Labatt Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Labatt President  Kyle Norrington
Kyle Norrington
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "free beer; fast track of career opportunities; young work force(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great people and always challenging status quo(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "work/life balance can be difficult(in 40 reviews)

  • "no work/life balance - everyone is expected to work non stop to get the job done(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Human Resources in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Labatt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone was dedicated to the work. The leadership was the best and people cared about each other as much as doing a good job.

    Cons

    There wasn’t much downside. You put in long hours, but it’s worth it because you learn to much.

    Continue reading

    Labatt Response

    May 26, 2020The People Team

    Thank you for your review! Glad to hear you had a positive experience in the role, and we will ensure to continue to invest in our employees, as our people are our greatest strength.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work for career development"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst (PPM) in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    Great people and always challenging status quo

    Cons

    Internal positions not always visible to everyone


  3. "Good Place for Young Workers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Process Manager in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Labatt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations, operations run very lean.

    Labatt Response

    July 8, 2020The People Team

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. You are right, there are endless learning opportunities, and while our culture is competitive, we encourage our people to push themselves to realize their full potential.

  4. "Good for long term work period."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Operator in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Labatt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they make sure that all the employee safety procedures are followed.

    Cons

    Pay was low. 12 hour shifts. Employees are hired as temps and can stay like that for years.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Management Trainee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Labatt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong culture, fantastic people. This is definitely a company where everyone is happy to help out.

    Cons

    Long work hours and slow industry means there's no bonus payouts.

    Labatt Response

    May 26, 2020The People Team

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad that you can reflect on your time with us as a good learning experience through the GMT Program.

  6. "Ownership and Development"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    Constantly learning, strong culture of ownership, never a dull moment, lots of opportunity for internal movement

    Cons

    Not for everyone - can be a chaotic, ambiguous environment

    Labatt Response

    May 26, 2020The People Team

    Thanks for your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoy and thrive in our ownership culture! We value our people and will continue to focus on and invest in their personal & professional development.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Chaos - overworked, understaffed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Beer Card - a few good projects - here and there

    Cons

    - lack of original ideas - gimmicks vs. storytelling - bonus structure is a lie - no work/life balance - everyone is expected to work non stop to get the job done - too many projects, not enough staff to handle the workload - all projects are a rush - shrinking budgets - expected to take on more projects when already at capacity everyday - brand managers feel junior - indecisive, chaotic - ideas seem to be based on what other companies are doing first vs coming up with uniquely cool good ideas

    Continue reading

    Labatt Response

    May 26, 2020The People Team

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are actively seeking what stands out to our current and former employees, as we strive to continuously improve. We also believe in the spirit of ownership, and recognize that work life balance can be a challenge. We encourage you to address this with your manager to review and prioritize tasks.

  8. "Great Company, Driven Employees, Strong Inclusion & Diversity Structure"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Labatt is a true leader in the industry! Fast-paced, exciting and challenging company to grow your career. Employees are driven, sharp, and engaged. Some of the best in the industry. Proud of the work the company has done to be a leader in Inclusion & Diversity!

    Cons

    Work load is demanding as the company moves very fast.

    Continue reading

    Labatt Response

    May 6, 2020The People Team

    Thanks for your review, we’re glad to hear that you enjoy and thrive in our ownership culture! It always helps to work alongside great people that share the ambition of our business. We’re grateful for your feedback and commitment to helping us improve.

  9. "People Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work! You will learn skills that you didn't think imaginable all while working for brands you know and love. Endless opportunities for your career, gives you the foundation to be able to adapt to any work environment and thrive under pressure. If you're ready to be bold, resilient and agile - this is the place for you. Oh and, free beer.

    Cons

    It is a heavy work hard, play hard mentality. Have to be ready to put in the work to be able to achieve results.

    Labatt Response

    May 6, 2020The People Team

    Thank you for leaving a review. We’re happy to hear you’ve had such a positive experience with us as a People Manager!

  10. "Amazing company with passionate & driven people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Marketing Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    - Meritocracy is at the core of Labatt/ABInbev - Passionate & driven people to work alongside - Fast paced learning & development - Agile & nimble decision making

    Cons

    - Can be high very high stress - Opportunity to incorporate flexible work hours

    Labatt Response

    April 13, 2020The People Team

    Thank you for leaving a review. We’re glad you enjoy working with passionate people and share the ambition of our business!

Found 173 reviews