La Maison Simons Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

La Maison Simons Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Large work environment; you easily become friends with many of the people you work with(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good pay, and no commission; so hardly any cattiness(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Dress code is strictly formal, no matter where in the store you work(in 18 reviews)

  • "strict dress code (really bad for men)(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Working Place with flexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at La Maison Simons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High Base Pay Flexible Schedule Comfortable Work Environment

    Cons

    Sometimes you might get not enough hours

    La Maison Simons2020-01-27
  2. "Best place to work for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Formations Collegues are the best Management is rigorous but fair

    Cons

    Dress code (but not really a con personally)

    La Maison Simons2020-02-25
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun Staff/ Above Avg. Pay

    Cons

    No Parking/ Downtown is inconvenient to get to

    La Maison Simons2020-02-18
  4. "Decent calm working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Pay - Employees - Management

    Cons

    - Lack of employees to cover certain departments - Management can have favourites when it comes to promotions but isnt as bad as other retail stores - Benefits

    La Maison Simons2020-01-30
  5. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mannequin Stylist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at La Maison Simons full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, management and staff. Excellent communication in store and from head office. Everyone, employees and customers, seem genuinely happy to be there. Family owned company that understands that happy employees make for happy customers. Environmentally conscious (product and operations). Good work life balance. Low stress. Best company I have worked at in my 20 year retail career.

    Cons

    Very satisfied, I have no complaints.

    La Maison Simons2020-01-26
  6. "Great compnay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    amazingly friendly and nice team to work with

    Cons

    No room for errors

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2020-01-14
  7. "Amazing place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at La Maison Simons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment was amazing and i always got paid on time

    Cons

    They let go of all the part time seasonal

    La Maison Simons2020-01-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management toxic culture Park Royal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in West Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at La Maison Simons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed my actual job, it was creative and think the company of Maison Simons is great but is not translating to the Park Royal location

    Cons

    Two of the management at Park Royal need to be removed. They are ruining the morale of staff and it will be an endless cycle of people leaving. The other Simons locations in Quebec retain staff but not here and this is due to the poor internal management. It is a culture of bullying, mean girls club, intimidation and harassment as two in upper management at this location are very insecure and will openly run you down and others to make themselves look better. One individual in management sent naked photos of herself to male stock team members and that was overlooked by management and deemed not happening. If a male employee had done this he would have been terminated but as the two in upper management are friends so it was covered up Same individual let staff she liked text her personally and let them come in late for shifts without penalty. This individual felt very threatened by anyone who perhaps might know more than she did. Instead of using her staff's experience and knowledge to her benefit, she felt threatened and would put you down. Numerous comments by associates in store that if you did not follow her Instagram account she would make life at work impossible for you. It was a basically Mean Girls situation and these people are in their mid-thirties!!!! Same individual would often make open racist comments to staff on regular basis. Many people complained about this individuals comments but complaints were filtered and shut down at store level. The store has not had its own HR in place for years so if you wanted to file a complaint it had to go through another manager who was an ally of this individual. A few people did complain and it was supposed to be anonymous, but very soon after their complaints their lives were made difficult by these two individuals, so other staff took notice and did not complain, and kept their moves shut. Staff live in fear here. These two individuals looked after one another as they both seemed incompetent and were protecting their jobs. Both had been let go from previous employments for same types of behavior of bullying etc. and am wondering if Simons did reference check on them? Both had commented to me they hated talking to people and that I connected well with people and was far more personable than they were. They both lacked social skills and empathy. I am wondering how they got into management roles as dealing with people is the core of the job and these two did not like dealing with people. Only individuals that would get promoted at this location were people who had no personality or thoughts or would pose a possible threat, as these two individuals obviously wanted to mold people to behave like them and perpetuate a bullying culture they had created and wanted to maintain. It was mentioned throughout the store that one of the new managers who was promoted was asked to write staff up to prove she could be "tough". it was an initiation of sorts to see if she would fit in with the culture of these two individuals. The entire store lived in fear of the two individuals and one of them would threaten to "get rid of you" regularly if you did not agree with her. She did not like people , especially other women, but if you were a young attractive straight male then she liked you. If she could not push you around then she would make your job difficult. She had a bias towards employees older than herself and felt need to exert control all the time. If you were having a conversation with another team member she would often walk by and say ‘’what are you talking about? Are you talking about me”? She was aware staff disliked her and was paranoid. New staff in my department started at the store and quit fairly quickly working under her. They left citing she was a bully to management but again nothing was done and she was protected. The security cameras are not used to monitor theft but to monitor staff. These two individuals would sit in the security office for hours on end and watch other staff looking for them doing something wrong. Big brother is watching you! Also no cell phone policy at the store but apparently this did not apply to security staff and management as they were always texting and using their phones in the office. At one point one of these individuals had her personal Instagram set to open viewing and she often shared revealing photos of herself in limited clothing. Not professional for a senior member of staff or a role model for young women working in the store to post revealing photos of herself on Instagram. Simons is a at the forefront of fashion but one senior staff seemed to have no grasp of fashion. She dressed frumpy and looked unkempt most of the time and did not project a fashionable image. The two individuals did not lead or inspire as managers should, but instead bullied and harassed others to make themselves appear superior. I can only wonder what happened in these two individuals lives to make them treat others in such an awful fashion. People don’t quit jobs they quit managers and this is the case at this location. I believe the Simons family would be appalled to know what actually goes on at this location. When head office does visit the store, the two individuals are on their very best behavior and would pretend to be personable and your friend in front of them. They are great actresses. Meanwhile my boss would go days without speaking to me or acknowledging my presence on a regular basis.

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2020-01-16
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Divisional Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at La Maison Simons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of perks, good benefits and RRSP plans. Good atmosphere at work, and great products sold (quality/proce ratio). The HR is great as long as you do your job properly and within the Simons standard. Also a good freedom regarding the merchandising as far as you follow the basic guidelines.

    Cons

    Not a lot to be honest when you enjoy Fashion.

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2019-12-05
  10. "Decent Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at La Maison Simons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Co-workers -Good Hours (8-15 hours weekly for part timers) -40% seasonal discount and 20% employee discount.

    Cons

    -Management is too strict for a retail job. -Some managers don't like it when you have small talks with your co-workers. I got told off once for answering my co-worker's question about a product. - They care way too much about Customers over their own employees. - As a part-timer they require you to have all week day (evenings) and weekends open in your availability, considering that most employees are students( including myself) its Ridiculous. -The turnover rate is astonishing...when i was working there I saw new employees every month, and some of them quit after a few months. -HR is condescending and rude....could really careless about the employees. -Booking time off is difficult, max is 2 weeks, there's poor communication whether your request have been approved or rejected.

    Continue reading
    La Maison Simons2019-12-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 202 reviews