Latitude Geographics Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Latitude Geographics Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Steven Myhill-Jones
8 Ratings
  1. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Latitude Geographics full-time

    Pros

    Happy and friendly coworkers Employees are obviously valued highly Free snacks and coffee/tea Fast paced work environment

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Latitude Geographics2017-08-09
  2. "Excellent coworkers, good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Latitude Geographics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Excellent team environment - Fairly engaging work - Good work life balance, overtime is rare

    Cons

    - Pay is fair, but no better than that - Opportunities for professional development are lacking

    Latitude Geographics2019-01-15
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Would Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Latitude Geographics full-time

    Pros

    Great perks: free snacks and coffee, an opportunity to speak in front of employees, nice location/offices

    Cons

    After latitude got outside investment they lost their heart and soul. They don’t value their employees, they don’t have the same ethical values as they say they do online, upper management has a definate lack of experience and care more for money than their employees, and the salary is not very competitive. I would recommend against working at Latitude.

    Latitude Geographics2018-07-12
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Latitude Geographics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked for a lot of different companies, and this has been by far the best run.

    Cons

    Still a small company, but growing well.

    Advice to Management

    Excellent at the strategic direction of the company.

    Latitude Geographics2017-05-24
  5. "Review Title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Victoria, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Latitude Geographics for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent culture and coworkers overall.

      Cons

      Lack of salary transparency, development teams' alignments.

      Advice to Management

      Increase collaboration among development teams.

      Latitude Geographics2017-04-27
    • "Great people, great environment."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Victoria, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Latitude Geographics full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Latitude is a great company to work for, filled with great people who genuinely care about the work that they do. The social atmosphere is also great here, as you will almost always find a group of people hanging out on the rooftop patio on a Friday evening.

      Cons

      Being a small-medium sized company, there isn't a lot of room for career advancement. Some opportunities are definitely available though, but it's generally not presented as a clear path. Also, as noted by others, the pay ranges are generally on the low side.

      Latitude Geographics2017-04-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Software Dev Role"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Latitude Geographics full-time

      Pros

      - Great people and work culture - Good office location (Victoria) and modern office space - Interesting work with a diverse set of products

      Cons

      - Low pay - Communication from management is sometimes lacking

      Latitude Geographics2016-09-23
    • Helpful (3)

      "Stable, solid software company with a promising future"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Victoria, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Latitude Geographics for more than a year

      Pros

      My experience at Latitude was very positive, and I would definitely recommend the company to a prospective employee. In a tech industry that's had it's fair share of ups and downs throughout the years, Latitude has demonstrated steady growth and a sustainable business model. For junior software developers, Latitude provides a great opportunity to gain valuable hands-on experience working on a well-designed core product,...

      Show More

      Cons

      Because of the limited scope of the product offering (mapping and GIS software), if a prospective employee was looking for more diverse experience working with a variety of software product types, that might be considered a drawback.

      Latitude Geographics2014-01-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - UI/User Experience Designer/Developer in Victoria, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Latitude Geographics full-time

      Pros

      Company culture - Great work environment, beautiful location, strong leadership and management, cool team vibe. Staff - Diverse, friendly, engaged, and highly talented colleagues. Company is growing - Great core products, big clients, with lots of future potential.

      Cons

      Marginal organization design improvements would be beneficial, to address increased (and increasing) company size.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to learn and adapt to dynamics inherent with increased company size. Simplify perceived complexity of product offerings.

      Latitude Geographics2014-01-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "Dream company, dream team, dream job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer in Victoria, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Latitude Geographics full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Today is my last day at Latitude. While I still have the privilege to call myself a latituder I wanted to share my thoughts about why Latitude is a dream company to work for. I am a great Apple fan and for me Latitude is to Employers as Apple is to Consumer Electronics - both have an uncompromising focus on quality, customer and employee delight, ethics, success and a passion for innovation. Here was how some...

      Show More

      Cons

      I hope latitude will continue to make itself a place where the latituders really want to be. It is hard to think of a lot of cons. 1. It is not a HUGE company - this can sometimes be con. But it is also a good thing. 2. It is not a very diversified company - this can sometimes be con - but if you like GIS it is not a con at all.

      Advice to Management

      I hope latitude will continue to strive to make latitude the "place where every latituder really wants to be".

      Latitude Geographics2013-11-13
    Found 15 reviews