Limeade Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Limeade CEO Henry Albrecht (no image)
Henry Albrecht
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really great culture and practice what they preach(in 8 reviews)

  • "The senior leadership team is focused on having the best employee experience(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains and seemingly high turnover(in 10 reviews)

  • "Leadership Team doesn't respect each other, tickle down effect(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "We practice what we preach"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Limeade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We make employee lives better. It feels good helping people.

    Cons

    There are some growing pains, but that's normal.

    Limeade2019-07-31
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not for remote workers"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Limeade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Several talented and hard working people and working on a nice mix of technologies. Company seems on the upswing as of the last year, after many years of uncertainty.

    Cons

    Little to no trust especially with management ranks. If you're not in the ranks and drink the Koolaid be prepared to be sidelined, or get pressured real hard. Many people not worth their salary, a lot of paper pushers who somehow successfully delegate to their (overworked) peer who seems to take one for the team, always. Company direction is kinda murky, they mask true character and say they're doing the right thing with the current pandemic which is great (for media), then they turn and try to squeeze every single penny out of clients. If you are not in Seattle, or know personally some of the big wigs, you won't make it far here. On that note, dealing with PST schedules will be a problem if you're East coast or worse say, located in Germany. Unless you want to work 11-8pm or some form of other crazy hours.

    Continue reading
    Limeade2020-05-06
  3. "All the negative reviews are accurate"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Limeade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great team-mates while they lasted. The CTO was competent and a good guy.

    Cons

    They sell people on their enlightened culture which is ultimately a huge disappointment since they do not practice what they preach. The 3.7 star review average is artificially inflated by multiple 5-star reviews using very similar language “growing pains”, “great mission and values”, “still learning how to scale”, “constant change can be overwhelming” etc. They publish all these articles about how to treat your workforce, prevent burnout and keep tabs on morale, but internally don’t practice any of these things, so the disconnect is like being gas-lighted. No exit interviews even though when I was there the turnover was 30% annually. There was no attempt to learn why this was happening, no follow up. That 30% includes 10% that are fired on purpose as a matter of course. These firings were very bad for morale. I assume this still happens since the negative reviews keep coming and keep saying the same things. There are only a small handful of people that have been there more than 2-3 years. Experience is not respected. Beware of wolves in sheep’s clothing. Do not let your guard down and show vulnerability or weakness. It will be used against you later. Some people seem to really relish the firings and drama. Raising valid concerns is one of the ways to get yourself on a fast track out the door. Product management is particularly incompetent yet seems to skate by based on favoritism. I honestly don’t know how the company continues to function without fundamental changes.

    Continue reading
    Limeade2020-05-28
  4. "Best Company I’ve Worked For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Limeade

    Pros

    Limeade truly does everything they can to practice what they preach. The company offers great benefits, very competitive salaries, and other awesome perks (flex time, remote work, etc.). They also go beyond the basics by constantly measuring employee well-being, engagement, burnout risk, and more. When they identify areas for improvement, they quickly roll out initiatives to help. I’ve never worked anywhere that tries this hard to show employees they care. The people are also wonderful. Limeade demands both talent and kindness from their teams, which makes working across teams typically smooth and pleasant. The CEO is also the most visible executive I’ve ever worked with. He’s constantly an active participant in meetings, fostering opening communication, and making himself approachable. Keep up the great work, Limeade!

    Cons

    The past is crazy fast and things are constantly changing, so work can be a bit overwhelming at times.

    Continue reading
    Limeade2020-04-14
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Easily the worst job I've ever had at the shadiest company I've ever worked for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Limeade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Direct teammates -Events where remote culture becomes unified culture

    Cons

    To say that I had a negative experience in my time at Limeade would be an understatement. Limeade has two distinct brands - one that’s shiny and forward-thinking, one that purports to care about its employees and bring well-being into the world. Then there’s the Limeade brand I experienced, the one that cares more about money than it does about legitimate concerns from employees, the one that gaslit me repeatedly, the one that has values posted on the wall but doesn’t actually appreciate when employees put those values into practice. Long story short: It took 4 months and 8 interviews to get what was sold to me as a mid-level strategic role, building a wellness program and employee events for a large customer--essentially an outsourced wellness program coordinator. I was told the interview process would be about 5-6 weeks and would have 4-5 interviews--this should have been my first clue that this company has no idea what they’re doing. When I arrived to my customer, I performed tasks like hanging up signs, unloading boxes, creating low-level communications that would never see the light of day due to the critical nature of the customer, handing out promo items, sitting through meandering meetings where my opinions were not only not valued but straight up scoffed at like I was stupid. I was told to not speak to anyone except for my customer day-to-day contact--a far cry from what was sold to me during the recruitment process, that this would be a role where I would work with department leaders to bring a culture of wellness to the company. I began raising concerns about the differences between my posted job description and the tasks I was performing (and the way I was being treated at the customer site) less than 2 months into my employ, and continued doing so on a weekly basis. I repeatedly asked for role clarity between myself and several others working on the account. Multiple people said multiple times that they would come out for an onsite meeting to help figure out the disconnect. The problem was so much bigger than me, and yet even though I was enacting Limeade’s values of “Own It,” “Be It,” and “Speak Plainly,” no one on the Limeade team took me seriously and made me feel like I was the problem, when the reality was that applied to a job that didn't exist, and Limeade had absolutely zero intention of making it exist so as to not disturb the arrangements they had with the customer. Not once did anyone from Limeade get on a plane and come see the conditions I was working in--my work and ideas ridiculed, my schedule dictated to me by the minute, doing the same tasks as the department’s intern and eventually absorbing those tasks when the customer failed to fill the intern role. I could go on, but I think you get the idea. Limeade, beyond the shadow of a doubt, failed me, and ultimately failed themselves. I would have worked so hard for this company if I believed they had my back, but they showed me they didn't, decision after decision.

    Continue reading
    Limeade2020-03-17
  6. "Customer Success"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Limeade for more than a year

    Pros

    People are super smart, empathetic, culture is the real deal. Obviously not perfect, but definitely the most authentic and transparent culture I’ve been a part of

    Cons

    Rapid growth means buckle up and get used to things changing regularly

    Continue reading
    Limeade2019-11-27
  7. "A pretty good place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst 

    I have been working at Limeade full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Growing pains and seemingly high turnover

    Limeade2019-10-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Company shows care for employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Limeade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, strong mission, and extremely strong alignment to values. Youthful energy and not afraid to innovate. Tons of flexibility, autonomy and trust in employees. Very approachable leadership team that are really inspiring and open to feedback.

    Cons

    Growing rapidly and still working on how to scale for that growth.

    Limeade2019-08-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great startup, with typical startup growing pains"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Limeade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, with amazing attitudes.

    Cons

    Remote worker experience is poor. Most people follow the company culture, but there are a few that follow old-world corporate thinking.

    Limeade2019-09-17
  10. "Practice what they preach"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Limeade full-time

    Pros

    Leadership cares a lot for their people and practices what they preach. The whole company gets together once a year to connect, reflect and improve. Open and supporting culture.

    Cons

    Very HQ centric but improving.

    Continue reading
    Limeade2019-08-28
Found 84 reviews