L.E.K. Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

L.E.K. Consulting Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
L.E.K. Consulting Global Managing Partner Stuart Jackson
Stuart Jackson
184 Ratings
  1. "Grind and learn a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Frequency of projects means you are constantly wading into new markets and learning something new Similarity of projects makes for a structured skillset and learning experience Great PE exposure if you're into that

    Cons

    Tough work life balance, leadership disappoints at times

    Continue reading
    L.E.K. Consulting2019-12-20
  2. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Team Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice people in the chicago office, sense of community

    Cons

    long-ish hours, entry-level work is mostly sourcing industry experts

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-12-20
  3. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L.E.K. Consulting full-time

    Pros

    good culture; good learning and exposure

    Cons

    relativly long hours, but culture is good

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-12-14
  4. "Hard work but rewarding culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, fast progression, fun culture

    Cons

    Long, draining hours with an obsessive work culture

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-11-19
  5. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with very friendly people

    Cons

    None to share so far from my experience

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-11-13
  6. "Great place to start and grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time

    Pros

    You get to work with uniformly intelligent, hard-working, motivated people,. I have been blown away by the quality of people on each one of my project teams. Lots of interesting projects, and opportunities for hard-working top-performers to quickly get promoted into positions of increasing stature and professional responsibility. Develop life science sector expertise, while also developing consulting, problem-solving, and financial skills which will be useful regardless of your future career. The life science industry in Japan is going through a period of transformative change which should make life science consulting a lucrative professional opportunity in coming years. Even if you don’t stay in consulting long-term, the skills you learn here will be useful and applicable regardless of your future career. Work-life flexibility. This is not meant to say that the work isn’t intense or demanding (it is, and I address that below in the cons), but you will have the flexibility to arrange work around your personal life. If you have personal issues to attend to (droppoing children off at school, etc) work can accommodate that as long as you complete your work on-time. Furthermore, people in the company are generally very good about respecting weekends and holidays. The office has recently taken measures to strengthen the HR function. The recruiting and on-boarding system has been revolutionized and made much much faster, bringing headcount in the office more in-line with the workload. A systematic training program has been put in place – each quarter, a day is set aside just for training and project work is not allowed to take place during this special training day.

    Cons

    IT infrastructure is appallingly bad. The hardware is bad. The computers are slow, flitchy, and routinely crash, significantly impeding work productivity. We have all gotten in the habit of routinely saving our work every 3 minutes to avoid losing work to crashes. New joiners are commonly given old machines in a bad state of disrepair, further exacerbating the problem. The network is appallingly slow. It takes too long to send and receive e-mail, and too long to transfer files to the network, again significantly impeding productivity. Frankly, given L.E.K.’s stature as one of the world’s top strategy consulting firms, I am shocked at the state of the IT infrastructure. Furthermore, there does not seem to be any motivation within the company to do anything about it. We are routinely given the opportunity to provide feedback on IT (i.e. through internet surveys, one-to-one meetings with IT personnel) and nothing ever improves.

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-11-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair performance review and regular promotion cycle (4 times a year) Strong in healthcare and life science industry Good compensation Smart colleagues with high professionalism

    Cons

    Tokyo office is still small in size which limits the flexibility of project allocation, etc.

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-10-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to build a career in healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Very strong in healthcare and lifesciences; doing truly strategic and transformative work and supporting very innovative companies with their Japan strategy - Very international, diverse environment - Flat hierarchy - Transparent, sincere culture - Smart and hardworking team members - Offers pathways to a range of other good opportunities, including good grad school options, marketing / strategy roles at leading healthcare and tech companies, private equity and equity research, etc. - Global brand that is recognized in US, EU and beyond

    Cons

    - Some projects have long working hours - Healthcare focus isn't for some - International environment may not be so good for people who want too immerse themselves in Japanese corporate culture

    Continue reading
    L.E.K. Consulting2019-10-28
  9. "Fast paced, good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, you will learn a lot through sheer number of hours worked,

    Cons

    Long hours, employees can feel undervalued by management

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-10-28
  10. Helpful (5)

    "terrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location in Tokyo central Rare business trip Not needed consulting experience. Jobs are almost Primarily Research.

    Cons

    The 1-star reviews are true. Thankless and toxic culture, driven by leadership and petty HR. That doesn't care about its employees at all. Even there appears manipulated positive reviews to boost Glassdoor Raing before their recruiting event, the fact that more than 50% of the office resigned in 2018 keeps proving what they are sweatshop, until when management will be changed.

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-11-29
Found 439 reviews