Long View Systems Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 305 of over 321 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Long View Systems CEO Brent Allison (no image)
Brent Allison
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to work with competent and great people(in 20 reviews)

  • "Good benefits/training incentives(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance is basically non-existent even though leadership attempts to preach it(in 19 reviews)

  • "You are just a money making machine to them until you are no longer in their best interest(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Sep 21, 2021 - Systems Consultant in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing environment to start your career

      Cons

      Nothing that I can remember

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      People-focused

      Aug 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong support from People Services Focused on well-being

      Cons

      Sometimes profit margins interfere with well-being

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Long View Systems Response

      We are so glad to hear that you feel supported from the PS team here at Long View! As a People-focused organization that will always remain our top priority. Should you need any additional supports, please reach out to your Team Lead, Manager, or a member of the PS team and we'd be happy to help! Lindsey Zunti Manager, People Services

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A company that supports their employees!

      Aug 12, 2021 - Systems Consultant in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      During my time at Long View, I've felt more appreciated and respected than I have at any other job. Everyone, including leads and management, shows their appreciation for the work you do and the effort you put in. They also work with you towards goals you'd like to achieve, whether it's moving up in the company or a personal goal like owning your own house. Definitely would recommend working here!

      Cons

      Hours may feel long and some days will feel more exhausting than others. Many first level positions will start out as a contract employment as well.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Long View Systems Response

      Nothing makes me happier than hearing you are feeling supported, encouraged, and appreciated here at LVS! Please continue to have amazing CLP conversations about your goals and how we can help you reach them. We have lots of supports in place for anyone feeling overwhelmed or exhausted, so please make sure to use those resources and take time to recharge as needed. If you'd like to know more about any of our offerings, a People Services team member would be happy to help. Lindsey Zunti Manager, People Services

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Canadian company to work for

      Aug 9, 2021 - IT Consultant in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been at LVS for about 4.5 years now and it has been the best experience of my 15 year career so far. Yes, LVS has its issues, like all companies do, but it also has a lot of positives which for me are: - Opportunities: If you are looking to learn something new you will get the chance as long as you are eager. - Training: A ton of training opportunities that I never had before in my career - Support: Everyone is willing to help eachother, great team mentality - CLPs: I really like them. These are the career life plan sessions that you have once every quarter with your team lead. Great touchpoints where you can chat about life, career, learning, whatever you want. Regular one on ones in between also. These help formulate a plan with your team lead as to where you are going. - Great leadership: Not much to say here. Brent Allison is a great CEO - Inclusive: Everyone is welcome

      Cons

      - We need to find more internal opportunities for junior tech people. Career path not great for these roles. I know the management team is working on this - There are times where work life balance gets compromised, especially when you are working with multiple clients through busy periods. Help is one chat away though.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Long View Systems Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is so great to hear all of the things you love about working here! This is great feedback, and we are continually looking for ways to grow our business and elevator our people with new and exciting opportunities. Your job shadowing idea is a great one, thanks for sharing!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great workplace

      Aug 3, 2021 - Technical Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment with opportunity to learn more and improve. Flexible working hours. Skilled colleagues. A nice place to work at.

      Cons

      Some times it could be overwhelming when there are more projects and less staff. On the other hand people services continue to try to balance between work and life.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Long View Systems Response

      Hello, and thank you for the review! I'm glad to hear you're finding Long View a great place to work. I agree, our People are definitely one of the best parts about working here! Please don't hesitate to bring any concerns with too high of workload to your Team Lead or Manager so we can work with you to try to help you from feeling overwhelmed. Should you need any additional supports, our People Services team would be happy to assist. Lindsey Zunti Manager, People Services

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Lies

      Aug 20, 2021 - Systems Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food and drinks were great

      Cons

      Rotating door of staff, nobody stays long term

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Long View Systems Response

      We’re very sorry to hear that your experience at Long View did not live up to your expectations - of course this is never our intention or hope for any of our employees. We celebrate service milestones for every five years of service and I’m very proud to say that this year is one of the largest, with 133 employees celebrating anniversaries in five-year increments. 70 employees are celebrating more than 10 years with the company! If you would like to share more about your experience, please do so as we are always looking for ways we can improve and get better. You can reach myself, or Tasha Westerman, EVP through our general line at 403-515-6900. Lindsey Zunti Manager, People Services

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Jul 14, 2021 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Carrier Development, People, Ability to learn

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Long View Systems Response

      SVP, People Services

      We appreciate the time it took you to submit this response and highlight some of the areas you've enjoyed while working with us!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company and wonderful people

      Jul 27, 2021 - Resourcing Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its a great company offering good career path, wonderful people to work with

      Cons

      I don't see any downside

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Long View Systems Response

      SVP, People Services

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience working with. I agree that we have GREAT people working for us and also feel that is one of the best things at Long View. Tasha Westerman EVP, People Services

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A great place to experience professional growth

      Jun 24, 2021 - Director, Client Experience in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A deliberate and flexible approach to planning your career with mandatory quarterly conversations. Openness to creating new roles / opportunities to meet the needs of individuals A true commitment to taking care of our people

      Cons

      Be willing to drive your own path

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Long View Systems Response

      Manager, Recruiting

      Hi there! Thanks for stopping in to share your thoughts on your last 8 years of experience with us. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying our CLP sessions and our commitment to supporting our employees. Thank you for all you do for us!

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor Management and Compensation

      Jul 23, 2021 - Systems Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They had a free drinks fridge

      Cons

      The only way to get an actual pay raise is to leave the company and join again a year later. They refuse to get meaningful pay raises unless there's a job title change however most "promotions" leave you with the same title of systems analyst. Can easily go through 10+ supervisors and managers while working there for a few years. Not due to them being promoted usually by them leaving.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Long View Systems Response

      SVP, People Services

      We appreciate the time you took to write this and wish you had a better experience to reflect on. In my 17 years with the company, I can't recall a time where anyone had that many managers! Even though you're no longer with us, I would like the opportunity to talk to you further about your experience so I can understand your concerns around career progression & leadership changes. You can reach me through our general line at 403-515-6900. Tasha Westerman EVP, People Services

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 305 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Long View Systems Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Long View Systems? Share Your Experiences

    Long View Systems logo
    or