Lidl "good salary" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Lidl Employee Reviews about "good salary"

Updated Jan 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
405 Ratings
Pros
  • "They provide good pay above average(in 223 reviews)

  • "Good salary and progression opportunity(in 62 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good salary"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "No all its made out to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Management Trainee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Car IPad 35 days holiday

    Cons

    Poor training and development easy to be forgotten No support There to be an extra pair of hands company that has a lot of false promises unless you are in the higher paid and reputable jobs no security

    Continue reading
    Lidl2020-01-28
  2. "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and good holidays

    Cons

    Hard work, little thanks, bare minimum benefits e.g. Sick pay, paternity, pensions

    Lidl2019-10-21

    Lidl Response

    January 14, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's great to hear that you're happy at Lidl and would recommend Lidl overall. Thank you for all your hard work! - Corina, Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  3. "Awful worklife balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary,staff discount,cheap , good pension

    Cons

    Long days, late nights,weekends, no social life. Poor training

    Lidl2019-09-18
  4. "DSM Lidl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and progression opportunities for a 39H contract

    Cons

    Permanent pressure due to unrealistic targets

    Lidl2019-06-18
  5. "Temporary job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Kolding

    I worked at Lidl for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, Good holiday, Great team, Good Bosses, A very nice environment

    Cons

    Short period contracts with a lot of work.

    Lidl2019-05-05
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Be really clear with yourself and what you are getting into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Head Office in Wimbledon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Good salary - up to £75,000 for middle managers - Responsibility—at the expense of dealing with incompetents - If you're half-decent you'll probably do okay here if you're in a good department.

    Cons

    - Culture and workload is massively different depending on what department you are in. The majority of departments are poor, some are atrocious. Lots of things that shouldn't be tolerated in 2019 are. - I've heard (and seen) horror stories: plenty of people crying, blatant bullying, screaming & shouting, sexism. A few times I've called a colleague and got the response "so&so doesn't work here any more". There is one department that we refer to as 'the black hole' — people, good people, go in and they never come out the same again (and they come out quickly) - Unsurprisingly, turnover of employees is shocking. You need to get lucky here—if you work for a decent person you will get by—but that isn't a given - Keep your head down. I've seen people stand up for what they believe in, try and tackle the status quo and challenge the poor culture, but they just get beat down. Don't believe the promotional materials! People do NOT want to do it differently here. The model has worked for years in their eyes. If you want to get along, don't rock the boat! Don't come expecting a 'do-it-better' meritocracy. This is very much a 'oil tanker' of a bureaucracy - Poor culture leads to high performers leaving and mediocre ones clinging on. Senior management are largely made up of those who appear to have clung on the longest—but are often not suited to such positions. Or people who did a great job in buying boxes and now are suddenly experts in marketing. This causes the whole cycle to repeat. The high salaries compound this; they encourage mediocre people to stay because know they are highly unlikely to get this salary elsewhere. It's a trap. - This ends up with really poor accountability and a lot of people who think they have re-invented the wheel, or are the next Jesus because they 'made it' and are paid 100K a year and drive a company car. I include a lot of my peers in this. The thing is, they wouldn't have 'made it' at a better company—they just aren't good enough. Making it had nothing to do with work (it's definitely not a meritocracy here) it's got to do with being able to weather the most abysmal culture for the longest, or being where nobody notices how rubbish you are -As such, co-operation and communication between departments is poor because you've got a whole load of people who can't think big (they are too busy thinking they are the next big thing). You'll find out your peer has hired someone to do the same job as one of your team members—they just never bothered to speak to you. Or you'll meet someone who's been drowning in some project in a silo somewhere because their out-to-lunch director 'forgot' to mention it to anyone else's - Highly secretive promotional structure for senior management. You can't apply for jobs, you must be 'chosen'. This creates issues when you have a poor line manager relationship, or if your line manager changes (which it constantly does). I had a colleague who easily should have been offered a more senior role, she brought external experience too—but this was never evaluated as she had 4 line managers in 2 years. In the end she quit and it was such a shame because she was better than our boss. This sort of thing happens a lot - Everything feels so second rate—I wish I'd trusted my gut and not taken a role here to be honest. I sold out for the money. What I've compromised is doing a job that is challenging with great senior leaders and peers you can learn from. But hey, I'm lazy - Mostly it is just disappointing because you constantly feel like the company could be great if they just increased accountability, co-operation and stopped tolerating abysmal behaviour and poor work from management who have been at the company far too long.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-04-05

    Lidl Response

    June 3, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your experience. We'd like to discuss this in more detail, so please do contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk when you have the time. We would genuinely like to thank you for the part you're playing in making Lidl GB a success as we work to grow and improve as a business and as an employer! - Team Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  7. "Very good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Deputy Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl

    Pros

    Good salary and progression opportunity

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours

    Lidl2019-04-02

    Lidl Response

    May 22, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that you're happy at Lidl. We appreciate all of your hard work and wish you the very best as you continue your career with us! - Team Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  8. "Deputy store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Never get a second, it's non stop every day. Keeps you fit though

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-04-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Horror"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary, nothing else that I can think of

    Cons

    Working hours, work-life balance, work load

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-04-06
  10. "Work work work and thats it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary but be expected to do +50 hours a week

    Cons

    -Never got my expenses paid - never had review since started -company lifestyle reward been closed for over 6 months now -Company extra hours system (SAD report) not recorded properly. Currently report show -65 hours when it should be +85 hours -extremely long hours shift for manager +11 hours a day on average

    Lidl2019-03-27

    Lidl Response

    May 22, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We would definitely advise you to contact your Employee Relations Consultant regarding the points you've raised. You can also contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk. We really appreciate the work you've put in to manage your team and run a successful store - so thank you once again! - Team Lidl GB

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 62 reviews
</>Embed