Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Enjoyed working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Volunteer Deputy 
    Recommends

    I worked at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty much everyone I worked with there was personable, appreciative, helpful and knew their jobs well. I was not there full-time, and I'm sure there would be more to mention here if I were. It was my first experience working for government, and I didn't expect much, so I was pleasantly surprised. I think of my coworkers there often.

    Cons

    No coffee or other in-house niceties.

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2019-03-29
  2. "Lazy permanent employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Clerk in Norwalk, CA

    I worked at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk for more than a year

    Pros

    Met good people. Have room for advancement.

    Cons

    Employees whose been there a long time are lazy and complain about everything. They do socialize a lot and do the least amount of work.

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2017-10-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk full-time

    Pros

    County employee with good benefits

    Cons

    Very unorganized for such a big county

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2017-09-16
  4. "Register Recorder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Norwalk, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, good people, opportunity, location,making a difference

    Cons

    No days off, more breaks to stretch, work more as a ream

    Advice to Management

    Weekends free or optional

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2017-09-18
  5. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Downey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment of people that gets the job done. Work is management and room for upward mobility given the appropriate effort

    Cons

    Clerical work can become monotonous and repetitive but overall not much to complain about. Lots of opportunities for extra hours as well

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2017-08-31
  6. "Awesome place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk full-time

    Pros

    Busy place to work friendly coworkers

    Cons

    No downsides love working here!

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2017-06-25
  7. "Data Entry Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intermediate Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Experience for short assignment

    Cons

    Temporary assignment. Assisted with Provisional ballots from election 2016

    Advice to Management

    None

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2017-05-18
  8. "Good stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Clerk in Norwalk, CA

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good position to get your foot in the door

    Cons

    You get get laid off from one day to the next

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2017-02-08
  9. "Primary Election Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Recorder/County Clerk in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk for less than a year

    Pros

    As an Inspector I was responsible for the Operation and Implementation of my assigned Polling place as well as directing Clerks before and up to the day of Duty. This also included receiving and taking inventory of all Required Supplies/Inspecting all of them prior to election day (PBR , Ballots, Ballot Boxes and other related items) and if need be acquire replacement supplies/Ballots A great position to... take part in the election process, and assist any and all that need help in voting, and gives a glimpse into what goes on behind the scenes with regards to your Vote.

    Show More

    Cons

    A very Responsibility heavy position, you are the main conduit between the voter and casting a vote;sometimes frustration on both sides of the desk comes to a head, and one has to maintain calm and helpful. Some are not aware of the amount of Trust given to them in this position, it would be very easy to cut corners here, but not flowing the rules is sometimes a Federal offense.

    Advice to Management

    So far so good, the training is good for the position, if anything should one not be able to fulfill their duties give your coordinator a call before election day.

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2016-11-03
  10. "Terrible coordination and no help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inspector in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk

    Pros

    Quick way to earn money in one day working an election

    Cons

    People cancel last minute and leave you doing everything with no help

    Advice to Management

    Have backup clerk's who can fill in for cancellations

    Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder / County Clerk2016-11-17
Found 17 reviews