L'Oréal Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

L'Oréal Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3460 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal CEO Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
1,111 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will learn to work in a fast-paced environment(in 114 reviews)

  • "L'Oreal also offers great benefits (i(in 98 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work and advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to move up within company, good bonusses

    Cons

    Low wages and no benefits offered

    L'Oréal2019-08-01

    L'Oréal Response

    September 2, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello dear colleague, Thank you for this very positive review. There are plenty of opportunities at L'Oréal just as you mention and we are happy to see you benefited from them. If you have any concern about your salary, feel free to talk to your HR about your career development. ...

    Show More
  2. "The beauty of the beauty world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, super open to innovate and new ideas, a lot of learning

    Cons

    Long hours + a lot of performance pressures

    L'Oréal2019-08-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing brand, horrible culture and upwork mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant 

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - free makeup (or 50% off) - you meet some incredibly smart people

    Cons

    - you meet some incredibly ignorant people - very French culture that is not inviting or collaborative

    L'Oréal2019-08-28
  4. "Learning environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Multiple opportunities among the group

    Cons

    Questionable management quality and should walk the talk.

    Advice to Management

    Better alignment

    L'Oréal2019-08-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning opportunity, poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to learn the "metier". They support your development and coaching. A lot of training is offered depending of your seniority and your role.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance, the company do encourage healthy work life balance, but the reality is most of the time your direct manager expect you to work late nights and weekends on top of 40hrs + at the office

    L'Oréal2019-07-01
  6. "Merchandising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Merchandise Coordinator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible, good benefits, discount on products

    Cons

    Lack of recognition, growth opportunities, lots of turnover

    L'Oréal2019-07-02
  7. "Produces category analyses working with the commercial teams and marketing teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at l'Oréal is a bit like working at a global startup. Their commitment for enabling entrepreneurship is real. And it's a bit like being at a university, tons of young and motivated people. Inspiring vibe and constant exposure to new ideas

    Cons

    Career development can be improved. Mostly left to the manager so it really depends on who you get.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that employees have an ongoing and transparent discussion about their career progression with their manager and HR. Implement 360 evaluation (evaluation by manager, employees and collaborators)

    L'Oréal2019-06-05
  8. "High stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal

    Pros

    Tons of opportunities to learn, lots of autonomy, engaging work, and employee discount on products

    Cons

    High pressure environment, very fast paced, poor work life balance. Expect to work 50 hour weeks while getting paid for 40.

    L'Oréal2019-06-11
  9. "Great beauty company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours work smart employee discount private sales

    Cons

    long hours during busy seasons lack of training

    L'Oréal2019-05-22

    L'Oréal Response

    May 27, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Dear ex-colleague, Thank you for your very positive review. We’re very proud of our workplace and the unique benefits we are able to offer! We have an entire team dedicated to upskilling and training our employees and we encourage anyone to reach out to their HR team for information ...

    Show More
  10. "Nice company, very low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Prestigious Company, good opportunity to discover the products (for free or with discounts) - Impossible to be bored at work - Possibility to regularly work from home - 3 Weeks of paid vacation

    Cons

    - A lot of pressure - Kind of toxic work environment (it feels like every department is in war against each other) - Heavy workload - It feels like HR does not hire talents, but just an additional 40 hours per weeks - Low salary

    L'Oréal2019-06-01

    L'Oréal Response

    June 5, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Dear colleague, Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts! We are glad to see that you would recommend working with us even if you notice many improvements needed. Work-life balance and low stress are very important for you to achieve your best, and we recommend you to check ...

    Show More
Found 3460 reviews