Long View Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Long View Systems Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Long View Systems CEO Brent Allison (no image)
Brent Allison
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Many great people at this company around North America(in 15 reviews)

  • "work life balance, flexibility, good benefits(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance can always use improvement, but when I am too overwhelmed there is great support internally at Long View(in 19 reviews)

  • "It’s a boys club and promotions and leadership roles are just filled with random guys who have been there forever(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "A Great Introduction to Corporate IT.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of support from Management and HR. Great schedule with amazing work life balance. Excellent compensation package.

    Cons

    nothing currently comes to mind.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2019-08-28

    Long View Systems Response

    August 28, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so glad that you feel supported and are experiencing the work / life balance that we strive for our employees to have! If you have any further feedback or suggestions for us, please connect with your Manager or People Services Advisor. Thanks for all you do for us!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive staff and nice environment

    Cons

    I did not notice any negative points

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2019-09-23

    Long View Systems Response

    September 23, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi! Thanks for your short review on us. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your time with us so far and we hope that you continue to. We welcome your feedback and suggestions at anytime so if you have anything to share with us in the future, please connect with your People Services Advisor. Thanks for all you do!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place, great management, will totally recommend

    Cons

    Not enough opportunities for vertical growth

    Long View Systems2019-09-16

    Long View Systems Response

    September 17, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time out to write this short review on us. While we are saddened to hear that you are no longer with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time while you were here! We do focus on learning and development at Long View and we are sorry that you didn't experience the vertical growth you were looking for. Would you like to share your suggestions on how we can do better at that? If so, please reach out to our VP of People Services, Tasha, at 403-515-6900. Thanks for all you did for us and best of luck in the future!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Good company to get your IT career started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to try different positions and advance your career (BUT, you have to take ownership of doing it); opportunities to work in different industries; great in-house leadership training course; depending on what team you are on - it can be really awesome or it can be downright awful

    Cons

    Dynamic of the organization has changed since its inception. It used to be about getting the best of the best and there was a genuine focus on the well-being of the employees. You weren't just a number and the managers, team leads, and People Services (HR) really cared about you and wanted to get to know you on a personal level. However, I feel that the focus on keeping that small company feel has deviated and it no longer has that 'family' feel. When the economy started taking a downturn, they started laying off some really talented people, but kept others that were mediocre. It became a numbers game and no longer about hiring and promoting the best people for the job.

    Long View Systems2019-08-23

    Long View Systems Response

    August 26, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    We're sorry to read this review about your 10+ years with us. We are even more sorry that we weren't able to learn about your views while you were with us so we could try to make it better for you. We have always cared and will continue to care for our employees no matter how big we get or whatever challenges the economy brings. And we cared about you, too. If you have anymore feedback that you would like to share with us, please contact our VP of People Services, Tasha, at 403-515-6900. If not, we wanted to take this opportunity to wish you nothing but the best in your career and thanks for all you did for us while you were here.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Systems Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -You will be exposed to a variety of clients and types of equipment.

    Cons

    - You will be working alot of hours.

    Long View Systems2019-07-28

    Long View Systems Response

    July 29, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share this brief review on us. We are sorry that you are no longer with us but are glad that when you were, you got the variety in the client work and technology exposure that we want to provide! We do focus on work / life balance but it sounds like maybe you didn't get that experience. Would you be interested in sharing more details with us? If so, please connect with our VP of People Services by calling 403-515-6900 and asking for Tasha. Best of luck in your new role!

    Continue reading
  6. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant 

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time

    Pros

    Paid vacation, Sick days, Flexibility

    Cons

    Normal MSA cons you'd find

    Long View Systems2019-07-15

    Long View Systems Response

    July 16, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write this short review on us. We are happy that you are enjoying some of the many perks that we offer. We would like to hear more about your reference in the Cons section so please connect with your People Services Advisor to do that. Thanks for all you do for us!

    Continue reading
  7. "Slightly Above Industry Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A company with positive vision, and they mean well. Many great people at this company around North America. A good place to earn your spurs in the industry. Average compensation but unequal, raises do not even match inflation.

    Cons

    Power remains in Calgary, and local branches and generally treated like outcasts. The Career Life Planning program is all talk, while it has been successful for many in the past it is all talk now.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2019-07-21

    Long View Systems Response

    July 22, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your time with us over the past 5+ years. We are sorry to see you go and sorry that you didn't get the experience that was intended for your Career Life Planning sessions. Although we always reassess and look to improve our internal programs, we have had and continue to have success with our CLPs - we are saddened that you did not experience that . Your feedback on how you felt like you weren't part of our company being in our Toronto branch, and how you felt you weren't fairly compensated, have been shared with our Executive Team. We want to make sure that wherever our employees are based, the experience is consistent and a positive one. We wish you the best of luck in your new endeavor. Thanks for all you did while you were here!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A good company for entry level employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Consultant in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A good company to work within short time. Good benefits

    Cons

    Poor salary, and no space to grow

    Long View Systems2019-07-03

    Long View Systems Response

    July 9, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for stopping in to share your feedback with us. We aren't just an employer for entry level employees; we believe in career progression and training for our employees and want to make sure that you are benefiting from that! Have you spoken with your People Services Advisor about your concerns? We would like to be able to change your view on us. In the meantime, thanks for all you do for us!

    Continue reading
  9. "Well Managed. Good Place to work and grow Technical expertise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Architect in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Long View Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well Managed. Good Place to work Better work culture and Good Technical exposure

    Cons

    Nothing about work place

    Long View Systems2019-07-03

    Long View Systems Response

    July 9, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    Hello! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your time with us so far. We are pleased to hear that you are happy in your role and in your work environment as that's what we strive for! If you have any feedback or suggestions on how we can make things better, please don't hesitate to connect with your People Services Team in BC. Thanks for all you do for us!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "WORST COMPANY EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Long View Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    just Good benefits. no other words for Pros.

    Cons

    Worst HR/administration. BIG RACIST Company. Only for Whites. No lunch space. No respect for long term employee. Very low salary. more work. $40,000 for a systems consultant / 1st level IT help desk. More work, more stress.

    Continue reading
    Long View Systems2019-07-11

    Long View Systems Response

    July 15, 2019Talent Brand Specialist

    We are saddened to read this review and disappointed that you feel this way about your time with us. We take your feedback very seriously as we do not tolerate racism in our company. Please call or email our Sr. VP of People Services, Tasha, at 403-515-6900 or tasha.westerman@lvs1.com so she can get more information from you and so we can address this promptly.

    Continue reading
Found 227 reviews