LBC Studios Reviews

Updated May 31, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 16 reviews

4.8
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
LBC Studios CEO Solon Bucholtz
Solon Bucholtz
3 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to work at, excellent management

    May 31, 2021 - Marketing Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent for personal growth, great work and life balance, and very trusting leadership team.

    Cons

    The studio is currently small still - not everything has been structured yet but definitely on the road to improving that.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good studio for work and life balance

    Jan 20, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good leaders Nice colleagues Work and life balance

    Cons

    Can not think of anything for now

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Studio & Great Team!

    Aug 26, 2020 - Motion Designer in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's been a fantastic year for me at LBC! Our awesome CEO is always looking forward to the crew's happiness and that our teams always have what's needed to work properly and in great conditions. A studio and team that goes above and beyond.

    Cons

    No cons at all. So far my experience has been one of the best in my career.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company I've ever worked at by far.

    Oct 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Caveat: I still work here. But this is an honest review. A lot of companies make claims about flat structure, work/life balance, looking after employees, but LBC actually walks the walk.

    Cons

    I'll find it hard to deal with second best ever again if i have to, honestly.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great games, company, place to work

    Oct 17, 2019 - Senior Game Designer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Amazing leadership. The cofounders care about everyone who works there. - Competitive salaries - Great company culture. Work's not just work. It's an enjoyable environment. - Exciting projects. Hempire is a success. Currently on 2nd title. Moving to 3rd. - Growing studio. Opportunities for professional growth.

    Cons

    Studio size is growing beyond it's current physical space.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Unicorn Studio!

    Aug 16, 2019 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pro's to this studio is that they value every one of there employees. It is a top priority to hear everyone's opinions and do the very best to accompany them. The owners make it a point to make sure their employees are comfortable and happy. ( They also stock a full kitchen with food every two weeks!)

    Cons

    Jam Cafes long line up every day! They usually block the entry to the stairwell.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A unicorn in game development

    Mar 26, 2019 - QA Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Understanding and supportive management structure. LBC is unlike any studio I've ever worked at before. We help each other, support each other and approach issues as a team. When I started at LBC we needed to do a large restructure of internal systems, since that time it's been a pleasure working with all of my co-workers and even though we've faced a lot of challenges it feels more like family than work.

    Cons

    You get more than enough rope to hang yourself with so you better be willing to work hard and deal with any shortcomings you may have. Not a company for those that need others to do their work for them.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A new kid on the gaming block

    Apr 17, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment where we are encouraged to foster our inner entrepreneurial spirit. This is a place where you dictate your own success and take ownership of what you do. Everyone is extremely supportive, collaborative, and most of all, awesome! Your potential is limitless here and the opportunity for career and personal growth is boundless. New, fresh ideas are encouraged always welcomed.

    Cons

    You must be a self starter and be able to answer the bell when duty calls. Although the hours may be flexible, you will need to make yourself available in times of an emergency.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Great Place for Motivated Self-Starters

    Mar 5, 2019 - Producer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - Open communication and high levels of transparency reinforced in our studio values - Competitive compensation with a rare list of perks including vacation, sick, and personal days - Scrappy start-up feel but strong business focus and care - Lots of room to self-improve, and management is very much interested in building a culture around personal and professional growth - Mistakes and processes are regularly reviewed, and those discussions are encouraged - Not a place where you can coast - Strong desire from management to recognize the value of their people

    Cons

    - We learn by failing, and we've had our share of failures to date - Weed-focused games not for everyone (but anyone working in games should have learned this lesson immediately) - Remote nature of much of our work can be a double-edged sword--if you aren't a strong communicator, you may hurt the team and your prospects here, and this opens the door to mistakes and miscommunications

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fosters Leadership and Growth

    Mar 6, 2019 - Community Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In my department at the studio, I'm lucky to have flexible hours, which enables me to continue to pursue my other passions, while completing all my tasks at a high level. Management is transparent and intrinsically motivated to support growth of their employees on both studio-related paths, and personal ventures. I feel valued and respected in my role.

    Cons

    Due to the remote nature of the work, not every person hired will turn out to be a good fit (i.e. as self-driven as other members of the team).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with LBC Studios Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at LBC Studios? Share Your Experiences

LBC Studios logo
or