LA County Department of Public Works Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

LA County Department of Public Works Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
LA County Department of Public Works Director Mark Pestrella
Mark Pestrella
4 Ratings
  1. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at LA County Department of Public Works part-time

    Pros

    Room to grow and they are very flexible working around your school schedule.

    Cons

    Work is part time and you can only work 6 years as a student worker. No benefits except 3 days sick leave for the year. Raises are far and few between,

    LA County Department of Public Works2016-09-16
  2. "civil Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Civil Engineering Student Worker in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LA County Department of Public Works

    Pros

    great overall experience! You learn how Public Work Projects are facilitated all the same while you learn how contractors will try to squeeze every extra cent where ever possible. You learn how to negotiate and you meet endless amounts of engineers that are willing to help you climb in the bureau

    Cons

    Hiring Freezes can take a while

    Continue reading
    LA County Department of Public Works2016-07-20
  3. "LA County Public Works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at LA County Department of Public Works

    Pros

    Great management Flexible work schedule Diverse work tasks/functions

    Cons

    20 hours minimum per week (can be tough if your taking a lot of units)

    LA County Department of Public Works2016-05-10
  4. "Civil Engineering Senior Design Project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Civil Engineer Senior Design Project in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at LA County Department of Public Works

    Pros

    Good place to work and the benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    No down side so far for me.

    Continue reading
    LA County Department of Public Works2015-12-10
  5. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Palmdale, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at LA County Department of Public Works part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This job is very flexible with any school schedule; where you can work up to 30 hours a week and attend school. You do not have to work 30 hours if you can't.

    Cons

    The pay is low and it also takes so long to get a decent raise. I started working 2 years ago at 9.92 and now I'm making 10.85. Not even a Dollar raise in 2 years.

    LA County Department of Public Works2015-12-21
  6. "Work hard show up everyday and still no promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Public Works in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at LA County Department of Public Works full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ok pay and good medical and all

    Cons

    Very bad when it comes to favoritism, and I've been here 4 years working harder then most, with a know how from past jobs, college. Guys with little time and NO know-how are passing me up. There not looking for talent nor a hard working drive. ONLY looking for guys they like to talk to and go to eat with. Guys with no experience driving trucks getting heavy truck position in 2 years . Ive went to college for them, only take about 3 sick days a year for them, work very hard with little supervision and always have a good can do attitude and still no promotion , boss treats me like I'm a nobody and treats the new guy "he" hired like a king. I have been treated like crap for to long.

    Continue reading
    LA County Department of Public Works2015-03-05
  7. "survey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I have been working at LA County Department of Public Works

    Pros

    good place to work here

    Cons

    nothing is bad in here

    LA County Department of Public Works2015-02-12
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Luck of the draw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at LA County Department of Public Works

    Pros

    It all depends which division and who your supervisor is as to whether or not you will enjoy the job. Can be laid back or overly stressful for the type of job. I gave it four stars because I really enjoyed the first division I was in, but have hated the one I transferred to (by my own request).

    Cons

    The massive diversity push is a detriment in my opinion. It slows down work when you can't understand 3/4 of the people in your department.

    Continue reading
    LA County Department of Public Works2014-11-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "civil engineering assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineering Assistant in Alhambra, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LA County Department of Public Works full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    4/40 schedule is the best ever, you have three days weekend every week. Most of the people you work with are very friendly and willing to help.

    Cons

    the work you do may not related to engineering.

    LA County Department of Public Works2014-11-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience if you get in the right place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Civil Engineer in Alhambra, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at LA County Department of Public Works full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been fortunate enough to get to work on very exciting projects with great people. Pay and benefits are great.

    Cons

    I have heard there are many unmotivated poor workings so it could be difficult having them work for you. Growth is very slow here.

    LA County Department of Public Works2014-06-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 25 reviews