Lidl Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Lidl Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
337 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, flexible working, opportunities(in 191 reviews)

  • "good salary developed people very fast if they see potential(in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is not the greatest but then time can be taken back at a later date if you work more hours(in 143 reviews)

  • "Sometimes Long hours, very fast paced(in 141 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager in East Anglia, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    above average salary Staff discount Opportunity to progress Attractive benefits package Fast pace and rapid expansion means always new challenges A culture of trust exists 35 days holiday p.a.

    Cons

    47.5 hours per week, can put some strain on work/home life balance. Lots of changes to processes on a frequent basis makes it hard to keep up.

    Advice to Management

    Rome wasn’t built in a day, be careful not to implement new ideas and changes all at once.

    Lidl2017-10-18
  2. "CR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lidl part-time

    Pros

    Good team spirit , a lot of benefits

    Cons

    not for long term career;

    Lidl2018-08-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Graphic Designer at Lidl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    - Nice office space - Company contributes well to community

    Cons

    - hardly any training when starting at the company. No information on filing systems, branding or requirements - Quiet office - conversation is not encouraged among team members which affects brainstorming and creativity - In-house printers are awful to use - No interest in your development unless you're in a lead position or aspire to be - Communication between managers and team leads is non existent - Teams... are too small for the workload

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communicate and put more time into training, especially when employees start at the company.

    Lidl2017-10-17
  4. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Lidl

    Pros

    Salary Benefits Fast pace Excellent career opportunity Graduate positions available, which can be great to get your foot in the door of a big company without having much experience.

    Cons

    Long hours - 50-60 hours per week Shift work Under staffed Culture in the company at management level was at times questionable.

    Lidl2016-06-07
  5. "Yeah"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl

    Pros

    Awesome cool amaze me to

    Cons

    Nothing con to the extent

    Advice to Management

    Yeah

    Lidl2015-06-02
  6. "Dsm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSM in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money opportunities for your career

    Cons

    Long hours,hard work late shifts

    Lidl2019-10-21
  7. "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and good holidays

    Cons

    Hard work, little thanks, bare minimum benefits e.g. Sick pay, paternity, pensions

    Lidl2019-10-21
  8. "Basic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time

    Pros

    Good range of shifts Good pay Great Managers

    Cons

    Hours can be long Heavy workload

    Advice to Management

    Look within Lidl for championing the next area managers

    Lidl2019-10-21
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    Hard work but good pay

    Cons

    Lots of manual work, lifting etc.

    Lidl2019-10-14
  10. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work at Lidl GB

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Lidl2019-10-11
Found 2494 reviews
</>Embed