L'Oréal Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal Chief Executive Officer Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
1,263 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Production"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Directer 

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy, professionals, driven, challenges and fun

    Cons

    It is alot of work

    L'Oréal2019-10-13
  2. "fine"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kcr in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal part-time

    Pros

    good team and friendly co-workers

    Cons

    low hourly wage, high standard

    L'Oréal2020-05-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst professional experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to products, nice colleagues

    Cons

    Toxic environment, fake reviews, long hours, horrible management

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2020-05-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very entrepreneurial which allows you to learn a great deal Lots of freedom to implement initiatives Great offices and location Many opportunities to move within the company Access to great products Many employee-focused benefits (work from home, discounts, benefits, pension)

    Cons

    Many members of management are not great leaders The vision is not always clear Can be slow to implement change on "must-haves" Base salaries not competitive and lack transparency to salary scale HR does not work with you but against you to meet their own objectives and not the company's Need to do a great deal with small budgets

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2020-02-09
  5. Helpful (7)

    "GASLIGHTING AT WORK"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Salary above average for the industry in 2018 (but this is changing in 2019) -Free beauty products and 50% discount -Big name to add to your CV which will open more and better opportunities

    Cons

    Although you can read the company's manifesto, code of ethics and values online, you only start to understand how this company REALLY is until after you work here for at least 5 months. The company culture of L'Oreal can be summarized as as follows: -They won't tolerate complaining about heavy workloads, unpaid overtime or bad management. You are responsible for developing your time management skills, and no one, neither your boss nor HR will ever accommodate you if you feel overstretched. -Bosses and managers at L'Oreal have too much power over you and your career. They can extend your probation for more than 1 year, impede your promotion and block you from receiving full benefits if you don't get along with them. This is OK for HR. It means you haven't developed what they call the "behavioral competencies" that L'Oreal desires. -You should not complain at L'Oreal, and should always take negative feedback with "positive energy", which often translates into saying yes to everything even if you don't agree or if it goes against your values. Saying no is pushing back, you are expected to always be collaborative. If you are criticized, you are expected to keep your head down and accept it. -You will have your mid-year review and your end-year review with your boss, but you won't be allowed to share complaints, frustration or "push back". This will have a negative effect on your evaluation, and your bonus and career evolution depends on this. Also, your manager evaluates you, but you don't evaluate them. -Managers often work toward being seen as "superstars" and tend to focus on personal projects while pushing you to propose new and exciting ideas that they can later take credit for. A bad manager will pressure you to exceed expectations but will not acknowledge you in front of their boss. This is also OK, because you are expected to give your 200% anyway. -No one ever cares about these things because employees often just decide to leave the company and they are quickly replaced by young professionals who are EAGER to find a place in L'Oreal after attending one of those numerous recruitment events they hold in every single university in Canada. They come with lots of energy and their young minds open to be molded into the compliant, overstretched worker that they so very need because L'Oreal is struggling. That's why everybody is so young in this office. In summary, whoever had found success and happiness in this company should start as a 22-year-old girl with no regard for work-life balance and a lot to prove, who is open to be gaslighted by HR and management into never complaining for the sake of their own career advancement and who will often see people around her leaving on burnout but won't ever be alarmed by it.

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2019-12-24

    L'Oréal Response

    January 3, 2020Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hi, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We take very seriously the comments and testimonies and sincerely regret to hear you had such a bad experience. We will share your feedback with top management. However, we encourage you to take actions now. First, you can provide feedback directly to your HRD or manager, they are here to help and support all employees. If they cannot help you as you describe, then contact your ethics correspondent. Please do not hesitate to contact them, this is your right and it could help find solutions. We wish you a better year for 2020. Madeline

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Key account manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Account Manager 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can find some of the most brilliant people here. You can learn so much from a bunch of extremely smart people

    Cons

    Culture managed by fear. Threatening to fire people constantly...upper management is mostly made up of misogynist men with a few women on complete power trips. While i worked there, my husband was diagnosed with cancer and no one even ever bothered to ask how i was doing for an entire year. When I left, they tried to retain me with a counter offer. My answer was: I don’t know what life holds for me....all I know is that I do want kids, and that my parents will most likely pass in the next few years, things will happen....I dont know what, I only know one thing for sure, I don’t want to be here when it all happens. ✌🏻

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2020-01-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electromécanicien 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Nice offices Close to buses

    Cons

    unorganized work environment no permanency lacks direction

    L'Oréal2019-11-03
  8. "Feedback"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Not a rigid company offering to grow your carreer as you conduct it allowing you to move to other countries while staying in the group.

    Cons

    Intense work environment requesting lots of autonomy.

    L'Oréal2019-11-04
  9. "The beauty of the beauty world"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, super open to innovate and new ideas, a lot of learning

    Cons

    Long hours + a lot of performance pressures

    L'Oréal2019-08-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing brand, horrible culture and upwork mobility"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant 

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - free makeup (or 50% off) - you meet some incredibly smart people

    Cons

    - you meet some incredibly ignorant people - very French culture that is not inviting or collaborative

    L'Oréal2019-08-28
Found 2628 reviews