Long View Systems Employee Reviews about "boys club"

Updated Aug 28, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Long View Systems CEO Brent Allison (no image)
Brent Allison
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to work with competent and great people(in 20 reviews)

  • "work life balance, flexibility, good benefits(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance is basically non-existent even though leadership attempts to preach it(in 19 reviews)

  • "Middle-management and on-site managers consistently struggle to figure out the technologies their customers need and provide a comprehensive plan(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "boys club"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good starting salary, great co-worker relationships, laughter, ability to change positions within company, strong company, lots of work sponsored get togethers and celebrations of success (both company wide and individual success)

    Cons

    Raises seem to be minimal, a bit of a boys club

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2013-08-06
  2. Helpful (14)

    "Old Boys Club"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Food and location of the office was convenient as it was in downtown

    Cons

    Old boys club - if you are not in the 'in' group, you are on the way out. You don't need to take my word or anyone's word for that matter - just look at any photos on their Linkedin Company Page - no diversity whatsoever. Enough said.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2016-08-28

    Long View Systems Response

    September 2, 2016People Services Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about Long View. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the food offered at the office, as well as the location of our Vancouver branch. We want to understand more about your comments that you've mentioned in the Cons and Advice to Management section and would welcome the opportunity to have a conversation with you. If you're interested in expanding on your thoughts and giving us the opportunity to listen further, please call us at (403) 515-6900 and ask to speak to the Director of People Services. We look forward to chatting with you!

  3. Helpful (11)

    "Disorganized"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long View gave me an opportunity relatively early in my career to get a ton of experience and some responsibility I don't think I would have had elsewhere. In my personal experience I was recognized often for good work and promoted fairly quickly once I identified the position I wanted. There are some really good people at LV, but it’s a mixed bag as with anything. The company does certain things great and are do honestly try to create a good vibe in the office. If you’re in the right position or at the right time the company can be very flexible and make the work life balance really great, but it can only happen when things are moving smoothly and that’s not often.

    Cons

    If you read the other reviews on Glassdoor you’ll find a running theme; LV is disorganized. You can call it a function of quick growth or being a young company but it’s really a systemic issue. It’s a boys club and promotions and leadership roles are just filled with random guys who have been there forever. There’s no particular reason they’re leads or managers, they’re just long timers, that’s it. So obviously that’s going to be an issue when you’ve got a leadership team full of people who can’t lead. It’s not a knock against them, no one turns down a promotion. This doesn’t apply to everyone, there are good people in management/lead positions for sure, but it seems to be the exception rather than the rule. The disorganization comes from lack of communication, the left hand doesn’t know what the right is doing. Account managers make promises and sell services that LV has no business providing. The architects provide “solutions” that are broken from the start and then an inept project management team stifles any opportunity to solve those problems. The managed services department does a great job of driving customers away due to communication issues. Customers will continually complain about specific solvable issues and the department will either willfully ignore or just can’t communicated well enough internally to correct it. The other main gripe I have is with “training”; there isn’t any. In all the departments I was involved with there was never a training program or clear communication on what the processes/expectations were. New people are just thrown in a desk and a lot of people just get lost. This is obviously a fault in leadership and because for the most part those processes just don’t exist in a mature way. The company is not brand new, there’s no excuse for being so sloppy. Even for entry level positons people just get thrown in and are expected to figure out how best to serve clients. That’s ridiculous for low level employees. They should be operating in well-defined roles with little room for error. Entry level people shouldn’t be able to kill client relationships. I have no ill will towards Long View, they do some things well and some things poorly but just have no way of understanding why something is going to fail before they get to that point. Management just sees the potential revenue and they turn into yes-men for the clients which is disservice to both.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2016-02-05

    Long View Systems Response

    February 9, 2016People Services Manager

    Hi there - thank you very much for your review on Long View, and for the years you spent with the company. We're happy to hear that you feel you gained experience and responsibility that you likely wouldn't have had the opportunity to experience elsewhere. We appreciate your advice to management comments, and will definitely take them into consideration as we continue to improve the company in 2016. We would like to hear more about your experience with the company that led to some of the comments you wrote under the cons section of this posting. Please call (403) 515-6900 and ask to speak to our Director of People Services. We are always open to feedback at any time and would like to hear about your thoughts in more detail. All the best to you as you embark on your next opportunity.

  4. Helpful (14)

    "Big agency in Alberta"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - no micro management - decent pay compare to industry - great benefit - lots of family program - best in industry Christmas celebration

    Cons

    - useless middle management ,as they are selected not based on quality but boys club, who knows who - never develop the practice, just as a agency that placed cheaper resources to oil company for better billable margin - every month , they wash your brain thru MGM meeting so that you believe company cares about you (which is actually not true, they care only on profit ) - people that got promoted based on who you know in the top, not based on quality - VERY bad example of diversity , most leadership is dominated by certain race - Not a very accommodating place for minority , like : Asian (Race discrimination is obvious)

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2015-07-09

    Long View Systems Response

    July 14, 2015Recruitment Communications Specialist

    Thanks for your time in writing this review; your feedback is important to us. While Glassdoor is a platform to express your anonymous views and thoughts, it would be great to hear from you directly so that we can learn about your ideas on improving the items you mentioned in the Calgary office. We appreciate that you have dedicated the last 5 years to us and would ask that you speak to your People Services Advisor or our Director of People Services, located in Calgary, so that we can work together to continuously improve our company.

