Lettuce Entertain You Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Lettuce Entertain You Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 185 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Lettuce Entertain You CEO Kevin Brown (no image)
Kevin Brown
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "great management, great benefits, fun work environment(in 13 reviews)

  • "LEYE is the best restaurant group in Chicago(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours working in the restaurant setting -- but that's expected(in 15 reviews)

  • "Culture of elitism in upper management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid company that promotes from within and offers benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You

    Pros

    Supportive management staff and colleagues

    Cons

    Difficult to acquire said benefits

    Advice to Management

    It is difficult to meet the weekly hourly requirements to acquire health benefits. One of the things that used to make Lettuce Entertain You stand out was the benefits- which were offered to employees working as little as 12 hours/week.

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-09-12

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    September 12, 2019

    We're truly glad to hear you think highly of your colleagues and managers. Receiving this type of direct feedback from our caring employees (like you) helps us in our ongoing efforts to continually improve. If you’d like to further discuss your feedback, we invite you to contact Susie ...

    Show More
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Catering Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly management and hourly employees, great restaurant discounts

    Cons

    long hours and evening hours

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-08-16

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    August 23, 2019

    Your comments are very helpful; thanks so much! Receiving this type of direct feedback from our caring employees (like you) helps us in our ongoing efforts to continually improve. If you’d like to further discuss your feedback, we invite you to contact Susie Southgate-Fox, the EVP ...

    Show More
  3. "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast, fun, good money, great benefits

    Cons

    All cons of restaurant industry

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-08-13

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    August 21, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! Receiving feedback from caring employees like you is so important in maintaining the caring, creative atmosphere of Lettuce Entertain You. Please know that if you want to further discuss your feedback, you can contact our EVP of HR, Susie Southgate-Fox, ...

    Show More
  4. "Houseman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Houseman in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, great management, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    stressful, late nights, busy, hot

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-08-09

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    August 13, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your coworkers and management team – we appreciate it! If you wish to further discuss your feedback, please contact Susie Southgate-Fox, EVP of Human Resources, at 773-878-5588. Thanks again.

  5. "Okay Job, Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lettuce Entertain You part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off food and good training program. But that's about where it ends.

    Cons

    Upper management sucks, some of the managers aren't very friendly and are not very accommodating, if you do take this job, make sure you never want a weekend off unless you're one of the favorites. Otherwise you'll be working at least 2 out of the three "weekend" days for the rest of your time there. Shaw's and Tokio Pub are defiantly not what they used to be and I know a lot of that has to deal with how short... staffed they are, which if you like working 6+ shifts a week sometimes even having back to back opening and closing the restaurant, might be perfect for some people but as a student or someone with another job not ideal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please be more accommodating, nicer to your staff and actually treat them like how you would your guest that would come in and dine at the restaurant and make schedules based on availability. Thank you

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-08-22

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    September 4, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. I would like to hear more about your experience with us. Please contact me directly at 773-878-7698. Thank you. -- Susie Southgate-Fox, Executive Vice President, Human Resources.

  6. "Foodlife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Cashier 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lettuce Entertain You part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - You make great friends - Everyone is friendly - You are able to learn more then one position

    Cons

    - Sometimes is can get very slow and make things boring - There are some tasks you will have to do yourself on a very busy day

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-08-03

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    August 13, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your time with Lettuce Entertain You Restaurants -- your feedback is genuinely important to us. To further share your thoughts on your time at Lettuce, please feel free to contact Susie Southgate-Fox, EVP of Human Resources, at 773-878-5588.

  7. "Summerhouse review and comments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lettuce Entertain You part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ownership is absolutely and positively amazing

    Cons

    Management is not the best

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-07-22

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    July 24, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. I would like to hear more about your experience with us. Please contact me directly at 773-878-5588. Thank you. -- Susie Southgate-Fox, Executive Vice President, Human Resources

  8. "Petterinos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Short shifts. Ok food

    Cons

    Management doesnt know what theyre doing

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-06-29

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    July 1, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. I would like to hear more about your experience with us. Please contact me directly at 773-878-5588. Thank you. -- Susie Southgate-Fox, Executive Vice President, Human Resources

  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company benefits Everyone works hard Hands-on managers Great training program

    Cons

    As with most restaurants, servers make more than bartenders The “the answer is yes, the question is how” motto can sometimes be frustrating

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-05-28

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    June 3, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback – we appreciate it! Please contact Susie Southgate-Fox, EVP of Human Resources, at 773-878-5588 if you wish to discuss your feedback further.

  10. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lettuce Entertain You full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management cares about its employees.

    Cons

    It’s the service industry. Your money and livelihood depends on the pockets and generosity of others.

    Lettuce Entertain You2019-05-24

    Lettuce Entertain You Response

    May 28, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Your feedback is genuinely appreciated and important to us. If you want to further discuss any feedback, please contact Susie Southgate-Fox, EVP of Human Resources, at 773-878-5588. Thank you again.

Found 185 reviews