Le Site Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 40 reviews

2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
Le Site President Erick Vadeboncoeur (no image)
Erick Vadeboncoeur
0 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing

    Jun 4, 2020 - IT Director in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Very receptive and open to new ideas - Proactive team - Result-driven work - Friendly environment

    Cons

    For some people, the location is a problem, the office is based in the heart of Montreal.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Dynamic environment

    Apr 15, 2021 - Account Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Motivating work environment always new

    Cons

    Needed more experienced programmers and more staff

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    bad working organization but good people

    Jan 18, 2021 - Project Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work on various projects and businesses

    Cons

    bad work organization, bad management

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The work is awful, management doesn't have a clue what to do. At least I met some good people along the way.

    Feb 15, 2020 - Front End Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office is nice and well located. Salaries are good. Good place to learn if you don't mind the grind. If you're lucky you might get to work with some nice people.

    Cons

    The work is really boring. Always doing Magento, sites tend to all look the same to "save development time". The upper management does not have a clue how to manage an agency. The projects are always under-evaluated, which puts a lot of stress on developers. Features are added last minutes at no cost. Clients complain that projets don't get delivered on time, etc etc etc. In the couple of years I worked there, I have seen less than a handful of projets delivered. The office environment is really toxic and it feels like a lot of people are on the brink of snapping. Some of the most interesting projets are sold as if they are being made in-house but are instead offloaded to other developers in Europe. For all the above reasons, the employee turnover rate is incredibly high. If you like working with someone there, enjoy it while it lasts because they probably won't stay for long. Promises are made, like compensations and stuff, but never really delivered.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Management has no sense of accountability

    Aug 30, 2020 - Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice location. Good bars in the vicinity if you regret your decision to join Le Site and feel like drowning your sorrows.

    Cons

    This year, Le Site laid off several employees in a mass layoff. These employees were give 8-weeks notice as per Quebec regulations. Most employees ended up finding new jobs before the 8 weeks were over. However, some were unable to find new work before COVID struck. Le Site management decided to take advantage of COVID and "temporarily lay off" these employees, with the result that these employees are still Le Site employees and have not received their vacation pay and the rest of the money Le Site owe them. Also, Le Site does not have developers in-house. They have outsourced their development operations to a company in Latvia called Scandiweb.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Bad management

    Apr 20, 2020 - Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The ambiance between people was nice and devs were doing there best job to deliver the most value for their client. I learn a lot from them.

    Cons

    Since I started to the end of my job, I see the situation decrease year after year. I was hoping that everything will be better in the next months, but after the lay off I understand (to late) that this company is not going anywhere and was not going anywhere. Senior Devs leaving the company, no devs were hire to replace them not even junior devs (even with no experience of Magento). More and more client get angry at us, because of false promise and the lack of transparency. Management believed that one BE and one FE could handle 2 to 3 project in development and 2 to 3 maintenance projects at the same time, but the maths were not there for those people. In three years, management only listen to us one time. Technical aspect are decide by non technical people, those decisions lead the devs and PMs to took hits from client and generate frustration between PMs and Devs. True Magento onboarding does not exit for new people specially for PMs. Moreover, PMs are drop on project without any information and are ask deliver it, this add even more frustration between PMs and Devs.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Poorly managed with strange decisions that led to collapse

    Apr 7, 2020 - Backend Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great development team with a lot of knowledge and a nice work life balance. Lots of time for lunch and beer. I was never asked to work overtime.

    Cons

    Upper management made some truly baffling decisions that made no sense. Got acquired by a company to build their site, and when the site had no sales they laid off everyone except for the sales team. The management was stubborn and doubled down on their bad decisions and didn't include any of the employees in the decision making process (some of employees being more senior than upper management). Projects and features get insanely undersold to land the client, and then the blame/pressure falls on the devs when they can't deliver. Eventually the clients end up leaving. Bonuses get promised and not delivered, a toxic culture at the top lead to toxicity among the teams until everyone was complaining and hated their job. Glad to have gotten out.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Enough is enough

    May 28, 2020 - Front-end 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Half of the workplace was made up of great working people who knew their trade. Real professionals that helped me grow as a person, as a dev, and who all got great jobs elsewhere now.

    Cons

    I did not plan on writing a review; i felt it was professional curtesy to be kind to a previous employer who did game me a great opportunity at a time. Alas the employer i liked is long gone today. About a year ago, new management came in; basically people from another market who had sadly no idea how a web agency worked. They were great at using promising terms and buzzwords, talking about growth, opportunities, and calling themselves "E-comm gurus". What happened was basically a downward spiral; Senior devs weren't listened to and technical and strategic decisions fell on people with no technical skills. Those dev then were blamed when they failed to deliver on things they warned their managers about at the very start. Senoirs, seeing this, left for a place their input would be listened to. Management, having no respect for development process, either did not replace them, or hired juniors (and you can see on other reviews they wrote how they treated those) Basically, the CBD market failed, and the websites ended up with no sales at all. To avoid the shame of it and to look good in front of investors, the new management decided to offload the blame on the Devs, which then led to a toxic work environnement and the seniors leaving. Seeing the company was going down (and actually seeing toxic behavior from mid-management get rewarded with promotions), i decided to get a job at a workplace that respects itself better. It was actually a good move, since a few months later, the dev team was all laid off, in favor of cheap labor from east europeans countries. Then again, the company never really valued dev expertise, so it was a natural scapegoat for them. Now why am i writing this? I was quiet. Someone in management is keen on spreading lies about the dev team. We're all friends, and we know who this is. We do our best to report the false posts to Glassdoor review, but seeing my ex-colleagues get repeatedly insulted by fake profiles is getting old. This is actually a really good example at the mood at LeSite. Management will spread lies, use empty buzzword and cheap sales tactics, will throw you under the bus for their failures, and pretend they are helping you as they try to get the most of the sinking ship. They treat their clients the same way, pretending they develop in house, selling impossible projects that ends up half-done, and actually hiding information. See the fake reviews the self-proclaimed Guru wrote, and ask yourself if you would trust this team to build a project for your needs, or to offer you a workplace where you are treated with respect. And if you are reading, all the former devs all got great jobs now, and no one would go back. Better pay, better respect, better projects, and working for a professional agency that doesn't let some frustrated, small people spread falsehood on a review website.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a nice company to work for

    Aug 24, 2020 - Project Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The ping pong table is the main highlight. Good quality and plenty of space to play.

    Cons

    The atmosphere is bad. There is no company culture and managers are too superficial. I will remove my work experience there from my resume

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Short-sighted management more concerned with image than substance

    Aug 23, 2020 - Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting and talented individual employees

    Cons

    More concerned with style than substance

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Popular Careers with Le Site Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Le Site? Share Your Experiences

Le Site logo
or