles Department of Transportation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Retirement Benefit are good for seniors

    Cons

    The commute is to much

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2017-09-05
  7. "Has good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Los Angeles Department of Transportation

    Pros

    ATSAC has some of nice people I have met. They are courteous and intelligent. They are very understanding and do a good job of teaching engineering concepts. I feel like I learn a lot.

    Cons

    Due to the nature of the work rushed projects can come in.

    Advice to Management

    Be specific about want you want in projects. It can reduce mistakes and make work more efficient.

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2017-04-16
  8. "GIS Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - GIS Intern in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Los Angeles Department of Transportation for less than a year

    Pros

    Every Intern has his or her own personal project to work with, which is great.

    Cons

    some assignments are repetitive work.

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2016-07-30
  9. "Student Professional Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Freedom to work on projects you enjoy and to focus on skill set you want to improve. Flexibility is schedule since they understand you are student and might not necessarily be able to maintain a steady and predictable schedule

    Cons

    Supervisor is super busy so can be difficult to provide updates or get feedback on work. Might get projects dropped on you with sudden deadlines to meet political timeline.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees, don't depend on students to do work that really should be done by full time employees because as soon as the students graduate some things have to start all over or nobody bothers to carry the project over when person spearheading it leaves.

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2016-05-19
  10. "LADOT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Student Professional Worker in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Los Angeles Department of Transportation for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff, flexible with school

    Cons

    Not much engineering work to promote to.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Los Angeles Department of Transportation2016-04-22
Found 18 reviews