Long View Systems "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Long View Systems Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Long View Systems CEO Brent Allison (no image)
Brent Allison
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Many great people at this company around North America(in 19 reviews)

  • "work life balance, flexibility, good benefits(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance can always use improvement, but when I am too overwhelmed there is great support internally at Long View(in 19 reviews)

  • "It’s a boys club and promotions and leadership roles are just filled with random guys who have been there forever(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    There is No downsides working here

    Long View Systems2020-03-02

    Long View Systems Response

    March 3, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks so much for stopping by to post this short review on us! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your time with us so far. If there's anything you feel that we can improve on, please don't hesitate to connect with your People Services Advisor or Manager. Thanks for all you do!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Serious about work life balance, career progression, amazing people, team oriented

    Cons

    Silos throughout the business that limit ability to scale successful service delivery internally and externally

    Long View Systems2020-01-10

    Long View Systems Response

    January 12, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your time with us! Our focus on work / life balance and career progression and a team of amazing people is what sets our culture apart from other companies. We would like to hear your ideas on how we can extend our successful service delivery so please speak with your Manager or People Services Manager so that we can learn more . Thanks for all you do for us!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "System Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst 

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance good company to work for

    Cons

    company is only good for starters

    Long View Systems2019-11-12

    Long View Systems Response

    November 12, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi there and thanks for the brief review on the time spent with us so far! We are delighted to hear that you are enjoying the work / life balance that we offer and the other great benefits of working here. We would like to learn more about your comment on Long View being 'only good for starters' as we encourage career growth and offer many opportunities to make that happen. Can you please connect with your People Services Advisor so that you can learn more about how to progress your career at Long View? We are looking forward to hearing from you. Thanks for all you do!

    Continue reading
  4. "A Great Introduction to Corporate IT.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of support from Management and HR. Great schedule with amazing work life balance. Excellent compensation package.

    Cons

    nothing currently comes to mind.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2019-08-28

    Long View Systems Response

    August 28, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so glad that you feel supported and are experiencing the work / life balance that we strive for our employees to have! If you have any further feedback or suggestions for us, please connect with your Manager or People Services Advisor. Thanks for all you do for us!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Try to change, but execution is poor at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company Christmas party Other colleagues are great to work with

    Cons

    Work/life balance is basically non-existent even though leadership attempts to preach it. They talk about getting free training every quarter, but either you don't have time for it because of your crappy work-life balance, or it never gets approved - even though it is marked as an expense to calculate your bonus. Inconsistent messaging around incentives and how they are figured out. Some support teams are well off in relation to coverage, while others are barely surviving. Management put all the "cookies" into a single individual for a single client and then expect you to do everything and then some. The idea of going to a centralized service model is mind-boggling considering clients were complaining about the delivery of those services. Salaries are sub par based on current markets

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2019-02-28

    Long View Systems Response

    March 4, 2019Recruitment Communications Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for spending 8 years with us and for all you did while you were here. We wished we were reading a more positive review of your experience and also that we could have had a chance to address and rectify your concerns while you were still a part of our team. Will you please call our SVP of People Services at 403-515-6900 so you and she can have a conversation about this? We strive for an exceptional employee experience and value feedback from both current and former employees as to how to make that happen.

    Continue reading
  6. "Accounts payable clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time

    Pros

    work life balance, flexibility, good benefits

    Cons

    Management, employee turnover,

    Long View Systems2018-12-07

    Long View Systems Response

    December 10, 2018Recruitment Communications Specialist

    Hi there and thanks for this brief review on us. We are happy to hear of your appreciation for our work/life balance, flexibility and great benefits! We would like to learn more about your comment "Management" in the Cons list as we always want to improve where we can and more information will help us do so. Can you please connect with your People Services Advisor or Manager? We looking forward to continuing the conversation and thanks for all you do!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Focus on Work/Life balance. Serious about Careel/Life Planning

    Cons

    Downtown location makes parking a challenge

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2017-11-30

    Long View Systems Response

    December 12, 2017Recruitment Communications Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for stopping in and sharing your thoughts with the glassdoor community. Work / life balance and our Career Life Plan program is of utmost importance to us and are glad that you are benefiting from this! Like a lot of companies, downtown is where most of our clients are and is also a central point for our employees to travel to. Have you spoken with your PS Manager to see if she has some suggestions on where to park? She is there to help! We thank you for everything you do and hope that you will continue your journey with us.

