La Maison Simons "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

La Maison Simons Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Large work environment; you easily become friends with many of the people you work with(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good pay, and no commission; so hardly any cattiness(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "management can be strict sometimes, dress code is very formal(in 19 reviews)

  • "Maybe a good thing when you’re full time but not part time(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Working Place with flexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at La Maison Simons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High Base Pay Flexible Schedule Comfortable Work Environment

    Cons

    Sometimes you might get not enough hours

    La Maison Simons2020-01-27
  2. "Amazing place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment was amazing and i always got paid on time

    Cons

    They let go of all the part time seasonal

    La Maison Simons2020-01-13
  3. "A Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Large work environment; you easily become friends with many of the people you work with - Spacious and clean work environment - Your roles and responsibilities are clearly identified (i.e. working the cashier, helping stock new + incoming merchandise, helping customers, perform visual merchandising/rearrange items to match a new theme, etc.) - Some of management was nice and reasonable - You get decent health, dental, and vacation benefits if you are full-time for at least 6 months I believe

    Cons

    - Management was at times unorganized, out of sync with each other, and highly inconsistent - They were always changing minor rules as a show of authority for whatever reason - Some of the management would be unprofessional sometimes - Employee discounts were horrible

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2019-09-19
  4. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at La Maison Simons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people comfortable work environment

    Cons

    Hard to get vacation time

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2019-07-15
  5. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, breaks are evenly spaced out (1hr and 2x 15min) for a 9H shift

    Cons

    Need to dress up every day (suits for guys and dresses or pants with blazer for girls) which can get expensive

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2019-05-01
  6. "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at La Maison Simons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fair compensation, great work environment, and build some long-lasting relationships in my time there. Would highly recommend

    Cons

    Management tends to be fairly hands on all the time, which can cause additional stress for both employees and them.

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2018-12-12
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons

    Pros

    neat, clean work environment

    Cons

    hourly paid no commission

    La Maison Simons2018-11-09
  8. "customer services associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at La Maison Simons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very organized retail company, nice working environment, employees in Simons feel comfortable

    Cons

    as a retail company, I feel its almost perfect, nothing special cons.

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2017-11-12
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Awful treatment of dedicated employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Canadian business, fair compensation, clean and artistic work environment.

    Cons

    The HR at the West Edmonton mall location is a cruel and sadistic narcissist, who has two very different faces and does not adhere to the values I believe this company truly believe in. Front line staff (those who work hard every day for this company) are often distrusted and treated with complete and utter disregard. It is needless and tiresome after a while.

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2017-09-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at La Maison Simons part-time

    Pros

    -20% discount all year -40% discount twice a year for work clothes -great training -positive work environment -good pay ( $13 per hr to start)

    Cons

    -quite boring during slow seasons -hours after the holidays are terrible -lots of micro managing -strict dress code (really bad for men)

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2017-02-25
Found 15 reviews