Lettuce Entertain You Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Lettuce Entertain You Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 178 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Kevin Brown
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "great management, great benefits, fun work environment(in 13 reviews)

  • "LEYE is the best restaurant group in Chicago(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours working in the restaurant setting -- but that's expected(in 15 reviews)

  • "Culture of elitism in upper management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Petterinos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Short shifts. Ok food

    Cons

    Management doesnt know what theyre doing

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-06-29

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    July 1, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. I would like to hear more about your experience with us. Please contact me directly at 773-878-5588. Thank you. -- Susie Southgate-Fox, Executive Vice President, Human Resources

  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company benefits Everyone works hard Hands-on managers Great training program

    Cons

    As with most restaurants, servers make more than bartenders The “the answer is yes, the question is how” motto can sometimes be frustrating

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-05-28

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    June 3, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback – we appreciate it! Please contact Susie Southgate-Fox, EVP of Human Resources, at 773-878-5588 if you wish to discuss your feedback further.

  3. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management cares about its employees.

    Cons

    It’s the service industry. Your money and livelihood depends on the pockets and generosity of others.

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-05-24

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    May 28, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Your feedback is genuinely appreciated and important to us. If you want to further discuss any feedback, please contact Susie Southgate-Fox, EVP of Human Resources, at 773-878-5588. Thank you again.

  4. "Can't complain too much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits Discount at all LEYE restaurants Most employees are cool

    Cons

    A "boys club" when it comes to upper management Problematic managers or partners that are often overlooked

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-05-15

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    May 21, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. I would like to hear more about your experience with us. Please contact me directly at 773-878-5588. Thank you. -- Susie Southgate-Fox, Executive Vice President, Human Resources

  5. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Lincolnshire, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great management, great benefits, fun work environment

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-04-04

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    April 9, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback from caring employees like you is really important to our continuing efforts to make Lettuce Entertain You a great place to work. Appreciate it!

  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You full-time

      Pros

      The people at Lettuce make the company so great! A lot of long time employees.

      Cons

      Not always a ton of room for growth as many people stay with the company forever.

      Lettuce Entertain You2019-04-02

      Lettuce Entertain You Response

      April 9, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Your feedback is genuinely appreciated and important to us. If you want to further discuss any feedback, please contact Susie Southgate-Fox, EVP of Human Resources, at 773-878-5588. Thank you again.

    • "great company, horrible job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Catering Coordinator 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Good company environment. -I really liked the people I worked with -lots of hours if you want them -free meals

      Cons

      -Basically no benefits until after a year of working there -Actual job was a lot more responsibility than actual jobs description -management would never take responsibility -Horrible PAY!

      Lettuce Entertain You2019-04-03

      Lettuce Entertain You Response

      April 9, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback. I would very much like to talk to you about your experience. Please contact me directly at 773-878-5588. Thank you. -- Susie Southgate-Fox, Executive Vice President, Human Resources

    • "Cultish Corporate Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Management 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Lots of growth opportunity for entry level managers Treat their employees very well Pay is generally above industry standard

      Cons

      Lots and lots of corporate red tape to get anything done HR will will be a constant issue for any manager and takes up much of your time. Culture of elitism in upper management. Very cultish in many ways.

      Lettuce Entertain You2019-03-19

      Lettuce Entertain You Response

      March 22, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback. I would like to hear more about your experience with us. Please contact me directly at 773-878-5588. Thank you. -- Susie Southgate-Fox, Executive Vice President, Human Resources

    • "solid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Barista 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Management does well with putting customers first.

      Cons

      I don't feel apart of the team and they take advantage of the baristas; considering we don't get tipped out, it is not our responsibility to babysit your servers.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work

      Lettuce Entertain You2019-03-16

      Lettuce Entertain You Response

      March 20, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your comments. Feedback from our caring employees (like you) helps us in our ongoing efforts to continually improve. If you’d like to further discuss your feedback, please call 773-878-5588 to reach Susie Southgate-Fox, EVP of HR.

    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      There is excellent room for growth within the company. Fantastic benefits, and the chance to work with passionate people.

      Cons

      There is hard work, which in my mind is actually a pro. You get out of this company what you put in.

      Lettuce Entertain You2019-02-19

      Lettuce Entertain You Response

      February 25, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Feedback from caring employees like you is an important part of our continuing efforts to make Lettuce Entertain You a great place to work. We appreciate it!

    Found 178 reviews