    Continue reading
  8. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance Manage your own time Very accommodating to personal matters and requests.

    Cons

    Benefits program diminished. Incentive program not well understood.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2017-10-25

    Long View Systems Response

    October 31, 2017Recruitment Communications Specialist

    Hi there, Thanks for stopping in and posting your thoughts on your experience so far with us. We are glad to hear that you appreciate the work/life balance that we offer and feel supported personally! That's what we want for all of our employees. Although we did make a change to our Canadian benefits plan last year, it now offers our staff more choices and we’d like to go through that with you in more detail. This would also be a great opportunity to explain how our incentives work so please connect with your PS Advisor or Manager as they would be very happy to help you understand both. Thanks for everything you do for us. It does not go unnoticed!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people and opportunity that is given to you to progress your career. If you work hard and engage the right people, they provide the opportunities to help you succeed.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can always use improvement, but when I am too overwhelmed there is great support internally at Long View.

    Long View Systems2017-10-16

    Long View Systems Response

    October 17, 2017Recruitment Communications Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. We appreciate feedback from all of our employees including ones like you who have been with us for over 10 years! We're so glad that you have found career progression with us; that's so very important. We're also happy to hear that you feel supported when the work/life balance that we strive to maintain for all of our team members goes off course. Please continue to communicate with us about that and rely on us for support when you need it. Thanks for your commitment to and excellence in what you do!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Steer clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Free drinks (coffee, soda, juice) in the office. - Some great consultants still in the fold.

    Cons

    - Management often bends over backwards to appease clients to the detriment of their own employees. - Messages from upper management often seems completely tone deaf to what is actually going on in the company. - Newer support model was touted as being a solution which would result in a better work/life balance. It has instead resulted in an environment where there's nowhere near enough resources to properly provide quality service to many clients. This has left many resources stretched super thin, and working into the night on a regular basis while still falling behind. - Newer support model has also resulted in a vulture like mentality with the leadership where the perception that someone isn't being utilized (ex. they are on boarding) could result in attempts to pull them off a client site indefinitely without any back-fill to replace leaving the team short handed. - Sales staff often oversell to clients resulting in situations where there is little chance for the resources doing the work to meet those targets, which results in angry clients, angry managers, and angry consultants who are just trying to do right by the client. - Incentive model is a shadow of what it once was. It used to reward overtime by increasing the bonus amount received per quarter which depending on the area of the company could be lucrative. It is now a flat 25% per quarter and is not tied in any way to the amount of work done, which gives us no real reason to put in any extra hours outside of helping a colleague. - Company urges consultants to take their vacation, but often leaves them in situations where there isn't sufficient coverage for them to take said vacation. - Company doesn't practice what they preach RE: Core pillars.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2017-09-12

    Long View Systems Response

    September 18, 2017Recruitment Communications Specialist

    Hello there, while we are disappointed to read your comments, we do appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. As you are still employed with us, we have an opportunity to work directly with you to rectify your concerns! We would love to be able to explain to you how our overtime actually works as it is not as you describe it, unfortunately. Our VP of People Services is looking forward to hearing from you (403-515-6900) so your concerns can be addressed which will also be a great opportunity for you to have your voice heard other than on a public forum. We can also explain to you how our Over & Above Incentive works. If you decide not to call, you can find a video explaining this on our Intranet. We do hope that you choose to get in touch with us, though, as we would like to learn more about the requirements you mentioned where you are working so much overtime and how we can get the right resources to support you supporting our clients. Thanks for all you do!

    Continue reading
Found 31 reviews