Labatt Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Labatt Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
41%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Labatt CEO Kyle Norrington
Kyle Norrington
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free beer and many other goodies(in 16 reviews)

  • "great people, good benefits and pay(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-Life Balance is a challenge in most roles(in 37 reviews)

  • "No work-life balance, in fact, "work-life" is considered a bad word here(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company with a Culture of Meritocracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    1) My curiosity and enterpeneualism are highly encouraged and I have ownership overmy projects. The work on a day to day basis is extremely dynamic 2)My colleagues are very passionate about the work and the company and they are always approachable and supportive 3) The management team has helped my development and provided mentorship and guidance to me from my first day at the company. This applies to everyone... from my immediate manager, all the way to members of the management committe-- they are always enocuraging, approachable and show great leadership

    Show More

    Cons

    Some roles may not be suitable for everyone because you are expected to be a self-starter and set your own course, which does not work for everyone. In addition, progression is more limited if you are not fully mobile

    Advice to Management

    Work on a continued focus on diversity, when our colleagues join the company with varied career experience, education, gender experience, etc. it makes the work environment more dynamic and leads to innovation and new idea generation

    Labatt2019-02-27
  2. "Great, challenging culture. Fast-paced growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Labatt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to own large-scale/high-impact projects Big influential brands Lots of cross-functional opportunities Talented, ambitious coworkers Informal culture - people wear jeans

    Cons

    Costs are managed tightly and you have to be creative to get funding for initiatives Lack of internal structures can be frustrating if you're someone who needs direction

    Labatt2019-04-29
  3. "Sales rep for area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, fun industry, strong brands

    Cons

    No annual raise, political office environment

    Labatt2019-11-17
  4. "Typical large CPG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Labatt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people who work hard.

    Cons

    Feeder system. Intended to squeeze everything out of you for limited compensation. Develops you into a top tier candidate for any organization.

    Labatt2019-11-17
  5. "GMT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GMT 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    great people, good benefits and pay

    Cons

    cultural issues (entire industry not just labatt)

    Labatt2019-11-11
  6. "Thought it was bad at the time but seems good now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Millwright 
    Recommends

    I worked at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    Location was good. Salary good for in town. Coworkers were mostly good. Safety was average.

    Cons

    Management out of reach. Scheduling Time off .

    Advice to Management

    Listen to low level employees.

    Labatt2019-10-09
  7. "Learn how a big business operates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Telesales Agent 

    I worked at Labatt part-time

    Pros

    The pay was good with the bonuses

    Cons

    Career management could be improved

    Labatt2019-09-05
  8. "Amazing sales organization but overworked and underpaid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GMT in Toronto, ON
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Labatt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Give a lot of responsibility to you in the early stage of your career, have processess in place that have the right intention (mentor programs, etc), a lot to learn from a perennial leader (especially in M&A)

    Cons

    Overworked, underpaid, very competitive and even toxic culture, run by non-locals due to ownership by 3G, a lot of politics

    Labatt2019-08-12
  9. "Think about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Labatt full-time

    Pros

    Young employees, always busy (makes your day go by), genuinely good people

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance, the pay is not competitive, luring bonus however rarely paid out, poor senior leadership direction/confidence, poor communication/finger pointing

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your experienced or eager employees. Pay for quality.

    Labatt2019-08-25
  10. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Labatt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Learn a lot, develop leadership, great experience, challenging.

    Cons

    New in position really weak, stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Higher salaries for the stress or more people for the jobs. Better new in position.

    Labatt2019-08-02
Found 156 reviews