L'Oréal Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

L'Oréal Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2748 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal CEO Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
1042 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is the main pain point(in 352 reviews)

  • "Relatively poor work life balance with long hours often continuing into the night(in 228 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "SAP FICO Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    If you want challenges, this is the place to work.

    Cons

    I have no comments on this so far

    L'Oréal2019-01-17

    L'Oréal Response

    January 17, 2019Digital content and Engagement Manager

    Dear Colleague, thank you for your feedback. Have a great time ahead at L'Oréal. Best, Ana

  2. "National key account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Learning, opportunities, people, friends, family.

    Cons

    Salary, hr, hr, hr, hr.

    L'Oréal2019-05-05

    L'Oréal Response

    May 20, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello dear colleague, Thank you for sharing your feedback! We're proud of our employees and their passion for our business and we’re glad to hear you feel the same way. We’re glad to hear about your positive experience and wish you continued success as you grow your career with ...

    Show More
  3. "Medical Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Significant level of autonomy - Flexible schedule - Plenty of opportunities to be entrepreneurial in your territory

    Cons

    - Very bureaucratic environment - Poor management significantly impacts team morale - Lack of upward mobility if you are unwilling to move to Montreal - Communication between head office and field team is problematic; feedback from field teams is rarely leads to improvements in strategy - They don't invest in the professional development of their employees

    Advice to Management

    - Listen to your sales reps given that you emphasize the importance of gathering market intelligence that is communicated to head office - Value your employees and take reasonable sources of job dissatisfaction as opportunities to improve your organization and reduce turnover

    L'Oréal2019-05-01
  4. "Only one division leads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Office is beautiful. You get to try products. They let you do any projects if you bring them to port. Summer hours good.

    Cons

    Hire people too Young fresh out of university with no experience Need to be in CPD to evolve

    L'Oréal2019-04-06

    L'Oréal Response

    April 24, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Dear colleague, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your time with L’Oréal! We’re very proud of our workplace and the unique benefits we are able to offer! We're also glad to see that you embrace our entrepreneurial and empowerment culture. There is not one linear and ...

    Show More
  5. "RETAIL IMAGE SPECIALIST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Immediate collegues Upper management

    Cons

    Work load Lower management No work / life balance

    L'Oréal2019-04-03
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Marketing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The positives include: -Lots of free and discounted product -Young/fun co-workers -Nice office following the most recent round of renovations -Good mentorship available if you seek it out

    Cons

    Above everything else, L'Oreal is exceptional at sales - selling the product to customers, selling "opportunities" to new employees, and especially selling a certain type of delusion to everyone who works there. Here are the main difficulties I faced while working at L'Oreal: -3 out of 5 senior and mid-level managers are generally unequipped for the role This means a lack of understanding of what it means to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Without sounding like a broken record - please take off your L'Oreal-tinted glasses and assess the state of the company objectively. The issues I mentioned have been voiced hundreds of times over the years and no one has done anything about it. You know what the problems are, you just need to choose to resolve them.

    L'Oréal2019-03-12
  7. "CS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Can’t say much - keep relationship with higher management you’ll go places .

    Cons

    Very unorganized company Too many errors Be careful criticizing management - it might be viewed as insult rather than recognizing flaw to fix for continuous improvement.

    Advice to Management

    No training process in place. Avoid bandage solution in the process. Too many unhappy employees.

    L'Oréal2019-03-26
  8. "poorly managed spa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal part-time

    Pros

    i got to paint my nails and play with makeup

    Cons

    disorganized. lazy poor spa management.

    L'Oréal2019-03-13
  9. "It's all about connections"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great perks, nice discounts, you meet a lot of different people

    Cons

    Unfortunately, at the end of the day, it's about who you know instead of being about the work you do, and your full potential.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to listen to your employees. Follow-up on expected changes, a lot of people will continue to leave if you do so.

    L'Oréal2019-01-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "high stress, high burnout, high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    - great opportunity to learn a lot quickly - some managers/directors are incredible

    Cons

    - high stress, high burnout/turnover - all type A personalities

    L'Oréal2019-01-18
Found 2748 reviews