  5. Helpful (16)

    "People culture is dead. It's all about the profit."

    1.0
     

    I have been working at Long View Systems

    Pros

    Free lunches, access to technologies that help you do your job, training opportunities (depending on getting manager support - which is subjective).

    Cons

    If you listen to the messages from recruiters, you'll hear about a culture that is family oriented, puts their people first and allows work/life balance. It sounds great as a sales pitch to get you in the door but it's not reality. -Compensation - incentives wrong most of the time. Be prepared to fight for what is owed to you. Often this can take several months to clean up. -Inconsistent internal communication; a feeling of secrecy between leadership and staff. -No policies - everything is subjective and can change by leader. Do your best to guess at what is expected. . -Department silos create chaos and duplication of effort -The comment on old boys club is true, but it is more like a high school popularity contest. You are either with the "in" crowd or not. Decisions tend to favor the "in' crowd. -Gossip/water cooler talk seems to consume a lot of peoples time.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2015-01-11

    Long View Systems Response

    January 19, 2015Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for raising your concerns. Please speak with your People Services Advisor so that we can work together to resolve them.

  6. Helpful (10)

    "Out of touch"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some really great organic cultural elements. Staff driven wellness committee, soccer team, corporate challenge etc. Can be a fun place to work. Lots of great people work at Long View,sadly lots of great people leave Long View

    Cons

    Exec is out of touch with staff. Company communication is hit and miss. Seems like high turnover but 'they' say everything is great. Mixed messages. Old Boys club for sure. Check out the Exec page on the site. Pretty male and pretty white. Diversity and gender don't seem like a concern. Incentives are a joke, never calculated the same way twice.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2014-11-19
  7. Helpful (11)

    "POOR MANAGEMENT. POOR LEADERSHIP TEAM"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The office is nice and it is in a central location close to downtown's skytrain.

    Cons

    The biggest factor about Long View is the weak management and leadership in the Vancouver branch. Although I have heard this before coming into the company, I have learned first hand just how poor it really is. Never had I seen in my 10+ years in the IT industry just how bad it is and it is the common consensus with current and past employees. Leaders often motivate, inspire, teach and most of all listen to their people. None of these qualities are present with the management here. it is very evident in the major decisions, INDECISIONS, actions and more importantly INACTIONS when tough choices need to be made. There is some good IT talent in the company, the truly smart people continue to trickle and leave the company. None of the talented consultants stay for more than 1-2 years because of the poor leadership within. There is a seemingly 'boys club' culture within middle management as most of them are from Calgary and have been with the company during the growth period. READ BETWEEN LINES - no room for growth on merit. Other challenges at Long View is their lack of incentive structure, questionable practices with billing (may not be intentional given their lack of Accounting acument) but they always get their billing incorrect resulting in miscalculated employee incentives. Training is available but is paid by the employee's incentives as well.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2014-08-18
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Integrity is one of Long View's core values but their actions speak otherwise"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pro: Food in the office Pro: Laid back environment

    Cons

    Aside from the pros, Long View is less than mediocre and one of the worst companies in the industry to uphold client expectations with huge turnover. Con:  The company has a tendency to oversell and over-promise and then fail to meet expectations.  One of their values as integrity but their actions speak otherwise when they oversell on their clients knowing they very well do not have the resources, expertise or capacity to fulfill their commitments.  It is very common to have the company throw their consultants into engagements with little or no expertise leaving them to fend for themselves.    Con:  Like all companies, their main objective is to maximize their revenue but the difference  with this company is that it comes at the expense of their employees.  For example, as a technical consultant, any courses taken would be retro-actively paid by the consultant's upcoming incentives.  Any company that is interested in building their people would not charge back training to their people's bonuses.  Often employees are left with tiny or zero incentive even after highly billable quarter which can be extremely frustrating and a sense of disbelief.   Also, the timesheets and invoices are often manipulated by management which results in lower than expected expenses.  This practice is extremely sketchy but happens and by the time you find out or even notice, there is nothing you can do about it. Con:  95% of the projects are tiny with no more than 1-3 resources.  Given the projects are small, so are the budgets.  If you want to grow your career and work on amazing and awesome projects, this place is not for you.  If you want to work on 10 projects with with bits and pieces here and there and feel scattered, then this company is for you.  Don't be mistaken though, Long View will gladly bite off more than they can chew but do not have the capacity, structure or management to undertake big projects which often lead to failure.  Any large projects or clients that sign with Long View will be severely disappointed. Con:  The majority of the management is very green.  They are extremely inexperienced and more often than not fail to deliver on promises. If you want to by led and inspired by great leaders of tomorrow with something to offer their employees, this place is not for you.  If you want to attend monotonous meetings, hear promises that are never fulfilled and roll your your eyes while listening to quotes taken from the internet, this place will suit you.   Con:  Career progression is a nil.  There is no process in competing for roles. There is no HR process. It's an old boys club like what the other posts have stated. Immense nepotism is the norm. Any open position has already been determined on who will take it before it has been announced. Proceed with extreme caution if you are thinking of joining this company.  Better yet, turn around and don't waste your time. If you are a potential client, save your frustrations and find an alternative.  Despite being told what you want to hear, the management at Long View will not look out for your best interests.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2014-02-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews