Labatt Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Labatt Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Labatt President  Kyle Norrington
Kyle Norrington
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free beer and many other goodies(in 17 reviews)

  • "great people, good benefits and pay(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Have to focus on maintenaning a healthy work life balance(in 38 reviews)

  • "No work-life balance, in fact, "work-life" is considered a bad word here(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company with a Culture of Meritocracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    1) My curiosity and enterpeneualism are highly encouraged and I have ownership overmy projects. The work on a day to day basis is extremely dynamic 2)My colleagues are very passionate about the work and the company and they are always approachable and supportive 3) The management team has helped my development and provided mentorship and guidance to me from my first day at the company. This applies to everyone from my immediate manager, all the way to members of the management committe-- they are always enocuraging, approachable and show great leadership

    Show More

    Cons

    Some roles may not be suitable for everyone because you are expected to be a self-starter and set your own course, which does not work for everyone. In addition, progression is more limited if you are not fully mobile

    Advice to Management

    Work on a continued focus on diversity, when our colleagues join the company with varied career experience, education, gender experience, etc. it makes the work environment more dynamic and leads to innovation and new idea generation

    Labatt2019-02-27
  2. "Excited to come to work every day for over 10 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Commercial Operations in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    Our company embraces cross-functional movement, to give deserving people opportunities to learn all aspects of our business. I've been fortunate enough to work in 4 different functions and leverage learnings from each on a regular basis.

    Cons

    Despite a culture of informality in the workplace, we operate at a very high pace that can be very demanding (and exciting!!). Not everyone is willing and/or able to meet the expectations of the company.

    Labatt2020-01-10
  3. "Highly structured, Results Oriented, but good compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Confirmation Team Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Labatt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will learn a detailed and systematic approach to sales and distribution. Attending music and sports events which were sponsored. Fair compensation. Company car. Some stay and grow with the company for a long time.

    Cons

    Office culture was a bit toxic which stemmed from 1 leader. Senior sales staff felt undervalued and stressed at times. These issues led to relatively high turn over.

    Advice to Management

    Respect and value your sales team.

    Labatt2020-01-16
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Lots of opportunity to move up. Work hard play hard mentality.

    Cons

    Have to focus on maintenaning a healthy work life balance.

    Labatt2019-12-19
  5. "Good company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Labatt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture with flexible hours

    Cons

    Expected to work long hours Need to be mobile to be promoted

    Labatt2019-12-01
  6. "Good perks, tough compensation package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Merchandiser 

    I have been working at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    Perks including free beer, tickets to hockey games, ski tickets Great team environment and culture

    Cons

    Very low pay, no benefits, unpaid vacation Lots of heavy lifting and drop offs Promotions from top down only and not merit based

    Labatt2019-12-10
  7. "Sales rep for area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, fun industry, strong brands

    Cons

    No annual raise, political office environment

    Labatt2019-11-17
  8. "GMT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GMT 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    great people, good benefits and pay

    Cons

    cultural issues (entire industry not just labatt)

    Labatt2019-11-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Typical large CPG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Labatt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people who work hard.

    Cons

    Feeder system. Intended to squeeze everything out of you for limited compensation. Develops you into a top tier candidate for any organization.

    Labatt2019-11-17
  10. "Thought it was bad at the time but seems good now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Millwright 
    Recommends

    I worked at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    Location was good. Salary good for in town. Coworkers were mostly good. Safety was average.

    Cons

    Management out of reach. Scheduling Time off .

    Advice to Management

    Listen to low level employees.

    Labatt2019-10-09
Found 162 reviews