Los Angeles County Department of Public Health Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Los Angeles County Department of Public Health Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Los Angeles County Department of Public Health Director Barbara Ferrer
Barbara Ferrer
1 Rating
  1. "Intermediate clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health

    Pros

    The coworkers are usually nice

    Cons

    Environment is very Bureaucratic at times

    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2020-01-09
  2. "salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dpeuty Health Officer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great supervisor at santa monica great pay for an entry level position amazing staff

    Cons

    a lot of job meetings divsion within upper level management no way to move up the ladder

    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2019-04-23
  3. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ITC in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is great, alternate work schedule is also very good. Wages aren't too bad.

    Cons

    So far there aren't any.

    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2019-03-14
  4. "Public healt review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, competitive salary.

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic and management top heavy.

    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2017-10-26
  5. "Typist clerk/ data entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk Typist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Helping people that's less fortunate

    Cons

    Can be overwhelming to help so many people on a daily basis

    Continue reading
    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2017-03-19
  6. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health

    Pros

    Great guidance and introduction into the organization

    Cons

    I enjoyed everything about my experience here

    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2016-09-19
  7. "Epidemiologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good place to work and great benefits

    Cons

    very few growth opportunities and career development

    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2016-09-06
  8. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Intern in Canyon Country, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a great time learning a lot about the administrative side of public health. The coworkers were friendly and the work place atmosphere was nice.

    Cons

    The only con is that there wasn't a realistic way to turn your internship into a job. This is because there are required exams prior to being considered for a position.

    Continue reading
    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2016-08-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Information Systems Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Professional Worker, Info Tech in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health

    Pros

    Great flexibility in hours allows you to take time off when needed for school purposes. Coworkers are nice and great resource for learning. Maximum 30 hours a week.

    Cons

    Sometimes lack of cutting edge technology. Will be placed in various areas of IT based on group that interviews you. If you interview for the tech support team, expect to be a phone tech and IT support. If you interview for web development, expect to do web dev and app dev. If you interview for network team, expect to do network support. Maximum 30 hours working a week.

    Continue reading
    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2016-08-04
  10. "Administrative Assistant III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Los Angeles County Department of Public Health full-time

    Pros

    Get to take ownership of your work; can always find new ways to solve old problems; coworkers are very friendly and easy to get along with

    Cons

    Can be hard to implement major changes to improve business processes; need to use incremental change management approach

    Continue reading
    Los Angeles County Department of Public Health2016-07-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews