London Drugs Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

London Drugs Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 308 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
London Drugs CEO Clint Mahlman (no image)
Clint Mahlman
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, great environment, no pressure(in 27 reviews)

  • "The employee discount can be nice and there are also discounts on cellular plans too(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low hourly wage-abnormal task performance expectations for the amount I get paid, disconnected head office(in 17 reviews)

  • "Retail hours, expect no more than 20 hours for part time(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lab Manager 

    I have been working at London Drugs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training and family atmosphere

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    London Drugs2019-07-24
  2. "A good place to work with a few down falls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at London Drugs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is a respectful place to work with good people

    Cons

    No pay increases in years once you reach the top of your wage scale. Head office is horrible to get to due to traffic

    London Drugs2019-09-08
  3. "Old style/poor managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photo Electronics Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at London Drugs part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good entry level job.

    Cons

    Very poor management. Did not accommodate for family/student needs outside of work. They expected complete devotion to the job.

    London Drugs2019-09-08
  4. "Great place for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Assistant in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at London Drugs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of experience to learn from, great team and learning environment, want to see you grow in position. Hours decent

    Cons

    Pay is average or low, lots of turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Pay higher.

    London Drugs2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fine employer but lost people due to specific member of staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at London Drugs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and coverage for spouse Flexible working

    Cons

    Management refusual to act on a bullying member of staff

    Advice to Management

    When you lose good workers due to one person's behaviour, you should look at the one person, not judge the people leaving. There's a reason why they left.

    London Drugs2019-09-02
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Assistant 

    I worked at London Drugs part-time

    Pros

    Good hours for students, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Bad pay, stressful work environment

    London Drugs2019-08-17
  7. "One of the best places in Canada to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Technician in Lethbridge, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at London Drugs part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, family oriented and family owned. Never felt like I disliked my job or company

    Cons

    Somewhat antiquated style of internal management. Mostly a sign of the business being family owned and less corporate driven.

    Advice to Management

    Modernize internal organization. It's 2019, there are far better ways to do the things we're currently doing.

    London Drugs2019-08-15
  8. "Unless you have to?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at London Drugs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - can't think of any - non-discriminatory hiring, diverse staff - staff in the non-general department (eg. cosmetics, AVS, computers, etc.) have opportunities for growth, commission for the tech people

    Cons

    - employees don't all get trained....cracks in the system...... huge training problem - performance rewards are set up for you to fail; hierarchy system (eg. supervisors automatically get rewards even if their performance is sub-par, on the other hand, general employees are almost always ineligible 'because they don't perform well enough, or do anything important enough to deserve a reward' - you have to pay for... uniforms... but they'll critique you if your uniform is worn out...ugh

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    train employees please!!! sensitivity training for management please!!!

    London Drugs2019-08-23
  9. "Not enough hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Cosmetics Manager in Kelowna, BC
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at London Drugs part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people Training provided Company has great ethical and environmental community involvement

    Cons

    Not enough hours Having 100% open availiability to maintain position Easily max out wage and experience

    London Drugs2019-07-30
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Morning Stocker 
    Recommends

    I worked at London Drugs part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, management, great team and training.

    Cons

    Lack of staff, salary could be a bit higher.

    London Drugs2019-07-22
Found 308 reviews