Lehigh Hanson Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Lehigh Hanson Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Lehigh Hanson CEO Jon Morrish
Jon Morrish
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance therefore could be affected(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good pay, good benefits, job stability is good if you work hard(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Student co-op work term at Inland Aggregates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lehigh Hanson

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, relaxed atmosphere. Good stepping stone for engineering students stepping into the industry for the first time.

    Cons

    Night shifts may be required.

    Advice to Management

    Solicit employee feedback.

    Lehigh Hanson2018-03-09
  2. "Machine operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lehigh Hanson full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and good benifits

    Cons

    long hours and no work life balance.

    Lehigh Hanson2018-12-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Over Worked Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lehigh Hanson full-time

    Pros

    A couple Managers are really great.

    Cons

    Upper management is great at giving employees extra tasks that are actually another full time job, which turn into their regular duties. This has created burn out and causes the employees to be disengaged.

    Advice to Management

    Getting rid of support staff and piling those duties on everyone else may look good on the bottom line but is never the best idea.

    Lehigh Hanson2018-12-22
  4. "Quality Control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Lehigh Hanson

    Pros

    Good initiatives for hiring co-op students to provide them with experience

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity to advance once you are in your position

    Lehigh Hanson2018-10-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lehigh Hanson full-time

    Pros

    stable company with good benefits

    Cons

    not loyal to acquired employees

    Lehigh Hanson2018-09-26
  6. "Excellent Organization to be a part of..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lehigh Hanson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Development Programs - Education Reimbursement - Competitive Salary - Good Benefits and Matching Programs

    Cons

    - Large companies tend to move slower when it comes to change and making decisions. LH isn't as bad as other organizations I've worked for, but if I had to pick a "Con" this would be it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Lehigh Hanson2018-07-17

    Lehigh Hanson Response

    July 23, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience that you have had at Lehigh Hanson! We have done our best to make sure that decisions are completed in the most efficient way possible. We genuinely care about our employees, and are working hard to make sure that we continually improve. ...

    Show More
  7. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lehigh Hanson full-time

    Pros

    Good experience Good benefits Overtime

    Cons

    Terrible management. If one supervisor doesn't like you from day one, you'll find out the hard way!

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting good workers go.

    Lehigh Hanson2018-07-05
  8. "Lehigh Hanson has a great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lehigh Hanson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lehigh Hanson is a people focused materials company that breeds a culture of teamwork and personal development.

    Cons

    While the company provides a dynamic environment, some newer technologies and cloud-based tools and applications are only being slowly adopted.

    Advice to Management

    Our customer centric focus is already seeing great gains and the potential is yet to be realized. Our internal colleagues could benefit just as much from this focus and paradigm shift to deliver even better internal efficiencies.

    Lehigh Hanson2017-10-16
  9. "Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lehigh Hanson full-time

    Pros

    Engineering - will give you opportunities. Industry is solid with long term job security. COmpany promotes from within.

    Cons

    Typical industrial complaints. No planning, butting heads with different work groups. Shutdown work means you're busy for 1 month of the year

    Lehigh Hanson2016-08-03
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Old boys club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Suit + Tie 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lehigh Hanson

    Pros

    offers average/base everything; salary is on par with market; Insurance -3/4 coverage health -vision. Work typical 9 to 5, work load is easy -employees / management are kind -- respectful

    Cons

    Bad HR support, very basic, non-engaging, zero modern day benefits, very fake/shallow attempts at improvements. Whatever health propaganda in addition to any program that exists is useless, non beneficial, poorly measured work-life Basic vacation time-- not with the times; designed as a clock-in-out type environment poor allowance of flexible or efficient time management; bad training + support; poor... educational support; UN-rewarding management; management engagement lackluster; teamwork non-existing; tech and soft support playing catch up; baf bonus structure; no equity rewrd; trickle down hierarchy; things going well = no recognition things going poor='';earn less;lose benifits;take on more resp'blty; 0 mentorship comp culture? vision? mission? profit b/f employee, not even trying to hide it- make poor effort to incentivize worker hierarchy discon'ct full scale policy enforcement flip-flop-- company will often ignore/break policy to their benefit

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go read a modern day business book, and pray that anyone valuable under 35 stays for longer than few years. big company yet out of touch - the competition is ahead by a long shot as they proven to offer more training, mentors, engagement, guidance.

    Lehigh Hanson2015-12-17
Found 129 reviews